We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of R&R”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Beach Hotel and Condos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of R&R”
Reviewed 9 June 2008

My husband & I celebrated our 1 yr. anniversary in Freeport at the Coral Beach Hotel, condo #3216, owned by Michael Montgomery (http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124582). Michael was very helpful throughout the whole process, answering questions, helpful tips, etc. We stayed 5 nights at $90/night with an add'l charge of $110 for resort fees & maid service. Upon arrival at Grand Bahama Int'l Airport, we got a taxi ($19) to take us to our hotel (approx. 15-20 min. drive) where we unloaded and headed down the beach to the marketplace. HOTEL: Hotel was nice but old. Nice sitting area downstairs in lobby. Guard on-site everyday. Receptionist at desk during day; very helpful. Hotel had a very distinct smell, somewhat musty. Stairways were clean but old. Felt safe. Hotel also had convenience store, however, it was hardly ever open. The owner, not employeed by Coral Beach Hotel, was out sick a lot. Door sign though was never changed, just stated hours. Would've been helpful to say "out sick" or something. Store prices are very expensive. Gallon milk was $10. LOCATION: 15 minute walk to Marketplace or a few minutes by taxi ($6-$7) or bus ($1pp). No restaurants on site. Have to go to marketplace or take taxi/bus to get food. Grocery store several miles away; too far to walk. We took bus from marketplace to store and then taxi back to hotel. Our biggest complaint was location. Just far enough away to be a little inconvenient. ROOM: Room was cozy & nice. Updated recently. Extras: 2 beach chairs (hotel required $3 I think for a lounge chair), small cooler. Pots, pans, towels, very few washcloths included. You have to provide your own papertowels, toiletpaper, dish scrubby. This would've been helpful in knowing prior to trip. Maid fee is for clean-up once you leave, not any services while there. Room is crowded with furniture. Nice for several people but crowded for 2. TV had some color issues. DVD's, CD's and books provided. FOOD: Several nice restaurants at the marketplace. The Pub was great! Iries was WAY overpriced for the taste/quality of food. At the grocery store, be prepared to pay 2-3x's what you pay in the States. EXTRAS: Be sure to visit Leo's Art Gallery. He's the Bahamian Van Gogh. Absoutely BEAUTIFUL artwork! His was our favorite shop. Look him up online. BEACH: Beach was very pretty; water was turquoise blue, somewhat see through. Coral Beach Hotel's beach is sectioned off. Lots of seaweed past ropes in water. Lots of seaweed washed up overnight as well. Not many people on beach; we were there at the beginning of slow season. I hear spring break time is loud. Huts provided by hotel. If you walk out of the hotel, turn right and walk 15 min. down the beach, you'll run into an inlet. Cannot cross over unless you swim but the water is just beautiful. Lots of beach activities down the beach towards the marketplace. We didn't do any extras on our trip, just stayed on the beach with a book and drink in hand. Lots of R&R. If you rent a car and/or don't mind walking/traveling to eat and do other activities or just want to hang out on the beach, then this might just be the location for you.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location and building age
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mranalyticalsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    48
    11
    16
    15
See reviews for
35
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We stayed at Coral Beach Hotel and Condo and had a great time. We had contacted the condo rental owner through cyber rentals and had the greates vacation. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and helpful. The beach on the property was very big and never crowded. The location is only a few minutes from the marketplace where everything is happening. I would definitely rent from them again.
Jen Lobo

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Geminijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly MA
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We just returned from Coral Beach on Grand Bahama Island- the perfect place for those who appreciate the beauty of nature as it changes from sun rise to sundown!! The condo we rented at the Coral Beach Hotel, through the internet was comfortable and clean with a view out the sliders toward the ocean that was priceless. We felt like it was our own home away from home and were envious of the lucky lady who owns the unit. We just had to pick up our heads off the pillows to catch the early morning sun as it woke us up. Who needs curtains when nature calls? The 4 mile long beach is just the place to walk -for the body, soul and spirit- pure powdered sand that doesn't get hot -so leave the flip flops near the pool. This IS sand so clean and of a beautiful texture ,you just wanted to build and play like you were a kid again (and I was wishing I had my grandgirls with me many times over during this vacation) The clear blues and everchanging greens of the ocean's palette was hard for the watercolorist to replicate on paper and I tried my best! If you MUST HAVE THE GLAMOUR of being part of the resort crowd,just take a 2 mile walk to the left and soak up the beauty of the Westin and Sheraton resorts --and you decide what you prefer- pools, waterslides, banana boat rides, jet skiis and hundreds of happy people sharing the sunshine and upscale expensive fun or just the sun sand and simple pleasures in a coral beach condo meeting new friends who have been enjoying Coral Beach Condos and a slower pace of vacation for the past 20-30 years! You can walk left or right. Go right and you will see more perfect sand, shore and everchanging cloud formations. I have to admit that I wished I had discoverd this place a long time ago--but if I did, I would have missed out sampling other vacation sites around the Caribbean. I plan to get back there tothis new favorite place soon. There are many ways to enjoy a vacation--The Coral Beach style was perfect for this one!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank Hicocamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Pros:
-private beach just steps away from the pool
-for a one week stay, it was pretty cheap and affordable ($600 for the week)
-clean, comfortable room (1bed/1bath)
-full kitchen
-away from the high school/college springbreakers
-15 minute walk to Port Lucaya or a short cab/bus ride

Cons:
-the building is old, and is in no way aesthetically appealing (but this was in March of '06. They may have done some construction since then!)
-the bathroom needed to be updated
-the bedroom had two twin beds!!! we ended up sleeping on the pull-out couch

Each room is different. Just luck of the draw. I forgot which room we stayed in, but it was clean and comfortable. My boyfriend and I were there to see the island, lay on the beach, snorkel, kayak, and scuba dive. We barely spent any time in the condo. We were there pretty much just to sleep and shower.

If you don't want to just lay by the pool/beach, rent a car/vespa and definitely do one or all of the following:
(for the first three activities, a shuttle picks you up from your hotel and drops you back off)

-Paradise Cove for snorkeling
-Lucayan National Park Tour to see caves and do some kayaking (you get to see GOLD ROCK BEACH!!! which is absolutely breathtaking and now my favorite beach ever)
-Unexso for scuba diving
-Port Lucaya every night for drinks/music/food
-China Beach restaurant (best food we had there)

If you're more the high maintenance type, stay at the Westin just 15 minutes down the beach.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelwithK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, MB
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

We found this location suitable although there's no doubt it's unlikely to be confused with a 4 star resort. The place certainly needs some updating and repair.

However, we found it safe, clean, and comfortable. Also it's close to Lucaya and had a great beach right on the doorstep.

We paid $85/nt for suite 2513. It was decent and made our 5 days there affordable compared to the $150-$200/nt it would have cost just down the beach at the Sheraton or Westin.

If you're looking to be wowed, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a decent place to lay your head at the end of a long day in paradise it may fit the bill.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Looked rundown at first glance
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bjstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Has a great position right on the beach BUT it is an old building and shows it.

It is supposedly being renovated but to my mind a coat of paint cannot hide its age and dimly lit corridors. Some of the condos have been renovated but still some of the bathrooms need a complete revamp with new baths etc and not just a cheap tiling job.

If you can live with a 2 star building then fine because it has a fabulous position.

  • Liked — Position on the beach
  • Disliked — Old building. Needs gutting and then upgrading.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westernranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

If you have a family and your looking for a quiet, clean location with a gorgeous beach and beautiful coloured waters. This is the place for you. If your not with family, but want that nice quiet seclusion, you found it. When you want a little more action and noise, you can walk the beach 20 minutes into Lucaya and everything you need is there. Tons of restraunts, bars, stores, casino. What ever you need. I will be back for sure

  • Liked — close to the beach & very clean property
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CanadaWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.1 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
4.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
1.1 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Hotel and Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Hotel and Condos

Property: Coral Beach Hotel and Condos
Address: Coral Rd. at Royal Palm Way | P.O. Box F-42468, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Beach Hotel is also a condominium complex located right on the beach at Coral Road and Royal Palm Way. The facility was seriously damaged back in 2004 and 05 but has been completely renovated since then. About 90% of the condos have also been renovated and updated and are available for rent directly from the owners. Each is unique and has its own character. There is a restaurant/beach bar located on the site serving delicious food and cocktails at very reasonable prices. Check out The Coral Reef Beach Bar on Tripadvisor. It's a short 10 minute walk up the beach to Port Lucaya Market Place, where you can buy anything from T shirts to emeralds, and everything in between. The beach itself is never crowded, the water is crystal clear and the sand feels like sugar. Don't be surprised if you meet a celebrity or two; it's a secret hideaway for some of the rich and famous. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Freeport
Coral Beach Hotel And Condos Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing