We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We traded thru RCI for a 2 bedroom condo at this resort. It is on a canal which I thought was scenic. The resort provided a free shuttle to & from the beach every week day and a free shuttle to & from the grocery store on weekends. The unit had marble floors and was well lit and clean. We had a problem with the big spa tub in the master bedroom and eventually found out it had been installed incorrectly and would be fixed after we left. Wish they had tested it when it was first installed. They referred to this snafu as "Bahamian craftsmanship".Our timeshare contract stated that no pets were allowed but numerous yacht owners had dogs that barked between 1:00a.m.-5:00a.m. making it difficult to sleep. The front desk staff was pleasant when the owners were around but surly when they were not.
When we first arrived the activites director shoved papers at us; implying it was part of the registration process. It turned out to be a timeshare presentation. Boo!!
We had emailed earlier asking if we should use credit cards or cash, The owner said we could use our credit card and that small vendors would expect cash. We found that all the excursions demanded cash. At $75.00 each that adds up. Wish we had brought more cash. When we mentioned that we had bees swarming on our balconey we were told that that wasn't their job and were not directed to the proper person to take care of it. We felt that someone had their hand in our pockets at all times. We will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    116
    94
    52
    27
See reviews for
123
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was through our Timeshare points, and whenever we have used points through RCI (which is our back up to our Wyndham program), it is virtually impossible to request any of our choices, and therefore we have to accept what RCI has available, and I am always somewhat leery as to their choices. The pictures of the facilites look far better than the actual Resort. While they are indeed renovating the rooms, it is not anywhere near Wyndham Resort quality. It is clean, food okay, but make sure you understand that while is a Yacht Club, the rooms are facing a canal, and the beach is at least 1.5 miles away. They do run a shuttle daily to the beach. If you are looking for a quiet week in the sun, then you will be okay. There is one casino in town and a few bars.

Room Tip: Villa's are much nicer and most renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What these guys are doing at The Ocean Reef Yacht Club is pure highway robbery. The location is terrible, and you need to to rent a car for the week in order to get anywhere (seems a little convient that the resort is terribly located and their just happens to be cars avaliable through the resort). The car we rented was in terrible condition and borderline not safe to drive. Our room was ok, we stayed in a recently renovated suite. Even though it was "recently renovated," the toaster, one of the T.Vs, and the lights in one of the bathrooms were broken. Also the room contained no safe, we complained to management about this situation on the first day and they failed to get a safe installed in the room before the end of our 7 day vacation.

The worst part about this place was when the renovations of the upstairs unit began in the middle of the week(which they failed to mention to us at any point BEFORE the work began). We came back one day to a massive leak in one of our bathrooms(which was right next to a light fixture). The maintance man stopped the leak, but failed to remember to fix the light fixture (therefore I showered in the dark for the next 3 days). The worst came however when we were woken up at 9 in the morning to a jack hammer going off upstairs. We instantly complained to management who provided the excuse of "well we didn't think they were going to start until next week." it then took them 3 hours to stop the jack hammer, during which time the staff posted notes saying that their was suppose to be construction work happening in the morning. Upon our check out we asked if our room was not going to have someone staying in it after us because of the construction, the staff member said no (boy I feel sorry for those people).

Don't waste your time with the food on site, it is pitiful. Grouper's grill is absolutely terrible in every way shape and form. Put it best, it is $5 for tostitos chips topped with jarred queso (and it takes them 20 minutes to make it). Ester is pretty good, but honestly go to the grocery store (solomons) or to the Lucaya shopping center for resteraunts ( I recommend the lobster burrito at agave, and everything at Lucianos). Their is no beach, and both pools are freezing. Honestly ocean reef is a scam, they are more concerned with stripping every last cent they can off of you over actually providing a quality product. On top of the false advertising I have heard from various other reviews on this site, I honestly feel if the ministry of tourism is what they say they are in the Bahamas they need to step in and issue some kind of watch dog on this place. This terrible experience not only does not make me not want to return to ocean reef, but I am second guessing whether I would return to the Bahamas or not.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Teddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

ATL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at this resort Jan/01/2012...i had an amazing time, the staff there was very friendly and helpful...the rooms are being renovated and that was a plus for my family and I..we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit wasn't the best but was great shape...the resort is not on the beach but with the staff help i was introduces to the Coral Beach which was about 5 min walking dist..we had that beach to ourselves.....the resort is not in top shape but is on its way there.. its a great location if your looking for a laid back vacation and family time ..and its gated ..so you have lots of privacy...the restaurant needs to be upgraded...but to my understanding its a different owner ... and there is nobody harassing you at this location...

Room Tip: ask for a nice room ..and be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLESSINGSatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We belong to a timeshare club and due to the short notice, Ocean Reef was the only resort left.
The professional photos make this place seem brand new but its certainly showing its age...
The staff, though friendly, seemed rather too aloof and not very attentive. The room was a large 1BR apartment with a reasonably comfortable bed and spacious enough for a week's stay.
The other guests were all friendly and fun to talk to; some guests staying on their boat moored at the resort got their scuba diving certificate with me. That was a treat.
The pools were dirty.
The on-site restaurant was not very good.
There IS a fee that isn't readily available until you ask about fees: a $68 Utilities charge.
Housekeeping isn't daily like at most hotels. Housekeeping isn't every other day. You must request housekeeping and there's a fee of $25 for each service.
One redeeming quality is the presence of a Scuba Diving Center on site and isn't affiliated with the resort.
Overall, if not for this scuba shop, I'd've been bored silly.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thevinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went to visit for a time share presentation. Some units are being updated. The price was really hard not to buy into. Just do to finance at the time we could not further our deal (right now). We hope to visit again and try in a few years. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportfan677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we spent 2 nights and 3 days at Ocean Reef. The room we stayed in was nice, the people were so welcoming and friendly. We bought a time share there, there aree no hiiden fees from what our contact states, by the time I retire, we will have enough points saved up to spend a few weeks a year for a lot of years after retiring, we plan to go back at least twice a year. We fell in love with the resort and the people, who by the way will bend over backwards for you to have a wonderful stay. We are proud to say, We are so very happy to become part of the ocean reef Family!!!!

Room Tip: The visitor rooms are very clean and maintained, the suites are beautiful, with 1,2,and 3 bedroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing