We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best atmosphere, food and live entainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Churchill's

Churchill's
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best atmosphere, food and live entainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is truly a restaurant for adults. Elegant ambiance. Wait staff and bar staff are superb. The food is consistently good. For appetizer, I recommend the large mushrooms stuffed with Ricotta Cheese and Spinach. Main - Grilled local lobster, salmon, short ribs or the Prime Rib. Dessert (I don't usually eat dessert) but my friends enjoyed several choices. Decaf espresso and decaf cappuccino is available.

As for entertainment, vocalist Shelley Carey-Moxey and pianist Mark Carey play standards and their melodies and sounds are piped into the dining room. If you wish, you can sit in the Piano Bar at tables or upholstered Louis IV sofas and chairs and listen and watch the pair perform. A tapas menu and full dinner menu is offered in the Piano Bar. You can just come in for a drink and enjoy them as well.

I love this environment. Very elegant, sophisticated and mellow.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenClarke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Made reservations only to be told it's not open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This restaurant, as part of the hotel eateries, seems to be closed most of the time. When you call to make reservations, they often aren't actually going to be open.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had dinner at Churchills with the new menu. We had the Queen Conch soup, lobster appetizer, a lamb entree, salmon entree, and the daily pasta. All the food was very good and tasty. Portion sizes are a bit smaller than a non-gormet restaurant. The desserts were a bit odd for us - we had asparagus ice cream (got rejected by my daughter), molten lava cake (rejected by 50% of the people at the table as it had balsamic reduction on it); and chocolate cake - which was not rejected. The wine list is very long and quite varied.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We did dine at Churchill's one night.....the staff were not all that friendly, and our choices were limited because of our 'All Inclusive Package'....however, we did enjoy the 'fine dining' experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Millicent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First rate, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is the fine dining restaurant at the Grand Lucayan hotel and I highly recommend it. Make reservations the minute that you check into the hotel because they get very busy. Well worth it, probably one of the best restaurants in Freeport.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnJSmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill's also viewed

Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Churchill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing