We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary!”

International Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.99*
and up
Bahamas Get-A-Round Bus Pass
Ranked #56 of 61 things to do in Freeport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular shopping center features over 100 shops and restaurants from all over the world.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Scary!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

It was sad to see how much it had aged and was abandoned. There was one straw store still open and the ladies were hollering to come check them out. We did look around the rest of the place for old times sake but it was scary - bums hanging out and smelled...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    9
    21
    43
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing is there - don't waste your time”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This was supposed to be an excellent tourist stop before a 2009 hurricane destroyed the bazaar. Five years later there is nothing there but the cheap straw market hawkers. Freeport is a desolute area with nothing but beautiful beaches and fancy resorts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“More like International Bizarre”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It really is a ghost town. Kinda creepy. Older men sitting around playing dominos. Felt like it could’ve been the setting for a horror picture. I didn’t even feel inclined to check it out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MsVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ghost town”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I drove around the city today. I heard the lady from ministry of tourism say lots good restaurant over there. What a big surprise. Totally ghost town! Only a couple of shops were open, and I felt scare to walk over there. Totally wasted my time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jjl3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most shops are closed”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It is a nice shopping village to have a stroll but most of the shops are closed. I think they have seen better days or open up when a big cruise ship is coming. Not worth an extra tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Bazaar also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to International Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing