We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fligjt crew” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fligjt crew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Since I have been staying at this property for almost 15 years, I have never had as bad a stay as the last time I was there. The food quality has decreased and the service is not what it used to be. Very disappointed. I had to sit in a lobby outside the restraunt without air conditioning. It was very hot and I was dressed for work and I was melting... The room was not as clean as it used to be.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    356
    100
    48
    33
See reviews for
153
367
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived on evening of May 24th, late check in no problem. Didn't have our suite available, room we had for the first night had no hot water and needed updates bad, room 203 but they said they could have our suite that we booked ready the next day. Front desk and employees are very friendly and on the 25th they moved us to room 248. Fantastic suite, amazing view and overlooking the new Bones Bar. Close to everything port Lucaya has to offer and a 3 min walk to gamble, beach, and every type of island drink your heart desires. On check out I mentioned the issue with the room and what we had reserved, they took nearly $60 off a night which was a great remedy. On our last day we missed our check in window and decided to stay and extra night - they have us our same room and rate!!! A must stay in Freeport - absolutely best suite I've had the pleasure of staying in - oh and the nespeesso machine was freaking awesome!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank unityfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located at port lucaya, which means you dont need a car to go far to the restorants and shops. Rooms are outside, not inside of the hotel which gives you sort of a privacy when you are coming and going and with who. every section of the hotel has its own pool. two are with bars and one is called quiet pool, no people, no music, just you and water. a ,ice restaurants called Sabor is just at the front of the hotel, at main pool. Rooms are big and spacious, comfy and not pretencious but nice. Bathrooms also, with the little remark of getting the hot watter. For some reason it takes 10-25 min to get it running, happened to my friends also on another occasion. In any case, suites are much better solution there and I got a good discount for it. Staff could be better with sharing infos. Rooms key cards tend to reset often, keep them away from other cards and devices. WIfi works in all area in and out. but ask them, they told me that wifi is not free but I havent seen anything on my bill later. as for the beach.. you will need a little walking to go to the beach or a short 5 min boat drive.In any case, book the suite. Oh, no room servise!

Room Tip: book a suite, ask pool or canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for 4 night with my wife in a room. The room was great, couldn't ask for more for that price. Only thing that this place lack is signs and explanations of how things work.

For example: This resort doesn't have a beach, but the guests can take a water taxi to another resort with a beach called Taino resort. Took us a while to figure this system out, as no one at the lobby explained this.

Another example: We were given 2 towel cards for beach towels at the lobby as soon as we arrived, but they never mentioned that the towels are right there under their desks. Which resulted that we looked for a towel kiosk on the beach (which is what I am used to) and couldn't find any, and spent the first day without towels.

Also the lady at the front desk mentioned that we can use another beach across the street at the big resort that looks like a cruise ship (you won't miss it). Which turned out to be not accessible by Pelican Bay guests, unless you pay a day-use pass.

Then again, I would go back since I know how things work now :)

Note: Driving on the left is so trippy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ahmed G,

Thanks so much for choosing Pelican Bay as your resting place while visiting on Grand Bahama Island.

We always look forward to our guest reviews because we learn so much from them. Thanks very much for sharing your constructive feedback of your experience, we will certain put it to good use.

With happiness,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed here for 4 of my last stays, the front desk are great people but the rooms need to
be updated, suites are great but the regular rooms need some updating, new paint could help. but i guess you have to take into account that they are recovering from past hurricanes and need a boost to there tourism. very friendly staff and very helpful. breakfast served in the canal building and SABOR is there restaurant for lunch and dinner. you can also take a shuttle to the beach right behind the property. i will stay here again since this is in a safe area, and the staff make the property.

Room Tip: ask for a suite, the better choice!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Andrew H,

We thank you for being such a loyal repeat guest of our hotel. We totally agree that some of our rooms need to be updated. We have several projects in place that keep our rooms as up to date as possible.

Our suites of course are very popular because they provide an extra touch of luxury and comfort to your stay.

We appreciate your feedback whether negative or positive (but mainly positive :)) as we value the voice of our guests and want to ensure that we are making changes to continually improve our product.

With happiness,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Ok boutique hotel. Suites far better than regular rooms. Pools could use better maintenance. Washer and dryer mostly broken during stay and that area was so dirty you would never want to drop an article of clothing. Sabor restaurant so-so with higher prices.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnyw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ginnyw777,

We are deeply sorry that we had a few shortcomings while on your visit. It was certainly not indicative of the service we strive daily to attain on a normal basis.

Our pools and public areas are thoroughly inspected on a daily basis, we do apologize for any oversight that may have taken place.

We value our guest feedback so that we can continue to improve our service standards and guest satisfaction. Thanks for the taking the time to share.

With happiness,


Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Family destination wedding was perfect. Everything about this resort was wonderful. My 85 year old mother enjoyed our room over looking the canal and the "quiet" pool. My nieces enjoyed the water taxi to the beach which had banana boat, paddle boards and jet skis along with a pool and lazy river. I enjoyed the restaurants, bars and close proximity to the market square. The wedding planner was phenomenal and every detail from the ceremony on a private beach to the reception at the pool overlooking the canal was perfect. I would return to Pelican Bay in a heartbeat,

Room Tip: Book early! All room great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyV123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing