We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell Channel Inn”
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bell Channel Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel was great! Amazing staff and super cute. It is a smaller hotel but it also has a resturaunt above it which has great food bahamian and american food. The staff is super friendly and help you out with any type of question. This hotel is also only a 10 minute walk to Port Lucaya so much better than spending money on a taxi or bus. But if youd rather take the bus there is a bus stop right outside the hotel only $1.50 for a ride to town. I loved our king size room it was so big and they have all the channels that we have on tv back in the US! Love it here would definately return to the Bell Channel Inn.

Room Tip: Id recommend if there is one to two people get the King size room its a lot better and bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TawneyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellChannelInn, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear TawneyLynne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Bell Channel Inn and UPSTAIRS Restaurant & Bar. Your description of Bell Channel Inn is spot on. We are a small family operated hotel with only 32 rooms. This allows us to give our guests a more personal experience and a feeling of being part of the Bell Channel family. When you stay with us you will find that everyone is very friendly and always has time for a chat. When you walk through the lobby you are likely to hear laughter and you will be asked: how was your trip to the beach or if you enjoyed the tour you just came back from.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Bell Channel Inn - Where We Treat You Like Family!

Best Regards,
Susie Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

The Bell Channel Inn is a great place to stay while in freeport. Its has a free shuttle to the beach every day. Its only a 15 minute walk from port lucaya. The hotel itself is a pleasant surprise. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The beds are comfortable, you get a fridge in your room as well. You get wifi in your room (but the farther you are away from the lobby the less likely you are to get wifi. So if you need it. Request a room close to the lobby). To top it off it has a restaurant "Upstairs" (thats the name of it) that is actually really good. The prices are cheap, but the foods its great and you get a ton of food. We really enjoyed our stay here. Again this is a hotel, not a resort. It does have a pool, and a beautiful view of the Bell Channel. Freeport is a pretty expensive place, the island needs more tourism because it is struggling. But you can't beat the water on the beaches and if you come to relax then you made the right choice. If your looking for night life Nassau I heard is the island to visit. But The Bell Channel Inn was an amazing stay and helped us enjoy our trip. If you stay there say hi to Hellen at the front desk. She was awesome and super helpful foot us!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinob661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton with Disneyland features this is not the place for you. The Bell Channel is an old facility and could use some updating especially in the bathrooms. The rooms and decor are dated but are large and clean. It is definitely not a tourist attraction and most days we had the pool to ourselves. It is about a mile walk to Port Lucaya because you have to go all around the bay and there is not any sort of "convenience store" any where close for snacks etc. The "in room" wifi only worked on our deck. The room had a fridge but it would have been nice to also have a microwave for heating up leftovers from the great restaurant next door, Red Beard's Pub. If you are on a budget this is a great option for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Genie is real with you. During orientation she says point blank "I live here, you don't and if you ask me about something I am going to tell you the truth." That is worth it's weight in gold to me as a traveler that looks for authenticity. The food in the restaurant at the hotel was some of the best we had while on the island. I also had the pleasure of sharing an entire bottle of TIGNANELLO GRAPPA with some of the locals we met in the bar as this is a place where local Bahamians go frequently. Is it a frilly all-inclusive, Disney like resort ............ No ! And thank god. I live in Florida and we have enough of that. This is what the Bahamas was like "back in the day". Laid back, even keel and just what you need when you work a stressful job. Red Beard's, which is next door is great as well for meeting locals but has the feel of an American sports bar. This is a place I want to go back to. Rooms are large and clean though not fancy. We are tennis fans and loved being able to watch ESPNC (ESPN Caribbean) coverage of the tournament in Italy. After the building of that behemoth "Our Lucaya" resort, I imagine a lot of these smaller places have a hard time making it. Support the real local Bahamians. Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had a great experience here: food was awesome; rooms are really big, clean, with cold A/C. Pool is nice, they should have a tiki bar by the pool and some music though. 15 minute walk to the beaches and market. Would come here again!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the first floor, by the pool. You get a better view of the waterways from upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LifeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

If you are looking for all inclusive snobbish luxury this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a hotel with a great staff, decent prices (hotel and restaurant/bar), and large clean rooms look no further. Jeanne is the best concierge and can hook you up with whatever it is you want to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whtwtrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I are divers and were looking for a great dive/stay package which brought us here. I would say this is the best deal you can find on the island. The rooms have seen better days, but have huge closets, fridge/bar area and amazing views! The hotel has a restaurant which is "ok" and the bar can get pretty wild.

Getting around by foot is really easy from here. It's about a 12 min walk into Port Lucaya and about a 20 minute walk to Tanio Beach. If you are looking to log some beach time, don’t take their free "beach shuttle". They just drop you off at another resort which is too far to walk back to, instead just walk to the public beach (the entrance is just to the right of the Police Station). The beach there is much better and the restaurants options are a major improvement as well.
If you are walking into Lucaya there is a safe short-cut. Take a left out of the hotel and walk to the very end of the road, to your left will be a cult-de-sac. Turn left into the cult-de-sac and on your right will be a gravel path into what looks like to woods. It’s actually super short path that puts you right out onto the main street, take a left and walk straight down and you will see the Police Station and public beach sign right in front of you and the Port will be to your left. We walked this path at all times of the day (including late nights coming home from the bars) and never had any issues.

While we didn’t do any of the hotel activities Genie offered, she was a huge help! She drove us to Tanio one afternoon (before we realized we could walk) and she also took us to the airport and all she asked for was gas money. She is really nice and beyond helpful! If you need anything - she's your gal!

Just a few little notes if you are planning a trip;
-Have a meal (and a drink) at Red Beard's next door, you won't be disappointed.

-Check out the Wednesday night Fish Fry at Tanio - it is awesome! Taxi there and back, there will be ton a taxis lined up to take you home, so don’t worry about getting stranded

-Go diving! Jerry and Preston (he's one of the owners) are great and the dive sites are awesome!

Room Tip: All the rooms look right out into the channel so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HSimpson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.2 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing