We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bahamian Restaurant on the Island”
Review of Banana Bay

Banana Bay
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Bahamian Restaurant on the Island”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I have been lucky enough to live in Grand Bahama for two years and the Banana Bay Restaurant has never disappointed me. Regularly been coming after a fishing trip with friends enjoying nice burgers with potato skins and iced tea..my favourite cracked conch with peas & rice and a refreshing glass of Pina colada!! Simply Unbeatable and sitting on the deck looking to the ocean you can loose yourself while admiring a little bit of paradise..I recommend this place anytime..and I am a chef with 17 years experience... well priced and the portions are very generous too.

Helpful?
Thank Aldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    152
    39
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We loved it here! The food is okay but the reason you go is for the day. We went and had lunch and then spent a few hours swimming, sun bathing and looking for shells. We saw a couple sting rays and the beach is just gorgeous! Definitely recommend going here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

5 star view. Great food. Definitely worth a stop. Great beach with a sandbar that you could walk a couple hundred feet out. Great for the kids!!

I had the Conch burger. I can't compare to other conch burgers as it was my only one. It was very good, way better than I thought as I am not much of a fish/seafood fan. Portion sizes are very big.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Banana Bay sits right on the ocean. The outside seating has a great view. There is a sand bar that you can walk out into the ocean a couple hundred feet, with the water only reaching your knees. The food was good and not overly priced. It is more out of the way than other restaurants but a really good place to go. Not to crowded when we went

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLFD102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Lunch”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is the place you dream about when you are going to the Bahamas - right on the beach, having your lunch with the ocean breeze, looking out at the beautiful colours of the ocean. The food was really good too. I had the special, grouper cakes, and they were awesome with a salad. We all loved our meals and took a lot of pictures of the ocean and beach. It is a great place to go to the beach too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Bay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Banana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing