We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect scale and great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect scale and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

4 friends came here on our annual Bonefishing trip to Grand Bahama. We shared 2 rooms each having 2 queen beds. the rooms were good sized with a balcony overlooking a canal and pool. Comfortable Mattresses, side chairs and a good TV. A small refrigerator is in each room as well as a wall safe in the closet.

Colors are muted Carribbean and tastefully decorated. Rooms are quiet with no outside disturbance where we were. However if you get a room overlooking the Sabor restaurant in the Hotel, you may get an unwanted concert. Skip the Sabor restaurant except for a harbor side cocktail.

Breakfast is included and is served in a hotel building near the property entrance in an interestingly designed space that may be for small conferences. Breakfast was adequate plus.

Hotel staff could not be nicer.

Regulating the water temperature for the shower takes a facile hand and temps can change rather dramatically.

We have fished on the Island every year for the last 15 years and this is the best place to stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dryFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear dryFlyfisher,

You've been coming to the island for 15 years now as a visitor, so I must call you a true islander! That's quite some time, so you must certainly have a great love for our island.

Your review was summarized very well and we appreciate the time you took to give us the feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again on a future travel to Grand Bahama Island! Thanks again for visiting our shores!

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    361
    109
    49
    35
See reviews for
156
371
45
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryanny143
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for a friend's wedding. To be honest, the website doesn't give it justice.

Pros:
-The waterside suites are phenomenal - the difference between these accommodations and the regular rooms is massive.
-The buildings are actually quite nice - I loved the bright Caribbean colors and architecture. Much, much nicer than the pricier hotel across the street.
-Unexso (www.unexso.com) - a must. Located on the hotel premises, it's pricey but worth it. If you want to swim with dolphins ($169-$199), be sure to be explicit when booking, since one of the tours is only a viewing. Also, plan to book at least a week in advance!

Cons:
-Not on the beach. Though it is located on the canal, you need to take a ferry to the nearest beach. This isn't actually so bad, though.
-Service. While it's not terrible, it's not as amazing as they advertise on the website.
-Tourist trap location. The resort itself isn't plagued by glaring tourist eyesores, but the Lucayan Marketplace, which is next door (and the closest shopping/eating establishment) is teeming with yuck. The buildings are pretty, but imagine hair braiding, dozens of trinket shops with shot glasses and trashy postcards, American bars and bad-to-mediocre restaurants. I don't even want to imagine this place during Spring Break.

For the price, Pelican Bay is great. In addition to Unexso, I recommend venturing out of the immediate area and exploring the island, including the Lucayan National Park.

Room Tip: Go for the waterside suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanny143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I was very disappointed with this place. I have been to many hotels/resorts so I automatically compare the service and value to others I have experienced. I had never visited Freeport before only went to Paradise Island in Nassau. First of all the hotel room was nice (suite) and clean when we arrived. I opted out of the getting the breakfast every morning at $19/each as I thought that was a bit high for the three of us. The hotel stated that you get pastries and fruit every morning and I thought that would be fine. Well you get a tiny basket with one apple or orange and 2 small pastries that are not that great... not really enough for the three of us so we ended up going to the breakfast just one day at the hotel. That was not good at all. They hardly had anything there... we went at 10 a.m. so maybe it was all gone. A few other days we went out to the marketplace for breakfast and found it very expensive and not very good (we tried 2 different restaurants). I noticed that on our second day we had no clean towels so we used the beach towels. On the third day I finally put the service tag on our door and got a knock from housekeeping and asked for clean towels but they had none.. she found one and brought it by. Our entire stay nobody cleaned our room and I have never experienced that at any other hotel. Food - the restaurant Sabor is by the pool and is the only restaurant at Pelican Bay. Some of the food is good but the service was awful. We waited about 10 minutes for someone to come by (and it wasn't busy) and she said "are you having food?" I thought that was an odd question but we said yes... she walked away and didn't come back for 20 minutes for our order. Then we ordered and waited another 30 minutes for food... just appetizers and a sandwich which was disgusting. It was really weird like they can't keep help there and everyone is new and has no idea of what to do. Beach - is a ferry ride away - 5 minutes to Taino Beach resort and you can use the facilities there... It's an ok beach - I have been to alot nicer. All the sports there cost money. Even if you want to play volleyball they want $20 deposit on the ball. If the weather is cloudy there will be no pool bar open so don't expect it... So unfortunately for the money we spent $200/night that included nothing the value is just not there. I would definately go to an all inclusive over every coming back here. The marketplace is full of vendors that bug you so if you don't like that don't go... but that was the only place to go out and walk around close to the hotel. We did also visit a little joe's shack for conch fritters.. so gross! We were laughing when we got the fritters the birds kind of just sat there and when the fries came the birds started hovering... the waiter said "the birds don't like those grease balls" I thought that was funny. So many choices out there... I wouldn't pick Pelican Bay or Freeport again... go find a nicer place... they are out there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 414traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear 414Traveler,

We are extremely disappointed that your experience with Pelican Bay and Grand Bahama Island was an unpleasant one. I am actually in awe with all of the feedback provided, but will certainly use it to continue to improve.

Our breakfast box amenity for our suites is an all time favorite, we would have been happy to provide additional if requested, the standard basket contains a fruit and two pastries. Our breakfast restaurant closes at 10:00am, so unfortantely if you went at that time, breakfast food would have been limited. Our housekeeping service in the hotel services rooms each day, provided that there is not a no disturb sign on the door.

From Restaurant Manager at Sabor:
Your comments regarding the service you received at Sabor restaurant are very important to us. We want customers to enjoy the fullest of our dining experience, so your report of a disturbing experience with one of our new team members is a serious concern for us. First, let us express our deepest apologies for the less than acceptable service you received at our restaurant. You deserve only the best service, especially when you visit Sabor restaurant at Pelican Bay. Second, we are questioning our staff and will take appropriate action. Finally, we thank you for taking the time to report this incident; we will honor your effort by continuing to strive for the best possible service at Sabor restaurant.

I am obviously unable to speak to any of the other issues addressed in your review, however I sincerely apologize on behalf of any other establishment that did not meet your standards. We cherish the feedback provided whether negative or positive because it will only motivate us to be better.

Della Bridgewater, Operations Manager & Sherlyn Higgs Restaurant Manager Sabor Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Wife & I travel much. We are kind to all we meet. Checked in Fri at 11AM. Regina, to me was rudest person I have encountered in hospitality industry. We had 4 subsequent encounters with her and all were same. People like Regina spoil vacations. We love Lucaya but advise stay at Radisson 1000% better. Could tell more, if interested E-mail me.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very friendly staff, super service and food! Although we were in a hotel room, not a suite, the hotel lent us a microwave. My daughter had a stress fracture in one leg and requested a wheelchair to get around; no problem. The breakfast buffet is fabulous - all the usual plus smoked salmon, cold cuts, fresh fruit, fresh bagels and pastries. "Sabor" restaurant is located right on the interior water channel with a lovely view of the marina; the fish is delicious.The well-kept rooms are a good size and all have balconies; ours overlooked one of the three pools. Ferry to Taino beach was a treat. Located near the Port Lucaya Marketplace and tour companies, Pelican Bay is a great location for a vacation!

Room Tip: For more privacy, ask for a room near one of the two pools not next to the Sabor restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Office Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Eliza A,

We appreciate your positive review on our hotel. We are pleased that you chose Pelican Bay Hotel during your visit to Grand Bahama Island and we are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you return and stay with us again!

Thanks!
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came from the UK and stayed for 8 nights in a state room with king size bed. The bed was massive! We loved the little basket of pastries that came every morning. We had a 4th floor room over looking the harbour and the views were stunning. My husband came for the bonefishing with Greg Vincent at H2O Bonefishing which is connected to the hotel and he would thoroughly recommend this to anyone into fishing. We loved the fact that the hotel was so close to the marketplace, there was plenty of choice of restaurants and always things going on. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and will come back as soon as we can!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cazzza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Office Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Cazzza68,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with other viewers. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.

We appreciate you greatly and value your feedback!

Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Meet Happy! This hotel is amazing! Clean, luxurious and super friendly staff. Our state room was gorgeous and had everything and more. Espresso machine with a huge variety to choose from (INCLUDED). We had pastries delivered every morning in our "bread box". Delicious. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and meaningful. I would highly recommend! And I will say that the fact that this hotel is not on the beach doesn't hurt one bit! We quite enjoyed the boat ride to Taino Beach. It was relaxing and took no time at all. Taino beach offered chairs and tiki hut style umbrellas (at no cost) for our use. It was awesome. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are planning a trip back and of course, we are staying at Pelican Bay!

Room Tip: Choose a state room, you will not regret it. We faced the canal and it was a beautiful view to star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Office Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Leslie M,

You definitely made me smile while reading this post! The fact that you took the time out to share your experience with others shows that you are beyond pleased with the level of service that you received. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that we were able to be a part of the wonderful vacation that you experienced in Freeport, Grand Bahama.

We always try our best to go that extra mile to please our guests and help whenever we can. We hope that you will return again to visit with us and give us the opportunity to “Wow” you once again!

Thanks again for your feedback.
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing