We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed Nov 1 - Nov 4
Positives
Fun waterslides, the most amazing aquariums that I have ever seen, an amazing pool at the Cain, and some great looking beaches (though there are rocks beneath the water). Most of the staff members were nice. The resort is amazing overall and its a very large property. Our room was on the 8th floor had an amazing view of the ocean. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Negatives
When I checked in, I asked for a higher floor, and the staff member at reception just gave me a trained response of "we're fully booked at this time" which was not true, and she was a little rude. I was also given 250 resort credit which I wanted to use on the dolphin experience, but received conflicting responses that I wouldn't be able to until they checked with the head office. You are able to, but you just have to tell them when checking out and have them check with management again, otherwise you will get charged, which was a hassle. They also place a $250 a night incidental charge on your card the first night you check in which is a lot.

Secondly, expect to pay a lot if eating on the property. We paid $430 a night which is really expensive and they are still trying to get your money on everything from food to activities and photos. An example - a lobster meal costs $62 on the property not including the 15% mandatory gratuity. For the same lobster + grouper meal off the resort at "Oh Andros(great restarurant)" its $35 + tip. Even though you pay $30 for roundtrip cab fare that's still cheaper than eating at the resort.

As said in other reviews, its a great resort with quality pools, an aqua park and beaches, but its a shame it's so expensive. Can't imagine going in the peak season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband for the 2nd time - we first came here in 2007 when the resort had just opened and unfortunately nothing has changed and it is in dire need of updates. i would consistently find grout from the bathroom on the bottom of my feet, the couch had stains and the beach chairs had frayed canopies. Additionally our check in process was an amateur hour, we were told that the maid was in our room and it would be ready shortly for over 3.5 hours and after having the last person yell at us when we asked for an update we had to call American Express to intervene, then when we got to our room and pulled back the covers it was clear the sheets hadn't been changed from the prior guests. The food at the cove and on the beach is average, but the higher end restaurants like Dune and Nobu were great. The beach is one of the best I just wish the resort was nicer. Next time will stay at the Ocean Club or the new Rosewood that's being built.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrixNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We own a Starwood vacation property and attempt mat of our hotel stays to be booked in Starwood properties such as Grosnevoor house in Dubai and hotel Danielli in Venice and a favorite the Punta Mita St Regis buttered estate.
Having had these points of reference we were so pleasantly met with the leadership of Mr. Markantonis and the clear influence he has on his staff.
Having run high end hospitality operations I empathize while in others operations thinking if it was my operation I would want eyes everywhere to understand how things operate outside of your presence.

We chatted with many employees and it was the first time i Experienced a facility where ALL....ALL of the employees we chatted with had something insightful and respectful to share about their leader, Mr. Markantonis. What a breath of fresh air and honor to see this reflected through numerous employees In varied positions.
We had the pleasure to chat with Mr. Markantonis and first and experience his essence and the motivation and drive behind the resort. This is a passionate leader who will grow the Atlantis resort and continue to hear and adapt to the needs of his clients in the process.
Any development un a great location can provide a great view and extensive accommodations but the true business lies in the ability to make long standing intuitive relationships. This them has conquered that mission,

Most notably At the Cain Michelle, Kayla, Brandon, Obidaia, Kendra with their incredible can do attitudes and the genuine work ethic and positive spirit of Julianne- if her children wouldn't miss her we would have asked her to mce back to NY with us. These are the types of people that make your trip grow from good to wonderful.

Bottom line whether for a long weekend or a large scale special occasion event Atlantis is a hot spot for incredible entertaining, people watching, dinning, rfrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrdancing to current sought after DJ's, and knowing when you entrust your group with Atlantis your expectations will be pleasantly exceeded. Tip book your winter long weekends early.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StacieMattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having gone to the Cove at least 10 times over the past five times is testament to how much we enjoy going there. The rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom is top of the line. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. The employees are always friendly and constantly say hello or good morning to us. Check-in has always been a breeze, even when we come on a holiday weekend. We thoroughly enjoy our mini breakfast at the Starbucks at the Reef, where all the employees are nice and friendly
But the nicest thing about the Atlantis is the Cain pool- My wife and I are not in our 20's we are in our 50's and enjoy the pool scene, and the other friendly guests we meet. We basically sit at the pool 6-8 hours a day, people watch, listen to the music, and meet some very nice people. All of the employees are nice and friendly, and the service is great, I never have a problem getting a beer, a drink, water, or food. Thank you, Jimmy and Michelle. Laverne, Ericka, Jucinta, Charlton, Brandon, Naomi, Nasair, Glenda, Gary, Ricardo, Chavez etc.. You make our stay enjoyable and fun. This past weekend the DJ, Michael really got the pool hopping, he was just awesome.
My recommendation to the powers that be: on weekends, especially in the summer, let the DJ and the pool stay open until 7:00 pm or even 800 pm on holiday weekends, the place really gets hopping at the end day why close it down at 6:00, particularly in the summer, when sunset is close to 9:00 pm. The competition is going to start very soon when the Bahamar opens in 15 about 15 months, you want to make sure that you make your crown jewel, which is the Cain pool, as enticing as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAGEBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I will preface this review by stating that I am not a big fan of mega-resorts.

We were at the Cove for a wedding. We stayed on the 5th floor with an ocean view. Nice room and well kept. However, one of the TV's didn't have sound and even though they attempted, didn't get it fixed during our stay. There wasn't any soap in the bathroom, but a call to the front desk had it there in minutes.

We had a good time at Atlantis, but it is stupid expensive. For example, we got charged a $35/day utility fee in addition to the $279/day room (which was a deal for the wedding), $2/day per person for use of the beach (even though we never used it and because of the wind they had the beaches closed!), they automatically add a 15% gratuity to all the restaurants and charge for the bell service whether you use it or not. The restaurants are also expensive. We had a breakfast buffet one morning (Mosaics, very good) and it was $73 for the two of us. It is a huge property with lots of walking involved whenever you wanted to go anywhere, however, there is lots to do. The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an open balcony so you can see the view while sitting down in the room. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beege6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have stayed at the Atlantis many times, and prior to this last trip have always considered it one of our favorite vacation spots. We were traveling with two other couples, and we splurged and booked the Cove.

The room itself was spacious and had a nice view. However, considering the Atlantis room rate, the furniture quality was disappointing - basic and rather cheap looking. Unfortunately, the warmth and friendliness we've always encountered from the employees was lacking this time. We felt as if we were an intrusion.

Our biggest disappointment was the poor service we experienced throughout our stay. All of us were calling daily for one amenity or another that housekeeping forgot to leave. This was particularly annoying knowing they were receiving over $40/day gratuity. It should not take four phone calls to get coffee for the coffee maker. Turndown service was hit or miss - one couple received it, one did not, and we only received it one night. I had to call their "prompt response" team to come repair our bedside phone but they never responded. Several of the restaurant's wait staff seemed totally disinterested. They would be chit chatting with their friends while we waited and waited for our check or to have our order taken.

We did enjoy the seclusion of being at the Cove and found the beach concierge to be most helpful.

Overall though, it was so disappointing to us to see how far downhill the Atlantis has gone since our last visit a few years ago. We will be looking elsewhere for future Bahama vacations. Terribly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatHar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

So here is the deal, Kerzner built it and took his company private at the WORST time (pre 2008) and got hosed, he lost control of Atlantis and although he is still working at the resort, you can tell it just isnt what it used to be. Now, keep in mind, The Cove and Atlantis are currently the best thing on the island, but that all is changing with the new $4+billion dollar resort due to open in 12 months.

Why 3 stars? Simple, I live in Miami, and we heat our pool and rooms there are half the costs. They dont want to pay for the pools to be heated, which is a joke when you consider the rooms here are $700 plus a night and they have the nerve to tack on an "elecrticity surchage". There is not a single hot tub on the Cove side of the resort, so again, big strike. I spoke to the employees and they even stated many clients complain, but the company doesnt want to pay the bill. It is truly sad, because I have come here through out the years and these pools were semi hot tubs and wonderfull, when the ocean is warmer than your pools, you got issues.

Secondly, they turned off the automatic conveyer belt that brings you up the water park, again to save elecrticity. This just screams foul, imagine going to an amusement park and they close down the best roller coaster because they arent as busy? Seems like again a low blow, now to be fair you can walk up 8 flights of steps, with your tub, soaking wet, on the slippery steps, but no thanks....

Sports book they just opened was awesome and we lost the resort over all, but its losing its class...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prouss134439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1 mi away
The Ocean Club, A Four Seasons Resort, Bahamas
The Ocean Club, A Four Seasons R...
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,879 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: £424 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection thrives on the rhythm of the day. While our Atlantis hotel's exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, our Bahamas paradise's spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. Stay with us and enjoy a perfect location steps from pristine beaches and gorgeous Paradise Island lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing