We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but there is room for improvements” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but there is room for improvements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2006

I stayed at the Riu from February 19-23 and just got back home today, Febrary 23. The Riu really is a very nice place, however the pool is freezing and so is the hot tub. The hot tub is connected to the pool, so it gets cold. Go figure. Anyway, other imconsistencies to follow: The people there can be rude, they are very stingy with towels, it is almost impossible to get reservations at the specialty restaurants, the tap water is not potable, the elevators are somewhat slow, and I will get more into that as I go on. So, good things about the Riu...it's right next to the Atlantis hotel. The first thing you'll want to do in the Atlantis if you're visiting it is to get a map. The beach is gorgeous at the Riu, however, there will be guys pestering you to go on a Jetski ride. The initial charge is about $60 US, but we were able to bargain it down to $40. There's a lot of salespeople on the beach selling different things. You can bargain with all of them. As for the drinks, there's no shortage of liquor. There's a liquor dispenser in the rooms. If you stay all inclusive, there's free drinks unlimited. The restaurants are very good. There's a breakfast buffet and a lunch buffet, but if you want to eat in a specialty restaurant, you have to go downstairs at like 8:30 AM to get a reservation. I didn't eat in Sir Alexander, but I did eat in the dinner buffet, the steakhouse, and the Japanese restaurant. They were all good. As for towels at the pool, always remember everyone's towel card. They don't give you two on one card. When you're checking into the hotel, they give you a glass of punch. It's very good. As for the rooms, they don't believe in fitted sheets. If you hold up the blanket, you'll see that the sheets just kind of end and there's a rough thing where your feet go. The bathrooms are very nice and well kept. The showers have good pressure and they give you a hair dryer that's really powerful. All in all, this was a great vacation. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    1,732
    932
    544
    443
See reviews for
977
2,027
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb.. Rooms are big but not anything special. Bathrooms are very small. Food was good. Hallway carpets were very dirty and stains were everywhere. Pool was cold. Plenty of chairs by the pool but it took an act of congress to get an extra towel. Drinks were good. The best thing was that it is next to the Atlantis. The most shocking part was that the tap water in your room is not potable. They did supply water in 1 gal. jugs. Would not go back

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PerfectShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

Stayed at the Riu Feb 15-19. I'll try to give the pros and cons as honestly as I can.

The location is perfect. You are right on the gorgeous Paradise Island beach. Water is beautiful and the sand is soft and white. You are also right next to the Atlantis, which is worth visiting. We went to their comedy club one night and also visited the casino. Tip: You can tour their aquarium for free at night and it's worth doing.

The Riu hotel lobby and restaurants are very nice. Breakfast and lunch are a buffet with plenty of choices for everyone. My wife is a vegetarian and she found plenty to eat. Dinner is also a buffet or you can choose from the Japanese, Steak House, or Gourmet restaurants. Tip: You have to wait in line from about 8:45am to 9:00am each day if you want a reservation at one of the 3 restaurants. Each has two seatings 6:30pm and 9:00pm (or maybe it was 8:00).


The people are great. Both the locals in town and the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. Bartenders are polite and give you whatever you ask for.

On the down side, the rooms are in need of improvements. They are simple and clean, but quite modest and a little out-dated. At one point our bathroom ceiling began to drip water. I told the front desk and by the time we got back from the beach, the problem seemed to be fixed.

Another downer is that the pool wasn't heated and it was COLD! Maybe for the most of the year it's a non-issue, but in January and February they need to heat the pool. No one but some kids seemed to use it.

Overall, don't expect the Ritz. If you want that, go next door for $500 a night at the Atlantis. Also, there isn't a lot to do at the hotel. It's a small property with a single pool and that's about it. However, if what you want is a decent place with a beautiful beach and all-inclusive food and drinks, Riu is a good value. Resorts on either side of the Riu are easily twice as much for the same weather and the same beach.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2006

My boyfriend and I went for a vacation away from the cold Northeast winter. The beach at the RIU was beautiful. The food was pretty good. Breakfast and lunch did the trick. Made to order omelettes were awesome. If you want to have a great meal for dinner, definitely eat at Sir Alexander. It's really the only one worth your time to stand in line to make a reservation. Otherwise, the buffet will do. Whatever you do, do not waste your time going to the Japanese restaurant - especially if you are accustomed to high quality Japanese cuisine. Also, you really are only a few feet from the Atlantis. Take a trip to Nassau on the ferry - it's a good day trip for shopping. Water sports are readily available as soon as you walk on th beach. Our only complaint was our trip was shorten by the blizzard of 2006 but we had an awesome time otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

We just got back from 5 days at the RIU. The lobby is gorgeous as is the beach (the location is great). The weather warmed up as the week went on so we were able to use the beach all but one day. The rooms were ok, not great but ok. The bathroom we had needed some cleaning and in reality needed to be re-grouted. They said they would give it some while we were there but that never happened. The food was about what we expected, probably 3.5 stars out of 5. The all inclusive is the only way to go in the Bahamas as food and drink are expensive. The bartenders were good and I didn't notice any sign of watered down drinks. Being next door to the Atlantis is great s the casino and shops are right there. The marina is gorgeous and a nice place to walk in the evening.
All in all we enjoyed our stay there and feel we got our monies worth. The one thing they are able to do is make sure you were relaxed immedately upon your arrival which is exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

Stayed at the Riu from Feb 10-14. We found the food quite good and their always had plenty of choices although the buffets did not vary for breakfast and only small changes for lunch. The gourmet restuarants were quite good although you had to book them each morning. Once thay started taking reservations the line moved quickly. Also, by 9 or 9:30 you could almost walk up and get a reservation. We had rain while there and there was not much to do at the hotel. The Atlantis is next door and we walked around their but watch out for the time share sales people. Once they see the wristband they pounce on you. Our room wasn't bad and had a resonable amount of space. People comment on the view, we were on the 7th floor and if we looked down we could see the ducts on a roof but if you looked straight ahead you had a nice view of the ocean. Since we don't like to spend much time in the room during the day, we had no problems with the view. Yes, the bathrooms are small and show wear but it is a tropical climate. They do a good job of trying to keep everything clean including the room and public areas. From the hotel, cutting through Atlantis its just a short walk to take a ferry to town ($6 round trip) and well worth it.
One thing to remember is that this is a different culture although at times you may feel that you are still in the states. They will take care of things for you but sometimes they don't happen as fast as you may like them to happen. Overall, the folks at the hotel were very accomodating and were glad to do whatever you asked.
Overall, considering the cost of things in Nassau (everything has to be imported) the Riu was a good value and I would go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Travel1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECUMSEH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2006

I have to say we went on Feb. 01-08, 2006 and for the price, it was worth it. i normaly stay in nothing less than a five star hotel this i would rate a 3 1/2 star hotel. The location was the Best, right on the beach with was very nice and cleaned every morning. the lobby was beautiful, the staff very very friendly and helpful, the food was out of 5 i would say a 3 1/4 maybe 4. the place was very clean even the lobby bathrooms always immaculate. the drinks were way too strong for those of you who like their liquor. they gave FREE 10-15 minute massages by the pool side every 3 days, they offered FREE scuba lessons in the pool through out the week, not many hotels do that. You are right beside the Atlantis resort which is CRAZY expensive, eg;a beer $8.00 a small bag of chips $5.00 but has a nice casino and a huge aquarium that you can pay $30.00 us per person to see or hide your bracelet and sneak on the resort from the beach after 5:30-6:00pm . but be careful what room you get, upgrade! its worth it, some people had veiws of air conditioners on the east side, south side only veiw of construction, west side on the 10th 11th 12th 13th florrs would be the best, 14th floor is penthouse and on the north side are all ocean front suites those are the best. The rooms are small and out of date do not expect much in the rooms, Although they do have fully stocked fridges in each room with distilled bottle water , the water is not safe for drinking. long distance calls are VERY expensive so try haveing someone call you there or go to the small plaza near the hotel to a cyber cafe they have phone cards for $10.00 and that will give you 30min. The POOL IS FREEZING and needs a little paint. the straw market in town where the cruise ships dock have great deals, 4 t-shirts for $10.00 faux purses like prada, kate pade, gucci etc. straw gifts and wood carvings. the magic number the start with is for you $50.00 i usually only paid 25 to 27 dollars no more someone is always willing to make a deal. bay st. behind the market is great shopping , and people NO TAX ANYWHERE everything is duty free , and if you havent done it do it --- swim with the stingrays at blackbeard cay island, good price through the hotel, it was really cool oh and lastly, bring all kinds of medication and floaties , suntan lotion etc. those things are really expensive there
there is no night life in this resort entertainment is cheesy at best and bar closes at 1:00 am so go into town for $10.00 each way or to the Atlantis where you pay $40.00 per to get into their club- drinks not included!!!!!

Helpful?
24 Thank MRS.TRAVELS.OFTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: Casino Drive, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing