We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The rooms have been well maintained and updated maybe at he expense of the exterior. I agree with another reviewer that the bed is not great, way too soft and the front desk and other staff (night manager) are not very present. Would I come here again? Probably not. It wasn't bad, but I think that if I were coming back to this area I could probably do better.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms. Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    113
    90
    48
    26
See reviews for
112
90
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Major Problems, in order of importance:
- Uncomfortable bed. This turned the hotel from being a "4" to being a "2". Huge issue for a vacation spot.
- Too focused on "add-ons" to the hotel, like selling additional highly expensive "tours" of the island instead of enabling us to explore on our own. $70+ per person for a 4 hour "tour" is quite a lot to ask esp if you want to do 2-3 tours.
- Office hours are from 9-5. This is an issue in a hotel where you get back at 6 or 7 and cant get an issue resolved until the next day.
- DVD's they "rent" are pirated and of very poor quality. They loaned us a DVD player free of charge, but the TV we had in our hotel room failed to have a hook-up for a DVD player. We found this out at 6 PM, oh well, can't watch a movie that night. To their credit, the next day they replaced the TV with a much newer flatscreen model with a DVD hookup.
Major Strengths, in order of importance:
+ Some of the hotel staff displayed great service (e.g. the maintenance crew, night security staff, restaurant wait staff and *some* of the receptionists).
+ Clean. Overall no bugs and the rooms were in good condition
+ Private in-room safe and clean bathroom.
+ Cheap rental cars were on premise at competitive rates.

Also - friendly travel trips

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrimsonBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Staff and facilities are wonderful! Really enjoyed our meals at Grouper's Restaurant, on site. Great Bahamian food and good prices for all other diners. Had lots of fun at the Monday evening guest's party.
My wife and the couple with us took the free SCUBA class in the pool but windy weather kept the dive boat from going out. We will do that next time! Can't believe more people didn't take advantage of the free class = no obligation to dive!
Rented a car from the resort and drove all over. Beaches are so great on Grand Bahama and usually we were the only ones there. Port Lucya was good fun too.
Loved our 2 br. suite! Whirlpool in the master bedroom and separate bath for other br. Even 1 br. units have whirlpool! They have been replacing most appliances but ones in our room were still very good - complete kitchen gives choice to cook our own dinner sometimes.
Staff knows where to go for most everything. Lots of activities throughout the day ane evenings. They have a taxi on call there to take you anywhere if you don't drive but you can easily walk to either of 2 beaches about 1 mile. Pools and outdoor whirlpool were very nice, too. Everyone was so helpful! We really look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va beach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Reef Yacht Club, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughtout our stay. We could not have gotten better service from a high end hotel than what the staff at Ocean Reef Yacht Club gave us during our stay. From the Welcome party to the last day that we were there they meet our every need. Our teenage girls had a wonderful time swimming, relaxing and sunbathing at the pool every chance they could. My hat goes off to the staff at ORYC they made our vacation one to remember for the rest of our lives. Ask for Mrs. Olive, Ron, Mrs. Ester,and Andrew they made our stay so much more enjoyable. Thank you Thank you Thank you..........Mr Kevin Brown

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kev3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

There were aunts crawling on our beds. We changed rooms and then there were more aunts. The hotel desk said they never heard about any sort of aunt problem and didn't believe us.

Besides the aunts, the people were mostly friendly and the pools were nice. But, it was not within walking distance of the beach.

  • Liked — the pool in our backyard
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slattekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

We had a great time at the ORYC. The weather didn’t exactly cooperate but that’s the breaks. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are very nice and the marina is quite interesting. We met a lot of the guests at the resort from all over and found them very interesting. Some travel here each winter by boat and have great stories and good advice on where to go and what to do. We went to “Rum Runners” one night in Port Lucaya and had a great time, say HI to “Bogie” the bartender. Another night was at “Giovanni’s” very good food and a pleasant atmosphere.
While at the resort a couple of us became SCUBA certified. Fred and Melinda at “Grand Bahamas Scuba” (www.grandbahamascuba.com) were very thorough and made the certification very interesting. Their dives are beautiful and diverse. If you want to get certified, this is where you want to go.
Another good place to spend a day is at Paradise Cove. A very nice beach and good snorkeling. They have a restaurant and bar on site and a wonderful sunset.
I will be looking forward to my next trip to the Bahamas and I would be happy to stay at the ORYC.

  • Liked — Great Scuba Diving.
  • Disliked — A little far from the beach.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Ocean Reef is a nice spot to relax. The on site staff were much more pleasant than many others we met at other hotels, stores and some eateries. The hotel restaurant was good. Many people stay at Ocean Reef for over a week. Townhomes have an outside grill and facilities to cook. A pleasant patio to watch the sun go down and watch the catamarans and boats in the marina. A number of these boats actually had owners living on them. Monday night BBQ was a lot of fun and well attended. Facility is in need of some maintenance but nothing significant.

If planning to shop, be aware what is in the stores is very limited and in some cases such as crackers could be double what they are in the States. Wine is limited and expensive--typical of most islands.

Dinners at Groupers hotel restaurant were good and by all accounts reasonable. Shimron (staffer )is very friendly and service oriented.

Dinners were great at La Dolce Vita, The Ferry House and Lucianos. Very expensive and good service. However they are very popular and especially at Lucianos service can slow down due to the volume. Food was very good at each.

Rum runners was fun casual hang out and at times is very busy.

Billy Joe's on beach is a casual must go place. They actually cut tthe Conch in front of patrons.

The Sheraton was shut down and a good part of Westin facilities and restaurants. Beautiful pools, nice spa and beach.
The hotel is changing brands. Based on observations, some of the common areas --rest rooms--etc . are not well maintained.
Not surprising it doesn't meet Westin standards without some work.

Island is suffering economically. They rely heavily on tourism and don't really have much else as an industry. A number of storefronts are not occupied and a number of real estate parcels partially started and stopped. This may also be true in other islands. The activity picks up a bit if a cruise ship is in port. However locals say they can't remember seeing such as drop in tourists as they have over the past 4 months.

We were pleasantly surprised that a catamaran ride was not cancelled as only 6 of us participated. We enjoyed the Reef tour. The snorkeling is very good. Clear water and you can even see the fish from the boat. We also loved our trip to the dunes and beach at the Lucaya park.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No beach on site.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UpstateTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing