We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've stayed here twice in 2 years. It's a great hotel. The service people are super friendly. They hop to the task if you tell them anything isn't up to par and they are authentic. My first visit 2 years ago I stayed in a perfectly acceptable 2 double bed-room with no sitting area although it had a lovely balcony. In July/August this year we stayed in a king suite also with a balcony. It was spacious, comfortable and clean, although the beds are a little hard for my taste. We added breakfast to our room price and it was good solid food with decent choices (even for 2 weeks). The restaurant associated with the hotel is good too. And it's the closest hotel to the best restaurant in town....see my review for "The Flying Fish."

Room Tip: Loved the view provided on all the king suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    366
    111
    49
    35
See reviews for
160
372
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was concerned about what I would encounter during my visit based on the last reviews posted to this site; however, I can say I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and pleasant staff.

We were upgraded to a suite and the room was beautiful. It has a nice, authentic layout and beautiful views. The staff was great and housekeeping cleaned to room nicely everyday. Even the restaurant, Sabor, was great.

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to others. Other hotels in the area may offer more amenities on their premises but the Port Lucaya Marketplace is steps away from the hotel with a variety of restaurants and entertainment. You also have the option of their swimming pools or you can walk across the street to the public beach or catch the ferry to Taino beach. I would recommend Taino beach because it was less crowded and more relaxing - use the public beach for water sports.

Thanks Pelican for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I had a great time. The hotel staff was very accommodating and informative. Our house cleaning person Ms Denise was with us during the entire stay nd she was very diligent in keeping the room in tip top shape. The staff at the front desk was equally pleasant and helpful in all matters. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Pelican Bay from Aug 5-13. We were in the Bahamas for my brother's wedding so there were quite a few of us. I must say the staff here were very friendly and hospitable. At the end of our stay none of us wanted to leave. One staff member in particular, Keith Smith, was very pleasant and helpful. He was very knowledgable about the island and suggested special sights and events for my family and friends to partake in that would make our stay even the more joyous. On my next vacation in the Bahamas I will definitely be returning to Pelican Bay. Thanks Keith for everything!! My family definitely appreciates it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Miyla,

We appreciate your kind words and at the same time we are filled with joy. It is our duty to ensure that each guest feels welcomed and comfortable while they are away from home.

We try to add that extra dose of happiness and friendliness, which allows our guest to understand how much they are valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Everyone here at hotel is amazingly kind, the rooms are clean and spacious. Sabor has great good and cocktails, of course, whether you are with family or friends a must stay while in Freeport. The pool is nice and everything is within walking distance

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LL1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear mshellb,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback helps us to work on improving our services, so that customers have a wonderful experience throughtout their stay.

We do hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel has many positive attributes. I have stayed here on several occasions and each time I am pleased. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and clean. I especially enjoy the spacious suites. The staff members are friendly, very professional and accommodating. During my last visit my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the pool with the swim up bar outside of our room. It was also nice to be able to walk to the local shopping area nearby. i would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellover70025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Thank you for returning to Pelican Bay Hotel. The fact that you have stayed with us on numerous occasions is a clear indication that we are doing something correctly. We are not happy unless our guest are satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahamas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I pulled up to this beautiful hotel expecting nothing but to check into my room and relax but I was greeted by the front desk staff welcoming me and wishing me a happy day. That alone set the tone for me to explore the room and grounds to see what was so happy about this place. When I got into my room I was really impressed with the design and lay out of the room. It was also fresh clean and very comfortable. Walking outside my door was one of 3 pools as well as the view of the canal which was nice. I spent 4 beautiful days relaxing and enjoying the Pool. The hotel was really close to all the happenings in port lucaya which made it easy for an evening of fine dining and dancing. This is my home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJFBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear BJFBahamas,

At Pelican Bay Hotel, happiness is guaranteed! Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.5 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
25.2 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing