We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Value! A True "Local" Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
268 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Tremendous Value! A True "Local" Experience!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I recently visited The Bahamas for our 2nd wedding anniversary. Prior to our trip, we used TripAdvisor heavily to decide where we'd stay. I'll try and share our experiences with you in categories so it's easy to see what this resort has and doesn't have so you can make your own choice whether it's for you or not.

PRIOR TO GOING
We had read reviews and contacted Ta'Shar the general manager. She was very friendly and helpful and explained us the availability and the rates. She even introduced us to a reliable cab company, Queenie's Cab Service and helped me negotiate cab rates ahead of time so there were no surprises. She let us know there wasn't food on property but shared with us the local area and amenities so we knew what to expect. She also informed us because we'd be checking in late that security would be letting us in, and even gave me her personal cell phone number in case of issues. This was not something I've ever had before so I felt very comfortable.

LOCATION
The location of the property is about 10-15 minutes from the airport and costs about $20 for 2 people to ride to from the airport. This property offers (2) free limited shuttles, one in the morning to the International Bazaar at 8:30am and the other to Port Lucaya at 7:20pm. The return trip from the port to the hotel is about $15-20. I've heard the cost back from the international bazaar was around $15-20 as well. This property offers free bikes, they aren't brand new but are in good condition. We were able to ride the bikes to both the Cup Board Cafe as well as The Emerald Cafe. There was also a convenience store and a grocery store in these two plazas. We walked to dinner one night as the bikes are locked up by 6pm and the walk was VERY reasonable. This property is waterfront on the canal, as it's a marina. THIS IS NOT A BEACH FRONT RESORT. However, the beach was an easy walk or bike ride from the property that was 7-10 minutes. Then, it was a small 5 minute walk through a wooded pathway to the beach. It wasn't super easy to get to, like most resorts, but the beach was very private and secluded and was very much worth the walk. There were no crowds! This location offers you a chance to experience the culture, local food, local shops, etc. This is not a super loud area, not full of parties, and not near many tourist activities.

ARRIVAL
We arrived around 10:30pm in the evening and were greeted by security and lead to our room without any issues. Ta'Shar even called our room to check in on us and our safe arrival. They also upgraded us to the suite on property!!! It was amazing.

ROOM
Our suite was amazing! It featured a full living room, partial kitchen with microwave and mini fridge as well as coffee maker. We had a 1/2 bathroom in the hallway and a full bathroom and walk in closet (complete with fuzzy, awesome robes) in the master suite. THE ROOM HAD 6 WINDOWS! It was bright and very airy and got a ton of light and sunshine. All the rooms in the place face the marina, but this room overlooked the entire property. It was really one of the nicer rooms we've stayed in, especially with the windows and robes. The bathroom also featured a jacuzzi tub!

PROPERTY
The property is clean and freshly painted. It's not brand new but it's well kept. It features around 30 rooms, all facing the water and 1 suite. The restaurant are bar are both CLOSED. This means, aside from the beverage vending machine, there is no food on site at this property. The property did offer free bikes! They have changed their offerings and no longer include free water shuttles to the beach. They also don't offer return trips but do offer 2 shuttles - 1 in the morning to the International Bazaar and 1 in the evening to the port. We noticed in the bike shed there was a kayak and a paddle boat, but neither were used during our stay. They also don't offer jet ski rentals, but at one time did. The property did have a pool, no hot tub, but it was too cold to use and only got limited sunlight. The views of the waterway were very nice though! There were only 7-10 people staying there at the same time we stayed, so the resort felt very private - almost like our own place. It was very quiet!

STAFF & SERVICE
The staff was wonderful! Ta'Shar and her team were always looking to help. Louis and the guys always helped us get or fix our bikes and were always friendly and waving. The culture is a very friendly one, but this staff took the time to speak with you and genuinely seemed to want to make our stay wonderful. We had no issues with the staff, they were never rude or anything like that. We felt like we made a wonderful friendship with the team.

VALUE
Compared to other hotels and resorts, the value here was tremendous. The cost was reasonable and the amenities for the cost seemed reasonable. It was water front and the rooms were very clean. They had TV's, phones, and all major kitchen appliances that all worked just fine. If you want a hotel that's brand new, you'll pay for it. If you want beach front, you'll pay for it. If you want restaurants and bars on-site, that will cost you also. This resort is basic but it's clean, smells nice, and looks like it has some character.

I hope this has helped you! We enjoyed our stay and are already planning a return trip back. The Stop-n-Go grocery store had reasonable prices and the cafes in walking distance were very reasonabley priced. We felt like we met more locals and experienced more culture this way. Although we love having a tourist experience, for a quiet anniversary, this was perfect!

Thanks, Ta'Shar!!!!

Room Tip: None - they are all water front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Ta'Shar and the staff were great. We went in early Sept. to avoid an overload of tourists and to find a condo on beautiful Grand Bahama. We originally were staying at another resort but the bed was terrible and we weren't getting any sleep. Then we came to Sunrise resort and had the best sleep( even better than our bed at home). I think we were the only people staying there , it was great. We found our condo but will send our guest overflow to Sunrise Resort. It is just around the corner from our condo in King's Bay. The building is older but clean. I would like to have had a microwave in our room. I had to run to the kitchen room in my nightgown a couple of times.

Cathy from Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have left one or two boats docked in the marina continuily for the past 3 years. I am consistently pleased with the facility, staff, and security.
The marina is exceptionaly clean,well maintained, with a beautiful pool. The recreation room with library is a welcomed respite.
Bahamanians have always been known for there warm hospitality and kindness towards visitors. The management and staff of this facility more than exemplify those attributes.
We love it here
Nick and Barbara

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My daughter who lives on the island recommended the hotel. We were coming to Freeport to attend a home going service for a friend and an installation service for my brother. We were excited all the way driving to the resort, and more so when we entered the foyer; however our excitement did not end there as we made our way to our room. It was just the kind of place i would want to be at that time; peaceful, away from the crowd, nice and clean room facing the marina. I wished however that there was a restaurant, microwave oven and flat screen tv. I will definitely recommend this resort to my church and friends. The manager and front clerk were very friendly and engaging. I'm definitely coming back!

Room Tip: all of the rooms face the marina - i had a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Reginald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Had a lovely stay here. The staff are SO friendly & helpful. Kayaks and bikes available to borrow, but only enough for one family at a time. Rooms great, but as there is no restaurant on site they really need to have some basic kitchen facilities. A fridge and a coffee maker are not really sufficient. However there is a cafe very nearby (the Clapboard Cafe) that does great value meals and again fantastic service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The property, although older, was fresh, clean and well-kept. It's in a quiet location, but convieniently located. The pool and marina were great and there is a nearby beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful; there is nighttime security. We enjoyed a very relaxing time and would definitely go there again. You would want to have a car while staying here.

Room Tip: all rooms face the marina and channel, which is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret611943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Abaco Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

my wife and I stayed there while attending our church convention, the service was quite hands on, friendly, and efficient, the staff made us feel right at home and anticipated our needs. I highly recommend it for any family or business group!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clyde b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
6.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing