We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went to visit for a time share presentation. Some units are being updated. The price was really hard not to buy into. Just do to finance at the time we could not further our deal (right now). We hope to visit again and try in a few years. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportfan677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    94
    52
    27
See reviews for
127
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we spent 2 nights and 3 days at Ocean Reef. The room we stayed in was nice, the people were so welcoming and friendly. We bought a time share there, there aree no hiiden fees from what our contact states, by the time I retire, we will have enough points saved up to spend a few weeks a year for a lot of years after retiring, we plan to go back at least twice a year. We fell in love with the resort and the people, who by the way will bend over backwards for you to have a wonderful stay. We are proud to say, We are so very happy to become part of the ocean reef Family!!!!

Room Tip: The visitor rooms are very clean and maintained, the suites are beautiful, with 1,2,and 3 bedroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Ocean Reef is a nice cozy place for the family. We went for our Honeymoon over the Thanksgiving holiday week. They have everything you need. 2 pools, restaurant, and the kitchen in the room. Most of the rooms have been renovated and are very nice granite counters sleek bedrooms and living rooms. The Staff are SUPER NICE, David the engineer, Hattie one of the greeters all of the staff. They have a shuttle that takes you to the grocery store Saturday evening which is helpful to get the items you may for the week. They also have a shuttle that takes you to the beach every morning. They take you to 2 different beaches. Tano beach is much better than Lacaya. I would go to Lacaya for shopping and eating. They take everyone to the Wednesday fish fry which was a great time. Plenty of tourists, locals drinking and great food!!! It is proper to give the drivers a tip for the ride. A normal taxi ride to Lacaya is $10.00 and it is about a 3 minute ride. On the Sunday they have an orientation at the property, they tell you about all of the tours, fishing, snorkeling and much more. We did the J.C. Tour. This was awesome. JC took us to the East End of the island. It was so pretty, the beaches were unbelievable. Most of all JC himself shared so much of the islands history and the secret places we would have never found.
The restaurant food is ok to order while you are there. There is a little burger stand on the property "Ester's" her burgers are like grandma makes... :) She does make homemade bread which I would highly recommend. Had the Raisin and cinnamon bread, great for breakfast, and not very sweet.
All in all it was a great place to stay. Thank you for making my Honeymoon a dream come true.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielleGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We visited Ocean Reef from Nov. 19 - 26th. Weather was great. We had read reviews and was not sure what to expect. We stayed in a 3 bdrm. suite which had been re-modeled. The unit was very clean, beds very comfortable. Ocean Reef is not on the beach, but the atmosphere of being quiet and relaxing was what we wanted. The staff was exceptionally friendly, not pushy. Cab service is immediately available, $5 per person. It is a TS, but the staff is not over-bearing. Shuttle Bus is available for shopping, but prices are high. I would not recommend this resort for teenage children, more on the adult side. Activities at the resort are limited, but staff is helpful in recommending places to visit. The beach is app. 1 mile and in walking distance. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has been re-modeled. The resort consist of townhouse type unites and suites. Sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIzzy5216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Although the staff was very friendly, the facilities left a lot to be desired. Some of the units are in DIRE need of being COMPLETELY re-done, and the general appearance of the grounds, pool area, etc. was not appealing. As another reviewer said, the restaurant has horrible food, totally overpriced. You are not on the beach, with nothing withing reach without a car.
Then there is the $60 or so 'surcharge', which I believe is weekly, for 'utilities.

Do yourself a favor, and stay away!!!!

Room Tip: DEMAND a renovated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Williamj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our second stay at ORYC and we enjoyed our first stay so much my parents bought a timeshare there. But a year and a half after the purchase they were never told of the renovation fee. They thought everything was included in the annual maintenance fee. So if you plan on buying there make sure all fees are disclosed before signing. Our second stay was enjoyable too and we got two upgraded units and they were nice. So the renovation fee was well worth it if would have been already disclosed. Haywood Forbes was our taxi driver there and he was awsome! Unfortunately the elevator was down the whole week so we had to tote our bags up and down the stairs. I will definitely go back there, but I will not buy there.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms they are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSINGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here 10/8/11 through 10/15/11 in a 2 bedroom townhouse unit. Accommodations were clean and well maintained. There were 6 adults and we all had pleanty of space.The only complaint we had was the shower in the second bedroom did not work well. Beds were quite comfortable with memory foam mattress. View from balcony in master was great especially for sunsets.
The resort seemed to be well run with the exception of the restaurant/bar. We ate dinner there our first night and food was hit or miss. Chicken fingers were great but BBQ ribs and chicken specials were mediocre. Bar is quite slow.

One recommendation, skip welcome dinner as food was not good and only drink available was weak Bahama Mamas. Went to bar for other drinks and it took 20 minutes to get 2 drinks and 2 beers. Bartender could not figure out computer/register system.

If you want a drink go to Esters by the big pool. Her drinks are bigger, better and cheaper than the bar in the restaurant but only open until 4PM. Be sure to order some Banana bread from her. It is made to order so order it one day and she will have it for you the next day. All home made pool side.

Other than the restaurant I would recommend the ORYC as a great comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbruinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing