We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel is lovely! Right now the property is going through renovations, however, it's still gorgeous. Bright and lush flowers all over the place, breath taking views and a very friendly staff.

We worked with the front desk associate Eleanor and she was very helpful and always had a smile on her face. The room was amazing, a lot more spacious than I expected. The one downside was the shower pressure was sub par. Otherwise, the hotel is located a few minutes from the casino and right next to the Port Lucaya Marketplace! Lot's of fabulous shops and stores, be sure to explore! Oh by the way, breakfast in the townhouse is not free!

Also, breakfast in the townhouse is NOT free. Otherwise, an amazing time in an amazing place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DplySensual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Dear DplySensual,

Thanks for taking note of our lovely tropical gardens and lush landscaping, it is certainly designed to make you feel like you're somewhere tropical. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the pressure in the shower.

Please be sure to send me an email of your room number so I can have our Maintenance Department check the issue. I would hate for someone to encounter the same problem.

Your feedback and the time you took to comment is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you on a return visit to Grand Bahama Island.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
della.bridgewater@pelicanbayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    367
    113
    51
    36
See reviews for
163
374
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and 2 children (9&13) just returned from the Pelican Bay. We had a great time. The service was excelent, Elenor was perfect, and treated like family. They has gifts for the kids when we got there, and gift for us when we left. Any problems that we had, they fixed them immediatly. We are booked into a room with 1 king size bed, and once Elenor found this out, she moved us to a state room. Much better for the 4 of us. We loved using the Exspresso maker every morning, and the bread box was always a fun thing for my daughter to find every morning. The cleaning staff we efficient. bahamas has some of the nicest people that I have ever met and we all felt so welcome and very safe. The beaches were nice, the Conch was great!
The only down side was, I would of liked to seen more entertainment for the kids during the day, and for the adults at night. But, the island wasn't very busy, so I understand why.
If you are looking for someone to take you out on a boat ride to see the island, ask for Neil.
So, I wrap this up by saying, I would be back to Pelican Bay again! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Dear Sheila19,

We are elated that you had a wonderful time with us during your recent stay. Eleanor will be flattered by the wonderful comments you gave. She is certainly a wonderful employee and is always willing to assist.

I am saddened that there wasn't enough entertainment for you during your stay. I hope that you were give an opportunity to view all of the tour related activities that were available on the island, there's quite a few.

We thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay on Grand Bahama Island. We look forward to your return to Pelican Bay.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had a splendid, wonderful stay at Pelican Bay. Definitely the best hotel on the island from my experience. The bigger hotel across the street is too 'resort-like' and crowded. Pelican feels much more exclusive and romantic with it's 3 pools and villa style suites. We visited various other places on the island and in terms of location, Lucaya is where you want to be. It is the most happening place and it is easy to make excursions to other parts of the island.

In terms of amenities, room quality and staff, the place is splendid. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They suggested and recommended activities and places to visit. Rooms are very clean and the nespresso is a nice touch. Early morning espresso with the fresh complimentary croissant early morning on the balcony overlooking the marina--what a way to start your day.

Before I got there I was discouraged by the fact that there is no adjacent beach. But don't let that deter you. The 'Our Lucaya' beach is about 150 meters away (basically across a street). I actually preferred the Tiano beach which is a short ferry-ride away. It is surprisingly secluded and you can easily find a quiet spot away from everyone else. The hotel is on the marina/canal so you still wake up to views of the sun shining against the water and early morning boats heading out for recreation and diving.

PS Definitely go to Paradise Cove for snorkeling while you are in Grand Bahamas.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueplanet1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The registration was efficient and quick. Clear instructions to get to our room. The room was large with a beautiful view of the bay out on the balcony. We booked the waterside stateroom. The room had a large living area, an area that served like a kitchen, bathroom and a bedroom with a king size bed. We were on the second floor near the Neptune pool. It is the heated pool. Would suggest to get a room farther down away from this pool. When we were there, Feb.3 to10, the pool bar was not open. This made the pool area very quiet and empty.
The resort's maid service was okay. The coffee table was never wiped down for the whole week. The floor, which is tile, was mopped maybe once during the week. Dust bunnies on the floor after the so called cleaning. The maid's made sure to take the tip that I left every morning but sure did not return the appreciation of the tip. We were sure told, though, that we had to clean our own cups. Cups and glasses, coffee machine, fridge and microwave are provided free.
Maintenance. When I had a maintenance problem, I would phone the front desk and the maintenance person was up there within minutes to take care of the problem. Very efficient and interested in correcting problems to satisfy the customer.
Staff on the front desk were very cordial and efficient.
If you go to the marketplace for meals, go before 4 pm and you can order from the lunch menu. Same item on the dinner menu is at least twice the cost on the lunch menu.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Pelican Bay. If we return to Freeport, we would stay at the Pelican Bay without hesitation. Would return about the same timeline but not March.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Dear flashy2,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Pelican Bay. We are happy that you acknowledged both the positive and negative highlights of your trip. We have certainly taken note of our shortcomings and will make the necessary changes.

We hope that you will return to us on a future visit to Grand Bahama Island.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed for 6 days over Superbowl weekend and had a great time. The hotel was nice and so was our waterside state room- close to restaurants at Port Lucaya Marketplace, spacious room, great view of water (4th floor), rollaway bed available, nice sliding doors open room up to balcony, quiet, heated pool, convenient water taxi to Taino beach. Also liked the small pastry basket each morning and option to adopt a pet fish during stay. Only complaints were hard floor was so dirty our feet were always black from walking around the room and shower (which has great high water pressure) ran out of hot water very quickly. Ate at hotel restaurant Sabor twice- slightly inflated prices but food was good.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATravelFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Dear VATravelFans,

We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us! We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the unique flooring we have in our waterside state rooms. Our housekeeping department will continue to find ways to reduce these issues. We appreciate the feedback and we thank you for taking time to comment.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at pelican bay this jan.& feb. , what a great hotel ,right on the water great views. The rooms very clean & comfortable. The staff was great from the front desk thank you tara& karen, to the bartener sean to housekeeper thank you Mrs. cooper. All made us feel welcome, & made us feel like we made new friends. You won't be disapointed. larry &marnee lol mr, & mrs. bubbles.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrymarnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Dear Larrymarnee,

Seems like you guys had a really awesome time! We are certainly happy to hear that our staff made your experience a memorable one. Thank for you taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate it greatly! Be sure to visit us again on a future travel to Grand Bahama Island.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My girlfriend and I spent two weeks here starting Jan.26/2011.Due to ongoing
renovations we were upgraded to a suite.Our package included breakfast.This is recommended.There were problems:(1)On arrival,the floors needed sweeping.On
closer inspection these floors were dirty.Period.Soap and water required.I'm not
just being fussy.(2)For two weeks the shower did not work.Maintenance either
could not or would not fix this.(3)Large tub-took ages to drain.(4)Two sinks-only one
with a working plug.(5)The toilet,often,did not refill properly.(6)The door to the balcony could not be locked.(7)Light on balcony did not work.
(8)The Sabor(in the Pelican Bay Hotel)-We ate there once,Feb.7,2011.The service
was terrible.We ordered seafood pasta.He brought us pasta with chicken and did not
offer to take it back.We spoke to another member of the staff and received seafood
pasta.It was excellent.A request for parmesan cheeze was ignored.
We searched out a number of different restaurants in the Lucaya Marketplace
and at the Our Lucaya resort.Some restaurants remained closed.But generally
speaking we thought that the restaurants we ate at had quality food,very good
service and were inexpensively to moderately priced.This list includes:
(1)Pisces(Marketplace)-We were very pleased with the pizza here.Over 20 varieties.We went here twice.
(2)Dominoes Pizza(Marketplace) Take-out only.It does'nt come close to Pisces.
(3)Giovannis(Marketplace)-Arrive before 6pm for the special menu.Excellent food.Inexpensive.Our waiter was a true gentleman.
(4)Le Med(Marketplace)-Arrive before 6:30pm for the special menu.My girlfriend
raved about the lobster pasta.We went twice.Very good service.Inexpensive.
(5)Willy Broadleaf(Our Lucaya)-On Friday night they have a Bahamian buffet.
Excellent food.At $18.00 it's moderately priced.Locals,in large numbers,eat here.
Opens at 6:00pm.Arrive early.
(6)Prop Club(Our Lucaya)-A sports bar.We went on Superbowl Sunday.Descent
food.Moderately priced.Check it out.Go Packers!
(7)Chinese Cafe(Marketplace)-Decent food.Moderately priced.
(8)Zorbas(Marketplace)-Greek-Moderately priced.Good service.Good portions.
(9)Pepper Pot(Coral Rd. and E.Sunrise Highway)-Bahamian.Take out only.
Very inexpensive.Chicken/ribs are recommended.It's on the bus route($1.25),
which begins at the police station in Port Lucaya.
(10)Rum Runners(Marketplace)-Nice little bar.Great location.Moderately priced.Very friendly and polite staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldrollaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanResort, Front Office Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Dear Idrollaston,

It is saddening to read all of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Your review has been forwarded to our Housekeeping & Maintenance department as well as our head Chef of the Sabor Restaurant. It is unacceptable for a guest to leave unhappy and dissatisfied. In order for us to take a proper course of action regarding these issues we'll need to speak with you. We would like to hear from you soonest. Kindly email della.bridgewater@pelicanbayhotel.com.

We take complaints very serious! I'm sorry that we missed the opportunity to make things right while you were on property.

Once again we apologize for the inconveniences caused and we hope to have an opportunity to speak with you!

I am sure the Restaurants you mentioned in your review would be happy! But you missed out Luciano's, which is a very nice restaurant in Port Lucaya. After all of the restaurants you visited, I am surprised! Kuddos for stopping to Pepperpot, you certainly had an adventure.

Della Bridgewater
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
25.2 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing