We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS is why you visit Freeport.”

Billy Joe's On the Beach
Ranked #19 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THIS is why you visit Freeport.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Don't bother with shopping you won't save anything. Head for the food. Billy Joes is located down a dirt path along side of the police office across from the Port Lucaya Marketplace. When I say it was worth it I mean we spent our entire day here. Sting Rays come right up to the beach line. But back to then food. First the Conch Salad is amazing. Billy makes it right out in the open with Conch cause earlier in the day. They feed the stingrays after 6PM with whatever they don't sell. WARNING: It is a little spicy but way way worth it. Get a litter of water $4. Moving on. I live in South Florida where Conch Fritters are everywhere. And I have each a truck load in my life. From West Palm to Key West. It will take 40 minutes because they make them fresh. ORDER THE FRITTERS!!!! It may be the best think you ever eat. $5 for 10. Seriously. Fresh Conch....fritter made from scratch and hot out of the oven. See Billy and you will be glad you visited Freeport.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    82
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best grouper sandwich on the Beach!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place has a way of smoking the grouper and spicing it up, very unique taste and very
tasty. i highly recommend trying this place out if you are in lucaya. they also do a mean cracked
conch plate. you can't go wrong stopping here. Fresh local seafood and cold beer is waiting!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW! My husband was waiting to try these conch fritters!! :-)”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Awesome place right on the beach! The food was DELICIOUS! My husband had been talking about trying conch fritters and we found the most awesome ones! They have great prices and the scenery is to unforgettable. Beautiful blue water right at the edge of the restaurant with a fabulous breeze blowing off the ocean. We hope to have the opportunity to go back for another visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnGrace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST stop on your visit to GBI”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was one of my dad's favorite spots for authentic Conch salad and subsequently one of mine. I love their fried conch and fries dish. My dad's photo and plaque are up on the door of Billy Joe's. Every minute that they're open, my dad's got a great view - perfect for his ashes in the sea. It's great to sit at a table, hang your legs off the deck or lay on a towel in the sand and enjoy your cocktail on a full belly after eating a great lunch at Billy Joe's. Hope the business continues to thrive after BJ's untimely passing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fabricskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great time on the beach!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at the beach. It was raining when we arrived but the bar was jumping with island music and a welcoming staff. The beer was cold and the food was great. Everything was prepared fresh and right in front of you. When making the conch salad the guy puts on a lil show with the knives chopping everything up! There were a few vendors that would walk up offering tshirts or other gifts. Some had good deals others didn't but no one was pushy or upset if you turned them down. Once the rain cleared up the view was amazing from the bar! Easy to get in the water just a few steps from the bar! We had an amazing day and will return again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jlee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Joe's On the Beach also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Billy Joe's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing