We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell Channel Inn”
Review of Bell Channel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Channel Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My boyfriend and I picked Bell Channel Inn because it was economical and not too far from Port Lucaya. You can definitely take the bus and/or taxis to Port Lucaya, but if you want to save on transportation money and don't mind a little exercise, it's only about a 20 minute walk from Bell Channel. The best part about this hotel is Genie, the best, super, and amazing concierge ever! She goes out of her way to fit everything that you want to do on your itinerary!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapefruit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

At first sight of the place, I was taken aback by the flamingo pink exterior of the hotel with white accents. It gave it a great, welcoming vibe. The courteous staff gave us our keys and we led ourselves to our new home for the next few days. The room was definitely not posh like a 5-star Las Vegas suite, but for what we paid, it put a smile to our face. All we needed and got was a clean bed and a roof over our heads. The restaurant upstairs served us some great conch fritters and we got a free Bahama mama with our booking. Though it was a bit of a walk from the hotel to Port Lucaya, it wasn't much more than a 15 minute stroll. Most excellent of all was our concierge Genie. She was a godsend and helped us immensely at planning out our itinerary. She was especially accommodating and really went out of her way to make it so that we would enjoy our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I stayed here about 3 years ago. It was away from everything but the cheap bus stop was down the street. The hotel is old but very cute. The rooms were spacious but old also. The food was the best part about this hotel. They also give you free conch fritters at the bar. I would stay here again for relaxATION reasons only. But, if you want a beach area, you have to take a cab or bus to get there, otherwise book a hotel on the beautiful beaches of bahamas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoslynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My experience of the Bell Channel Inn was: A place with a high service standard, a staff who would do a lot to help their costumers, a high level of service and always smiling - an excellent place for relaxation and opportunities for exciting activities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rec0mmandati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

If you are expecting a 5 star hotel with room service and complete amenities, don't stay here. But, to be quite honest, I don't enjoy places like that. If you are looking for a hotel that is not completely MOBBED with tourists, this is the place to go! I enjoyed my stay so much, that I would definitely go back again. It is quiet, and everyone who works there tries their hardest to make sure you get the best out of your stay. Although it lies on the marina, it would be a 5 minute swim across to get to the town and beach, but about a mile walk around. We did not mind this walk, especially when we had a few drinks in us (the taxi ride is $8, and if you catch the bus on the way it's only $1.25!). There is also a free shuttle that comes twice a day and brings you to the Island Seas resort (although we were pissed off when it forgot to pick us up there...). The bar/restaraunt upstairs is wonderful, however a little bit on the slow side (although you will notice that everything on the island is done in a slow manner, so be ready to have your patients reevaluated). You can get a local beer for 3.50 here, and trust me, the alcohol content in those Sands beers is HIGH; more than 3 and you will have a nice little buzz going! I prefered the conch fritters at this hotel more than anywhere else I had them on the island. The pool was small, but very cute, with many chairs around to relax in. The tour host, Genie, is the biggest sweetheart and she will actually DRIVE you to activities if they are a little far for you...that definitely beats taking a taxi! I would absolutely reccomend going to the Bonfire on the Beach, but wait till you get there to sign up for it, as Genie gives you a great discount...it's all you can eat, drink, and dance. As for the rooms, the showers were very hot and the air conditioning cools the room off in almost 5 minutes! There's a little loveseat, a table, a kitchen sink, and a nice bathroom area...although the bed comforters did smell a little funny haha :). All in all, if you are on a budget, this is THE place to go...it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misskaraaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

our stay was short, but definitely comfortable. the restaurant upstairs is fantastic... one of the best conch fritters available.

rooms were clean and big. no frills but it was good. it was a 15-20 min walk. i know there have been reviews about the walk being bad at night, but i didnt see any issues with it. you can see port lucaya out side the window across the canal.

there are daily shuttles to island seas resort. and jeanie is awesome if you want any suggestions on what to do. shes a great help.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil1verson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Check In: Was prettty smooth and they did offer us free welcome drinks at the bar

Rooms: Yes, this is a 2 star hotel, but it is definately in need of repairs and the bathrooms were not clean. Also, the mattress, were really old and dirty. The good thing is that most rooms have a balcony where you can sit outside and look onto the water from the bay. There are also a few rooms that are updated, but they are more expensive. On the other hand, the other hotels in the Bahamas are extremely expensive in comparison, so it depends. There is a coffee/tea maker that you can get from the front desk, but makes sure to bring your own tea or coffee as its expensive in Bahamas. There is also a small fridge in the room.

Restaurant: Was very reasonable, especially in comparison the rest of the Bahamas restaurants.

Service: The front desk staff, and Jeannie who works at the excursion desk very extremely helpful and friendly. Also, Island Seas representatives will be there soliciting free gifts if you sit through the timeshare presentation. It will take more than 90 minues, more like 4 hours total including transport to and from the hotel...

Bahamas Tips: Port Lucaya which has a restaurants and shopping is only about a 15 minute walk, but I was told by several locals that walking at night is not recommended. However, the cab charges $8. Cab ride to the aiport is $22 for 2 people and they charge you $3 each for additional people. Food is very expensive in the bahamas, but alcohol is not :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peri26NewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#8 of 14 in Freeport
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Channel Inn

Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Channel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Channel Inn is a family operated hotel, run by 3 generations. It has once again achieved the prestigious " Certificate of Excellence" awarded by Trip Advisor for its 4 star rating reviews.Bell Channel Inn is a small hotel with 32 spacious rooms, equipped with air-condition, dining room area, cable T.V., free wireless internet access, telephone, refrigerator, hairdryer, alarm clock, daily housekeeping, private balcony with a view over the water and Port Lucaya or a direct exit to the pool deck and your choice of king size or double beds. Should you need: coffee maker, kettle, shampoo, iron & ironing board or a roll away, laundry service or maybe a cab or a shuttle to the beach, then just call the front desk and they will be happy to assist you.Friendly and knowledgeable staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and the tour desk assistant, Genie, will give you a welcome drink and an orientation after you check-in regarding how to get around and which tours are being offered and she might even be able to find a discount or two on selected tours! The lobby has been newly updated and fitted with a comfortable sofa and a TV so you can catch up on all the news or get a chat with the ladies in the lobby while you wait for a taxi. You will also find a safe at the reception for your valuables. Bell Channel Inn also has its own restaurant & bar/lounge known as "Upstairs" where guests can enjoy drinks in the "No Stress Zone" after a long day in the sun. Upstairs is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view over the water, it is open from 7:30am -11pm, with Happy Hour from 5p.m.-7p.m. There is LIVE entertainment on Friday nights. Upstairs is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has a good selection of both Bahamian and American dishes - they are especially famous for the fresh seafood! Don't forget to pack your swimwear as this hotel features an outdoor pool and a free shuttle to and from the beach. Free wireless Internet access is also provided so you can check your in-box whenever you like! Other amenities include non-smoking rooms, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, beach/pool umbrellas and free parking.Located on the waterfront, Bell Channel Inn is a hotel in the area of Lucaya, Freeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bell Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Channel Hotel Freeport
Bell Channel Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bell Channel
Bahamas Bell Channel Hotel
Bell Channel Inn Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing