We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bell Channel Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I had a great stay at the Bell Channel Inn. From my first and last communication with Lisabeth at Bell Channel was extremely thoughtful and helpful. I had a pleasent stay, and the food was suppurb. Everyone there was pleasent, and very helpful. I highly reccomend this hotel, as the best hotel for cost, on Grand Bahama. They have a dive shop (Caribbean Divers) on property. Captain Pressly and Divemaster Jerry was very professional and just fun to be around. It is realitivly close to Port Lucaya Market place.
Also Stuart Cove diving from the West End was suppurb as well. Highly suggest anyone going to Grand Bahama to dive make arrangements to do the Tiger Shark Feeding with Stuart Cove.
It Rocks!
Randall "Indiana Joe" McGlaun

Room Tip: I had a nice pool and canal view. I think all rooms have the same view, not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    88
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
88
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

From the time we arrived, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay a true vacation. The room was clean, comfortable and available upon our arrival. Jeanne was incredible with her local suggestions from tours, to rides, to shopping and entertainment. Good hospitality, good food at the upstairs restaurant, friendliness, close proximity to the Port Lucaya Marketplace and beach made this a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart0704, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Ellison H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bell Channel Inn.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Room was comfortable and clean but not luxurious. Small fridghe was an added bonus. Jeanie, the receptionist, is fantastic and goes out of her way to be accommodating. She will give you tips on what to see and how to get thewre as well as coordinating travel back to the boat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traverler2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The word "Great" is the one I use freely to sum up not only the dive sites and diving with Carribean Divers, but also the attitude of Captain Presley and his crew.
We've all experienced the "get in a line and when the first diver hits 1500 we all return to the boat" type of trips, but these folks were comfortable allowing qualified divers the freedom to enjoy the scenery and to take pictures or tour at their leisure. A comfrotable experience I would recommend to anyone with a few dives and a little maturity.
The Inn as well would be a delight to most divers - comfortable, with a great restaurant and a terrific staff throughout - plus only paces to the Dive Boat, or a casual stroll to nearby shopping for the non divers or the in-between dive times.
All in all a great experience, and I highly recommend this facility and dive operation to any divers thinking of a trip to Freeport.
Bob Hill

Room Tip: The Inn is Owner Managed, and Staff are willing to to the extras to ensure guest comfort. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0bjhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linköping
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our stay at the Bell Channel Inn was nothing but fabulous. The whole atmosphere is utmost familiar and very friendly which makes you wanna stay (even longer than we did - 4 nights). The kindness and warmth from the staff alone easily compensates the fact that the Bell Channel Inn is somewhat scruffy/wornout.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart0704, Public Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Kalle J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am glad you got to experience the warmth and friendliness of our staff. As Genie our hostess always says: "We may not be a 5 star hotel - but we have a 5 star staff!".

Bell Channel Inn is the perfect place, if you are on a budget and looking for a nice, clean place to stay while you are in The Bahamas. We are always renovating and thinking of ways we can improve our guests experience with us and if you should ever have any concerns - big or small we are happy to help.

We hope you will share your experience with your friends and family, so that maybe one day they too can experience why our motto at Bell Channel Inn is: "Where We Treat You Like Family!".

Best regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was our first time at the Bell Channel Inn. Very comfortable and relaxing place. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious. We are divers, so It was great having Caribbean Divers right there on the property. The Inn is within walking distance of Port Lucaya Marketplace, which is a must see. The restaurant on the property has great food. Be sure and take advantage of the complimentary welcome drink!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Bell Channel Inn is excellent. Rooms are clean, staff is exceptional and Genie was the best. She got us involved with the Island, making suggestions and taking care of our tour needs. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear HLMorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive to your needs.

Thank you for choosing Bell Channel Inn and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Susie Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.3 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
992 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 14 in Freeport
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Property: Bell Channel Inn
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing