We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise Trip I”

The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.99*
and up
Freeport Half-Day Tour
More Info
US$42.99*
and up
Freeport Bazaar and Brewery Tour
Ranked #25 of 61 things to do in Freeport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Local craftsman sell their jewelry and their wood and straw handicrafts at this market.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cruise Trip I”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unfortunately most of the vendors have exactly the same items (some from China). The sales people were indeed "making" the 'straw' bags in front you, however they seemed to be pre made kits that they were assembling! And everyone had the same ones!!
You definitely need to barter, it's expected.
I would recommend doing a historical tour and/or the beach trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    25
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Day of Shopping”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent the better part of the day last week Monday wandering around the market place and I can say it was time well spent. If you are looking for unusual items for souvenirs this is a place to check out. Although, I would encourage you to barter when purchasing, it seemed some shop keepers where not willing to move much on price, but it can't hurt to ask. Parking can be an issue if you get there later in the day but once the cruise ships pull out of the harbor in the afternoon it seemed like you had the whole place to yourself. One thing is, the people running the shops are very friendly and not annoying like they can be in Jamaica or Zimbabwe. If you are in Freeport for a few days it is worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjbbackdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not Much There, Just A Break From The Ship”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Typical tourist item, most made in China but good deals (I thought) on very large beautiful conch shells at five bucks each. Watch the guy chop up a coconut so you can drink from it. Since it is adjacent to the cruise ship docks it is a chance to stretch your legs on land but you need to take a taxi to beaches or anything other than the industrial area. Head to the Seaman's Rest for good internet service, five dollars an hour but a lot cheaper than on the cruise ships.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank txwolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boring Tourist Trap.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Every vendor had the same "handmade in china" crappy souvenirs, was a total waste of time going there at all. Hit up the beach, spend the day collecting seashells. I wish I had spent more time doing that than wasting money at the straw market.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meaganftlaud12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was my first visit to the Bahamas. I was told that the Straw Market was a "must see". There is a ton of vendors selling the same hand crafted goods under one roof. Everything is negotiable and thats the fun of it. I enjoyed the bargaining, but in reality, everything they sell is junk! It was only 80 degrees when we were there. The place has no A/C. I would have hated it, if it was much warmer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to The Bahamas' Arts and Straw Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing