We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a meal!! (In what seemed a really awkward place)”

Simply Native Outback Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a meal!! (In what seemed a really awkward place)”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were staying at My Lucaya, and we asked the lady that hands out the towels "If you were to go have a meal of your own, where would you go"? Same question asked to several beach salespersons, and the answer turned out to be unanimous: Simply Native. We took a taxi ("Are you sure you want to go there? It's not touristic, but Bahamian "hard core"), and the experience was quite a memorable one. Don't judge a book by it's cover.. it doesn't even look like a restaurant from outside, but by God, what a meal. We had a whole fried red snapper, rice'n'peas, lobster, conch, beer, fried plantains, and nothing was out of order. The place is clean, the service outstanding, if you don't have a clue of what to order, let the waiters advise you.

I would definitely go back, and recommend it to anyone who wants to eat a home made fresh meal. Take your time while they cook it for you, enjoy the beer (Sands, a local one, is really smooth)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernandoNorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DEEEELLLLLIIIICCCIIOOUUSSS”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

okay, this place is not five stars but what I wanted was food that tasted like it was made by someone's mom and that's what I got. Delicious home cooking that my mother would have been proud to call her own. I really wanted the oxtail but by the time we got there they were sold out, oh well. Instead I had the fried fish, which was delicious, Just like momma makes, lol. A whole fish well seasoned, fried to perfection and served whole on your plate, needless to say that I took the rest to go.

PS if you are not use to eating a whole fish, don't order it. I know this is a silly PSA to some, but i know people that have almost chocked on a fish bone because they were not used to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ARTAMIST09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Genuine food, "interesting" atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is an out of the way restaurant in Grand Bahama. My friends and I (4 couples) took a cab, and the taxi driver asked "you sure you want to go there ?" We asked "is the food good" He told us "real good, but very Bahamian and we don't get many tourists !" Perfect for us . The decor is like a bar in Saskatchewan or North Dakota, dark with worn out tables and chairs. The staff is friendly and efficient, and they don't have everything on the menu (including all the beer brands). They do have good food, simply prepared. We enjoyed our food, and we would go back. Would recommend for anyone wanting genuine Bahamian food who is not concerned about atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Name-worthy”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Simply Native is one of my favorite eateries in Freeport! If a spot is frequented by the locals, then I want to eat there. There is something for everyone.

Great spot for lunch. Good value!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downey, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Went there at 4pm on Sunday and they were sold out of a lot of stuff....so go early.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeepReel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Native Outback Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing