We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN AWAY FROM THIS RESORT.....FAST” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RUN AWAY FROM THIS RESORT.....FAST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Unfortunately, I stayed at this resort from December 15-22 and believe me - my experience has jaded me from ever wanting to visit the Bahamas again. This resort was FILTHY - from the outside grounds, to the elevator used to get to the top floor, to the inside of the 3 bedroom condo I stayed in.

The balcony attached to one of the bedrooms had stagnant, standing water that attracted bugs and mosquitoes. Instead of having a proper outdoor table - there was a table frame with no table top. The toilet in the master bedroom did not work unless you utilized a plunger. The kitchen utensils were so old and cracked and dried out that I put them in a bag and handed them to the front desk. The pots still had food left in them from the prior visitors. The diswasher had coffee stains not cleaned off from the prior visitor. The refrigerator had stickers on the front door - the kind you wear at a party that say "Hi - my name is........." The other balcony had pieces of hardware (?) lying across it - dont ask.

THEY ADVEERTISE THAT YOU HAVE INTERNET USAGE - BUT THIS IS A LIE - YOU HAVE NO INTERNET USAGE - unless you go to what is called the guest lounge - a dimmly lit room with two PC's (only one was working - two of the days of my stay) that had a bookcase with some sad looking books - a table game and a shoddy looking couch - where someone's dirty undershirt lie for the duration of my trip.

Staff members are "hot" and "cold" with their attitudes - not professional at all. The ones who are selling timeshares are inappropriately dressed, linger about the premises at all times, toting food and drink, conduct "presentations" in the areas where owners are trying to relax, display "pushy" tactics and detract from your ability to have a good time.

The timeshares' taxi driver, Mr. Heywood, drinks alcohol whilst driving you about and actually stalked me. He had the absolute audacity to call my room from the tmeshares restaurant to ask for a date. Unacceptable.

The pool was small and dirty. The recreation was poorly planned. The pictures of this place online IS NOT WHAT YOU WILL ENJOY WHEN YOU GET THERE. The place is so small, a bicycle ride will take you all of five minutes to cover the grounds.

The linens on one of the beds had yellow stains on them. The extra blankets in the closets are so old they should be donated to an animal shelter.

The general manager allowed outside parties to be held at this small little establishment - in areas where owners should be able to relax and enjoy themselves without having to be disturbed by local public citizens who parked their cars all over and who made noise till all hours of the night and roamed the premises.

A horrible, horrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aesthetician1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    113
    90
    48
    26
See reviews for
112
90
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The staff at the property were friendly and entertaining. Kareoke night is a must do. I was there with my wife and two college aged kids during the Christmas week. We had a renovated 2 bedroom unit on the third floor. The view of the marina was very nice. If you are looking for a 5-star resort this is not it - but you won't find many on Grand Bahama Island anyway. Overall not a bad place to stay. The pros: nice sized space, huge beds (probably too big for the room), good security, Kareoke night, friendly staff, central location. The cons: fitness room is outdated - equipment too old to use, tennis court has a painted concrete surface with fences that are too close to the baseline, forget the basketball court - it is a rusted backboard at the corner of the tennis court, wireless is slow but it does work.

Have fun with their timeshare approach. We did it just to help Hadi gain compensation for a referral. We got $50 and the presentation was not high pressure - once you say "no" they stop.

Few other tips: 1) rent a car at the airport because you will want to visit differnt beaches. Avis had good rates. 2) Lot of good resturants at Luyca market place. 3) Go to Solomon's grocery to buy breakfast and lunch stuff. 4) The Bahama Mama dinner cruise was fun but you can't see anything at night. Met a lot of good people there. 5) For college kids, have them try the Neptune Club at Luyca market place. 6) If you want a place to workout go to the Y on Settlers road. 7) I would skip the fish fry event - go to a resturant instead.

Remember - it is the Bahamas - don't worry, by happy :).

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenr694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the ORYC &R on Dec. 26-29. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathtownhouse...we asked for an updated one, but we weren't able to get one. The one that we stayed in was outdated, but clean and we really didn't mind. Everyone seemed to be friendly at the resort, and the only problem we really had was with a woman at the excursion desk. I won't say her name but it started with a "B" and she was so pushy. She really wanted us to attend a time share meeting and we politely said that we weren't interested....she continued to beg us to go to the meeting in which we stated and over and over that we weren't interested.....it got to the point that we would run when we saw her coming.....it really ruined an otherwise relaxing vacation...We will not be returning!

Room Tip: We had been advised to ask in advance for an updated unit, which we didn't do. We recommend not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 967disappointed967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here from Dec 7-24, 2012, in a two bedroom townhouse. The resort is very relaxing, has some activities happening, and wonderful staff. Our unit was clean and comfortable, and met all our needs. We had a great time, and met wonderful people at the resort. The staff here was always helpful and very friendly; they made us feel welcome.
The staff had great suggestions for tours and activities this information helped us enjoyed the Island. The resort offers free shuttles Monday –Friday to the Lucyan Beach and Market Place, as well as to the grocery store Saturday evening and Monday. Be prepared for higher than normal groceries due to most things needing to be imported to the island.
We took the JC East End Tour and this was well worth the cost. We also hired Mr. Hayward Forbes for a day and he drove us out to the west end of the island, he found us the best lunch of our trip at the Triple Play Sports Lounge. It is an experience in itself! The kids snorkeled at Paradise Cove; for the best experience here they recommend hiring the guide and feel it was well worth the extra cost. They saw many fish and the guide knows where to snorkel.
The resort is walking distance to the beach at Williams Town, we preferred this beach and there is another resort at this beach and you can rent chairs. There is also a very good beach grill again another great lunch.
We had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed the hospitality of both Ocean Reef Resort and Grand Bahama Island! Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We came for the diving and the adventures, not a 5-star Americanized experience, and were pleasantly surprised to find the kitchen fully stocked, huge rooms, extra pillows/towels/blankets, and a very friendly staff. (We also came on a timeshare gift from a friend's mother). There were also a couple of dogs and cats around the resort, we loved them!!! Most were pretty shy, but some were friendly and sweet, especially the cats who we would find lounging around the back pool, always wanting some pets or a lap to sit on.

Tips:
- Pet the cats and dogs!! And if you can find the two cocker spaniels who enthusiastically sprint around the resort, they were absolutely adorable and uber friendly!
- Don't go walking in bare feet on the grass, there are centipedes
- Try snorkeling around the docks -- there are seahorses, urchins, and an octopus around there plus plenty of fish!
- Need a taxi? The resort's own taxi driver, Hayward, is awesome, cheaper, and on call!
- Try a local beer! The Kalik and the Eclipse were both winners for us.
- Go to the Wednesday night Fish Fry and Lucaya on Friday if you like music, food, drinking, or dancing!
- Kitchen is nicely stocked with cooking tools
- WiFi is reallllly iffy in the rooms, but signal is good at Grouper's.
- Bike rentals are only $5, but the quality of the bikes varies a lot
- There are two beaches within walking distance, and there's a really neat rock jetty area with anemones, urchins, snails, fish etc. at the one that you'll find when walking left out of the resort

Things we didn't like:
- How we didn't see the cats as much as we wanted too :(((
- WiFi
- Some of the bikes were in really bad shape
- No recycling, which I understand is too expensive for the island in general (still, though...)
- No water on the dive boat, and hours the dive shop was open were limited

FOR DIVERS:
We dove with Grand Bahama Scuba (attached to the resort) -- not a bad deal at all, and if you're diving more than 1 day with them they'll rinse and store any equipment you need, and it will be on the boat the next morning ready for you. Dive Tunnels Reef or Shark Junction for coral tunnels, sharks, groupers, and garden eels!
NO WATER ON BOARD -- bring your own!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and if there's something wrong with the one you've got, tell them r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I am not sure about the previous reviews that people have left. My husband and I have been going to Ocean Reef for 12 years. We have one of the penthouses but have also stayed in some of the other units. We have had one bad experience with a 3 bdrm townhouse but other than that the units have been remodeled in the past few years. The grounds are kept very clean. The pools do have some issues but so do most of the pools in the area. As for the person that suggested Island Seas, we also own there and it is the worse of the two. The location is great but the units are horrible. Housekeeping there is a joke. But that is another story altogether. We like being away from the tourist's and the beach is not far away. The lady that was afraid of the cats, yes there are pet cats at the resort but they do not harm you. As for the lizards, they will not harm you either. I have been going to the island for over 24 years and have yet to see a snake. My biggest fear is spiders and have only seen maybe 2 in all these years. I thank the lizards for that. If you are that afraid of cats, lizards, and snakes, I suggest that you stay at home. We love Ocean Reef, the staff is the best. We were there 4 times this year (2012) and will be going back as soon as we can. For those of you that don't like it, don't come back. Leave the beauty and the friendliness to those of us who appreciate it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad locations. Everyone has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanreefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I am a member of Interval International and exchanged my week for a week at this resort, which was very disappointing. Property is not maintained very well. Cracked and broken tiles around property and in units. Hall and elevator carpets are filthy. Resort proclaims to have wi-fi, but it only worked 30% of the time I was there. The bedroom had no curtains, so I always had light coming into the room at night when trying to sleep. I could hear my neighbor through the walls, and not because she was loud. The balcony light came on automatically at dusk and remained on all night. The ceiling fan in the bedroom could not be turned off. And then the resort has the nerve to charge an energy surcharge because their electric bill has gone up. Front desk refused to do anything about the extra charge; it wasn't until I spoke to a supervisor that she calculated what it cost to run the light and ceiling fan and made a small deduction in my surcharge. What a rip-off. Finally, I had an opportunity to visit a couple other suites and when I did I discovered that their is inequality in room amenities; for example, my suite did not have a dishwasher or massage chair, but two other suites I visited had both. One guest had an old box TV in their suite and it wasn't until a complaint was issued that the maintenance department replaced it with a brand new flat screen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randyhively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing