We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a good location and with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We spent 5 nights on the Grand Bahama in this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean with all amenities. We had a little terrace right by one of the 3 pools with view over the entrance to the marina. It was just beside the Unexo diving center so an ideal location for divers. The walk to Port Lucaya center with all restaurants, bars and shops was also very short along the marina, and the beach was a good 10mn walk away. It was not luxurious but very quiet, friendly and comfortable. The staff was very nice, expecially Stanley (thank you) who did his best to help us when we needed and arranged also a car rental for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikin0ei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Dear ikin0ei,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a comment of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am certain that Stanley will be thrilled and appreciative of the nice feedback. We look forward to your return on your future travels to Grand Bahama Island.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised how nice of a "boutique" style hotel this ended up being. 180 rooms total, with 90 of them being Water State Rooms, which we had. We were on the second floor with an ok view of the channel and the boats coming in and out, but if you can get 4th floor you will have an amazing view above the palm trees. Resort is well kept and maintenance was going on while we were there. The ONLY one area of improvement I would recommend is redoing the caulking and such around the bathroom, but a minor detail in the grand scheme of things. Interior of room was huge and spacious and a great place to unwind. We REALLY enjoyed the Nespresso machine in the room and are hooked and wanting to buy one now! Fridge & Microwave included in the room, so bring back your favourite goodies from the marketplace area (less than 5 minute walk). LOCATION is excellent, right handy to the marketplace, restaurants, casino, etc. TAKE the water taxi (free) over to Taino Beach, it was quiet and relaxing. Food at SABOR was ok, but not as good as the resaurants in the marketplace. We would definately return if we could get another decent rate for flight & hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

I absolutely agree with your heading! We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. I definitely agree that the 4th floor is a must, not discriminating against the other floors, but the view is truly spectacular.

The concern you addressed regarding the bathroom has been forwarded to our Maintenance manager, Giovanni Sands. We continue to do weekly inspections to improve the quality and standards of our rooms for our guests.

I know how you feel about the Nespresso machine, so many of our guests end up buying their own personal machines after leaving the hotel. Happy that we could iniate that effort! LOL

Your comments and feedback are appreciated. We look forward to your return visit to Pelican Bay on Grand Bahama Island.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I read Trip Advisor reviews before booking this visit, and I can only say that our trip was delightful. I made a point of meeting the manager because I was impressed with her professional responses to complaints registered on this site. In person, she reinforced the same message that they were happy to help with any problem we might encounter. This is a lovely boutique hotel on the channel, conveniently located next to the Port Lucaya Marketplace. You don't need a car because restaurants, the casino, and the beach are within walking distance. We asked to see several rooms before deciding on a state room that had a view of the sunrise, and the boats heading out to sea. The office staff were extremely helpful and pleasant - when they learned it was my birthday, they gave me a lovely present. Our stay was extended due to airport closings along the eastern seaboard, and they gave us a lower rate because we could not get a flight out for 3 days. Be sure to find Billy Joe's on the beach across from the market for the best island food, burgers and Bahama Mamas on the island!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

I was extremely excited when my Front Office Supervisor, Karen Wilson alerted me that two lovely ladies had come looking for me because of tripadvisor postings I had made. It was indeed a pleasure for us to have you at our hotel.

Billy Joe's is certainly a great venue for a great lunch on the beach! I am sure they would be happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with them.

We are happy that you had a wonderful birthday and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to comment on your stay! Looking forward to your return to Grand Bahama Island and even better your stay at Pelican Bay.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

great place,only problem was the cold weather. there is no heat at all the resorts, so if the weather is going to be cold bring a electric blanket.enjoy the stay

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

I know when you come to the Bahamas you only think of nice sunny weather and so do we, but unfortunately we get a few cold fronts sometimes during the winter season. If any inconvenience was caused during your stay due to the weather we apologize. I love the electric blanket idea and will certainly research. Glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. Thanks for taking time to write a brief comment. We appreciate it!


Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Fabulous hotel. Beautiful rooms. Stayed there in 2004 and 2008, once romantic, the second time with our 8 year old. Enjoyed priviledges with their other hotel and caught boat over to use their amazing pool. Prefer this location for dining and evening life as well as shopping. Will be back

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

It was very delightful to read your comment. Happy that we were able to satisfy a romantic and family oriented need during your travels with us! Thanks for taking time to leave your comment we truly appreciate it and we look forward to your return on a future travel to Grand Bahama Island.



Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed at Pelican Bay for 3 nights at the end of July. We paid extra to upgrade our room to the waterside State Room. When we arrived and checked in, we were given our key and headed to our room. I opened the door, and was very disappointed to see what was certainly not a state room. The room looked very dated with older furnishings and had cracks in the wall, and certainly not like what their website had described. We quickly returned to the front desk and they found no record of us having reserved a state room! We were worried, since we'd booked through a travel company and pre-paid for the room. Much to their credit- the friendly staff quickly solved the problem with minimal headache for us and got us into the stateroom.

The stateroom was really quite lovely - we had a private balcony with a view of the bay behind the hotel and each morning we had fresh bread delivered into our room. There were many positives of the hotel - the pools are gorgeous, the bar and restaurant area were great, breakfast much more thane adequate, and beautiful views of the bay. The staff is very friendly and accomodating as well.

However - it should be noted that this hotel is not on the ocean or the beach. There are several hotels in the area that are, but this is not one of them. With that being said, it was a quick walk (5 minutes) to the beach and you are also very close to a taxi stand and the Port Lucaya marketplace with lots of shopping and dining, and the Straw Market - which is a lot of fun to do some bargaining with the locals for your souvenirs!

The price was a little steep for a non-ocean front location...but the quality of the hotel and the service was excellent. I would definitely reccomend upgrading to the stateroom if you can because from what we saw of the normal room - it needed some serious work...and I wouldn't have rated this place nearly as high if I'd been in that room. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

Wow what a lengthy review! Thank you taking time to highlight your positive and negative reviews about your stay with us. We are extremely happy that you were assisted immediately once you were unhappy with your initial accommodation.

I'm very happy that you loved the stateroom, they are highly favoured and always get really great ratings. We appreciate your opinion on our waterside rooms and will continue to improve our quality and standard.

I hope that you were not given the impression that we were on the beach because we certainly do not market ourselves as being so. We are situated on the bay or marina, which connects with the ocean. But it was very nice of you to comment that we are very close to the beach!

We hope that you visit us again on a future visit. Once again, thank you for providing your valuable feedback.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Spent 4 nights in December at this hotel. The rooms are spacious (we were in a waterside state room with breakfast plan.) Separate bedroom and living room with a kitchenette, dishes, fridge, coffee maker. A good view of the bay from the balcony. Fresh fruit and pastries delivered to the room every morning. "Continental" breakfast was really a hot/cold buffet with eggs, sausages, bacon, potatoes, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, coffee, juice - probably one of the best buffet breakfasts anywhere. There are plenty of restaurants within a short walk. The best value was the early bird at Le Med - $12.95 including wine. The best meal was the early bird at Lucianos, but more expensive ($23.50 and wine was extra.) There is a free water taxi to Taino Beach Resort (10 minute trip) which has a great beach, a free form pool with water slide, and a restaurant on the beach. Pelican Bay guests can use all of the facilities at Taino Beach. The business center has 2 new computers that guests can use to check email, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drifters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Fantastic! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Pelican Bay and Grand Bahama Island. It is certainly great when our guests take the time to provide a postive or negative feedback.

Thanks for pointing out our two new computers in the business centre! So many people love them and have not commented as you have done. They're very sleek!

All of your other comments are greatly appreciated! We hope you visit us again on a future visit.

Happy Regards,


Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £107 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing