We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Pelican Bay is in a perfect location, within walking distance of almost everything, including shopping, entertainment, dining. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is built so that each room has a water view and a private balcony or patio. Rooms are spacious and clean; kitchen area provides refrigerator and coffee maker (coffee, creamer, sweetener provided).

There are three reasons I can't rate the resort higher. First of all, the lighting in the room was very dim, making it difficult to read. Second, the air conditioner was very noisy; although it did keep the room temperature comfortable. Finally, although the resort has WiFi available, there is a daily charge for it. I travel worldwide and can't remember the last place I stayed (in the US or abroad) that didn't provide free WiFi. Although dim lighting, a noisy air conditioner, and lack of complimentary WiFi aren't major issues, it's the difference between very good accommodations and superior ones. For me, those little things are enough to motivate me to pay a little more for other accommodations that provide those little extras.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Pelican Bay resort is the perfect spot to stay on Grand Bahama. You have three pools, impeccable grounds, Sabor restaurant, and a water taxi to take you to Taino beach. The room we were in the first night was just ok, It needed a bit of updatingthe air conditioning unit needed to be replaced ,and lighting could of been better. We ended up having 6 young men stay next door who were very noisy and Adrian moved us to another building on the point and it was PERFECT. They were very accommodating and we really appreciated that. The breakfast buffet which we purchased was a great send off to the day. I would highly recommend Pelican Bay!

Room Tip: Stay in the building with the pool called the (quiet pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hippymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear hippymo,

Thanks so much for your feedback! We apologize for the room move you encountered during your stay but happy that our staff was able to make your visit more enjoyable!!

With happiness,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The good: Location is excellent. While not on a beach, the hotel provides free ferry trips every hour to Taino Beach. This beach is much more secluded (on some days almost deserted) and cleaner than the beach at Grand Lucaya. There is also a nice pathway behind the Pelican Bay that takes you directly to the market place within a short walk. Since the rooms at Pelican Bay have refrigerators, we would buy beers and conch salad at the market (check out the small stand towards the back of the market for great conch salad) and come back to have a beautiful lunch on our patio overlooking pool and bay. The Flying Fish is also right next door if you are interested in spending a pretty penny for an amazing meal.

There are three pools at the Pelican Bay which gives you a nice variety of scenery and sun exposure to choose from. All three pools overlook the canal/bay. There are also 2 bars (privately owned) on the premise, and both are great. In fact, we often wanted to come back to Sabor for a night cap.

It helped that the service at Sabor was great, especially Deandra. She was wonderful and gave us the lowdown on what to go out and do around Freeport. The service at the hotel itself was also good. Norma helped us check in and even called us one night (at around 10pm which was kind of odd) to see if we were doing okay.

The bad: The room was not great, especially if exteriors are important to you. There is definitely some wear and tear on the room including rust and water stains on fixtures, a broken lamp shade, etc. Our biggest complaint would be the bed which was extremely uncomfortable on one side (we finally decided to just turn the bed which helped a little). This was unfortunate because a good night's sleep is so important for a relaxing vacation. If it were not for the bed and drab interior, I would give this hotel 5 stars. But you get what you pay for. We got a deal, and the wear and tear isn't as important to us. We did hear from a number of people that the suites at the Pelican Bay were very nice (but definitely more expensive). We also talked to a number of pilots and even locals that choose this hotel to stay on the island.

Overall we were happy with the hotel (especially after hearing stories about Grand Lucaya and visiting the beach at Grand Lucaya) and would stay here again but, perhaps, spring for a nicer room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

3 pools, great restaurant on site, beautiful, clean rooms, and extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff. Awesome location just steps away from Lucaya Marketplace with lots of restaurants, bars, and shops. Also a great open air stage. Across the street from the Grand Lucaya, which has an adjacent public beach. Better, though, is to take the free ferry to Taino Beach and use the sister property's facilities. The ferry departs just steps down from one of the hotel pools. I would definitely stay here again and found my entire stay in Freeport absolutely awesome. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for third floor with view of pool/marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

3 pools
Ms Burke at the front desk was extremely helpful. Free bottled water on arrival in room fridge. 3$ a day so no big deal. Great access to Lucayan Beach via Grand Lucayan lobby or Taino and Fortune Beach via Taino ferry which docks right on Pelican Bay property.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stay here – and do NOT stay at the Grand Lucayan!

Location: perfect; 5 min walk to the Marketplace (restaurants/ small shops); literally next to the Water Txi that takes you to Taino Beach (although there’s a beach within walking distance too).

Service: Home from home. If you want to feel welcome and relaxed on your holiday, stay here.

Rooms: Large, airy but not modern. Everything is clean and works, but it’s not state-of-the-art.

Food: Food at Sabor restaurant is amongst the best on the island. Great variety; super for vegetarians.

Tips: Stay here at half the price of the Grand Lucayan, and twice the warmth. The latter is full of rude, snotty, cold staff, with an attitude problem. Amenities are awesome, but not worth being sneered at by the staff – want to feel welcome on vacation. In the end, we used the Grand Lucayan to access the beach only.

Room Tip: Opt for a 2nd/ 3rd floor room that faces the pool nearest Sabor restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Pelican Bay was a great find. It is so close to all the activities within Freeport. It was great to see other hotels having a lot of spring breakers and we got to enjoy ourselves without the young kids. There was plenty of room at all the pools to get a chair to soak up the sun. Kearah at the front desk was amazing. She made sure we had everything we needed. All the staff there were friendly and really made you feel welcome. I would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £124 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing