We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looks nicer than it really is.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Lucaya Marketplace

Port Lucaya Marketplace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.99*
and up
Freeport Bazaar and Brewery Tour
Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Freeport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Port Lucaya Marketplace is the largest shopping, dining and entertainment open air facility in the Bahamas, with over forty specialty stores and boutiques, sixteen restaurants to tempt any palate and four bars/lounge for late night entertainment. The Marketplace boasts of a wide variety of Duty Free stores, two generously stocked Straw Markets, two Craft Centres and Push Carts filled with Bahamian craft and souvenir items. Visit our famous Coconut & Fruit Daiquiri Stand & Daddy Brown's Conch and Seafood Stand for authentic Bahamian Island treats. Our famed Count Basie Square, now called the Marketplace Square, will have you dancing to Bahamian and International music all night long. So please make every effort to visit Grand Bahama's only shopping paradise where we have it all!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“looks nicer than it really is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

the shops at the cruise terminal were 100% better. with better items and better prices and not so much walking

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    1,032
    887
    196
    65
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
“cheap junk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend bought a bracelet and it broke before we walked the 300 yards back to the hotel. Stores were closed during the day b/c the clerk went to lunch, I guess. One store clerk did not know how to do a return, so we were forced to swap some merchandise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celeste Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bottom fishing trip ruined our entire day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a bottom fishing trip with Carnival that is located right at this marketplace. When we finally got there, the boat wasn't there! We were told to go shopping for an hour because when we got back we wouldn't have time! No bargaining at all. Same stuff everywhere. Actually the prices at the ship's dock were better. Beware of the company that Carnival books for bottom fishing at this stop. Totally waste of time and wasted our day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very busy marketplace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are in Freeport it's a must see. More souveniers than you can poke a stick it. Super friendly locals trying to sell you trinkets and clothes so you just learn to smile and say hello. You can barter a little but don't insult them with stupid offers. There are some great bars and eateries there and they have live music in a huge courtyard.
The duty free is not cheap but at least it's genuine and watch prices are on par with online buying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bahamas Trinketville”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The usual bahamas market, nothing special just local bars and all the vendors selling the same stuff at every corner

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abaco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Lucaya Marketplace also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Port Lucaya Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing