We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover”

Simply Native Outback Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We only found this place because of the reviews here. Like other reviews have said, don't judge this place on the outside appearance.

We ate here once on our trip. It was a great experience and we would definitely go back.

I had the cracked conch and my husband had the friend lobster. The food and service were both very good. We felt that it was a good value for what you received. The portions were very good.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunAndBeachSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Homecooked Bahamian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just had lunch here and scraped the plate. Really enjoyed the baked chicken and fried plantains. The inside setting is basic yet comfortable and we found the service friendly. Not really a tourist's place but go for the authentic cooking.

We would go back

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham Nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nothing earth shattering, just good local food. I had a fried whole snapper with good sides. My wife had lamb and it was also really good. What was also nice is its CHEAP. There is a lot of overpriced food in Freeport and this place is a good value. Its a pretty barebones place but if you want a good meal I can suggest it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank helioscreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Bahamian Food for a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Short Taxi Ride from Pelican Bay $14 dolllars each way. Don't worry about the outside appearance. It is clean and the service was good even. We don't run with the crowds and tourists so it was a quiet night at Simply Native because everyone else was at a Fish Fry on the beach. The food was solid and authentic. Baked Lamb with Conch Rice and two other sides was a filling plate. FYI Baked is more like a stew there but it was fall off the bone good. My wifes brioled lobster was great and for $18 will be hard for others to beat the rest of the trip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best baked chicken ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a restaurant popular with locals and snowbirds as it is off the beaten path from the tourist area. The food is excellent and the restaurant includes a bar away from the eating area but alcoholic beverages are available with the meal. The servers are pleasant and the food basic but very good. The baked chicken is the best I have ever eaten. If you're looking for a home cooked meal on Grand Bahama, give it a try.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cjsk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Native Outback Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing