We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This wonderful place is tucked into a corner at the end of a tree lined street not far from the Ocean. The staff is very kind and helpful. If you have a boat the marina is beautiful. The grounds and the rooms are well maintained. Rooms are very clean. Bicycles are available for free. Kayaks are available for the adventurous ones who want some exercise and a chance to admire the scenery. Would definitely recommend this place for peaceful get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Once again, the staff and Ta'Shar at Sunrise Resort & Marina have done everything to go beyond my expectations. My guests from Canada were thoroughly pleased and impressed enough to consider a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Beautiful scene, rent a car and enjoy what the island have to offer.... Had fun playing pool, also enjoy the music playing in the pool area. Clean swimming pool.... the library has a calming effect..... Just lovely, just go and enjoy yourself, with that special one...

Room Tip: In the middle you can view the Marina! It's beautiful.....
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Malicha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Was definately not worth the money and I'm glad my whole vacation was not spent here!

Dirty coffee machine, no restaurants anywhere in the vicinity and no cooking facilities to bring your own food! No access to the beach even though you are told there is....the beach is located down a road that is marked "private property" and has a security guard!

As for the name, they are not even facing the right way to see the Sunrise!!

No internet service as per advertised, dirty linens, I won't get into specifics, needless to say I slept fully clothed!! Dirty bathroom......and I could go on but I think you get the idea!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine13NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ta Shar C, General Manager at Sunrise Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Sunshine13NovaScotia,

I apologize for the issues during your recent stay, and wish you had voiced your concerns to us while you were here.

I can assure you that our housekeeping staff takes great pride in ensuring every room is spotless and linens fresh and clean for our guests. Your experience is not representative with our high standards, and I am working with our staff to look into the issues.

We are working with the authorities to enhance our free Wi-Fi, but there are free hot spots now throughout the resort. The nearby white sand beach is also available to our guests, many of whom appreciate its quiet nature.

Again, I apologize for the issues you experienced.

Best regards,
Ta’Shar Cuccurullo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed here for four nights. This hotel is not fancy, so if that's what you're looking for, you'll be disappointed. There is no restaurant or food, so if you don't have a car or want to spend a lot in taxis, this might not be the best option. What is fantastic is that you are close to a beach that had virtually no one on it. It was breathtaking. Ms. Sanders, in the evenings, at the front desk, was about as nice as they come. She was very friendly and helpful. The hotel states they have internet in the rooms, but it absolutely does not work in your room. If you don't mind standing by the pool or sitting in the room that used to be the restaurant, the wifi works great in those locations. The rooms were clean but could use some updating. They provided free bikes (though you can't ride them far) and free kayaks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsklouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
331 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were greeted by a very nice staff member--even though we arrived early, she immediately gave us a room. The room was simple, but good. The bathroom could have used an update because many of the floor tiles were cracked. The bed was comfortable but barely attached to the headboard so the slightest move caused squeaks. The wifi was slow but always worked (unlike some of the other reviews of this property). They offered free kayak and bike rentals but we didn't have the time to partake. The location is not too far from anything, but you will need a car to get around.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Sunrise is a great place to stay if you want to stay away from the crowded Lucaya area. We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful experience. We had our own rental car, so we did not have issues with staying a little further away. The room was nice and clean and they even have free bikes/kayaks/WiFi for guests. All that said, there are no restaurants nearby, so you will have to drive to a restaurant to get food. The restaurant at the resort is going to open in Jan 2013 and that would make things much more convenient. Overall, I would recommend it if you are planning to rent a car and explore the island on your own.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mopy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
6.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing