We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place....location - not so much......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK place....location - not so much......”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

A friend and I stayed at Ocean Reef for a week through her time share trade. The hotel itself was pretty much in the middle of the range. I've stayed in much nicer, but much worse. It's a little worn in places - not much in the way of a facade - no special touches, the lounges around the pool are comfortable but worn. There's a guest lounge with computers (free internet) and a TV and couch, but again, pretty worn looking. The office is just some old chairs and magazines and styrofoam cups with overcooked coffee. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, and I liked the way it was set up. We each had our own bathroom, tons of closet space, nice kitchen appliances, living room with a flat screen, and regular TV's in both bedrooms. They should really get some decent mattresses - beds are a wooden box with a bunk-type mattress, but they had nice down-filled comforters with duvets and extra pillows. Nice patio/balcony with table and chairs and two lounges. Everything was pretty much clean, but not sparkling. A lot of tiny ants in my bathroom, but I didn't see them any where else, and they weren't a big deal. We also had a TON of towels - more than enough, and you can also turn them in for fresh ones on Tuesday and Thursdays, but we had so many that we didn't need to. Stand-up shower was dark ,and shower curtain is thick, so made it hard to see when in shower. Again, everything's a little worn as far as chipped tiles, grout, etc. Kitchen was nice - a breakfast bar, nice dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans. There are two pools, both are small but since it was the slow season, it wasn't a problem. No bar service at either of the pools, however. There was a pool bar in the main pool, but it was closed down, so if you wanted a drink , you had to get out and go around to the restaurant and order and wait for one. At the pool that was by the condos, there's a lady named Esther who runs a little bar , but just for a few hours a day. She has some drinks and will cook you up a pretty good cheeseburger. The restaurant, Groupers, is okay - food is ok and priced decently, but nothing real special and there's no ambiance, and service is kind of slow. The real drawback of the Ocean Reef is the location. It is on a canal where the boats can come in from the ocean and dock, so no view and not close to any beach. There is also no place to eat, shop, or get food. This would not be a big deal if they would run regular shuttles. They offer a "grocery run" twice a week to the City Market. It's very expensive - small jar of peanut butter is $6 and a bag of chips is $5. They offer a daily "beach shuttle" which leaves the hotel at 10 am and picks you up at 2 p.m. It drops you on a beach that is within walking distance to the Port Lucaya Marketplace (virtually the only place to go if you need food or something.) If you miss that one shuttle for the day, you are stuck except for Hayward. Hayward isn't employed by Ocean Reef, but he might as well be. He has a monopoly. He will immediately make friends with you, so that you will feel guilty if you call anyone else for a ride. He would even get offended if we got a ride back from Lucaya in a cab instead of calling him to come and get us (also good to note that when we DID get a ride back in another cab, it was always several dollars cheaper than Hayward, unless it happened to be Hayward's cousin, brother, or father!) Don't get me wrong - he was a friendly guy, but his standard rate for the trip from the hotel to the marketplace was $10 for a ride that took a few minutes, then another $10 for the ride back. I would have liked to make a lot more trips off the resort, but the amount we were spending on taxis was ridiculous - DEFINITELY rent a car! So my overall opinion was that this was a very quiet (I never saw one single posted activity ever take place -which was fine - since I don't care much for bingo or water aerobics) during the off season. I like quiet, and I don't like those big resorts, but this one was just too far away from EVERYthing. I'm sure that for the price, you could stay right on the beach and use all that taxi money for pina coladas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    116
    94
    52
    27
See reviews for
123
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The rooms have been well maintained and updated maybe at he expense of the exterior. I agree with another reviewer that the bed is not great, way too soft and the front desk and other staff (night manager) are not very present. Would I come here again? Probably not. It wasn't bad, but I think that if I were coming back to this area I could probably do better.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms. Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Major Problems, in order of importance:
- Uncomfortable bed. This turned the hotel from being a "4" to being a "2". Huge issue for a vacation spot.
- Too focused on "add-ons" to the hotel, like selling additional highly expensive "tours" of the island instead of enabling us to explore on our own. $70+ per person for a 4 hour "tour" is quite a lot to ask esp if you want to do 2-3 tours.
- Office hours are from 9-5. This is an issue in a hotel where you get back at 6 or 7 and cant get an issue resolved until the next day.
- DVD's they "rent" are pirated and of very poor quality. They loaned us a DVD player free of charge, but the TV we had in our hotel room failed to have a hook-up for a DVD player. We found this out at 6 PM, oh well, can't watch a movie that night. To their credit, the next day they replaced the TV with a much newer flatscreen model with a DVD hookup.
Major Strengths, in order of importance:
+ Some of the hotel staff displayed great service (e.g. the maintenance crew, night security staff, restaurant wait staff and *some* of the receptionists).
+ Clean. Overall no bugs and the rooms were in good condition
+ Private in-room safe and clean bathroom.
+ Cheap rental cars were on premise at competitive rates.

Also - friendly travel trips

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrimsonBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Staff and facilities are wonderful! Really enjoyed our meals at Grouper's Restaurant, on site. Great Bahamian food and good prices for all other diners. Had lots of fun at the Monday evening guest's party.
My wife and the couple with us took the free SCUBA class in the pool but windy weather kept the dive boat from going out. We will do that next time! Can't believe more people didn't take advantage of the free class = no obligation to dive!
Rented a car from the resort and drove all over. Beaches are so great on Grand Bahama and usually we were the only ones there. Port Lucya was good fun too.
Loved our 2 br. suite! Whirlpool in the master bedroom and separate bath for other br. Even 1 br. units have whirlpool! They have been replacing most appliances but ones in our room were still very good - complete kitchen gives choice to cook our own dinner sometimes.
Staff knows where to go for most everything. Lots of activities throughout the day ane evenings. They have a taxi on call there to take you anywhere if you don't drive but you can easily walk to either of 2 beaches about 1 mile. Pools and outdoor whirlpool were very nice, too. Everyone was so helpful! We really look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va beach
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Reef Yacht Club, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughtout our stay. We could not have gotten better service from a high end hotel than what the staff at Ocean Reef Yacht Club gave us during our stay. From the Welcome party to the last day that we were there they meet our every need. Our teenage girls had a wonderful time swimming, relaxing and sunbathing at the pool every chance they could. My hat goes off to the staff at ORYC they made our vacation one to remember for the rest of our lives. Ask for Mrs. Olive, Ron, Mrs. Ester,and Andrew they made our stay so much more enjoyable. Thank you Thank you Thank you..........Mr Kevin Brown

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

There were aunts crawling on our beds. We changed rooms and then there were more aunts. The hotel desk said they never heard about any sort of aunt problem and didn't believe us.

Besides the aunts, the people were mostly friendly and the pools were nice. But, it was not within walking distance of the beach.

  • Liked — the pool in our backyard
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slattekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We had a great time at the ORYC. The weather didn’t exactly cooperate but that’s the breaks. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are very nice and the marina is quite interesting. We met a lot of the guests at the resort from all over and found them very interesting. Some travel here each winter by boat and have great stories and good advice on where to go and what to do. We went to “Rum Runners” one night in Port Lucaya and had a great time, say HI to “Bogie” the bartender. Another night was at “Giovanni’s” very good food and a pleasant atmosphere.
While at the resort a couple of us became SCUBA certified. Fred and Melinda at “Grand Bahamas Scuba” (www.grandbahamascuba.com) were very thorough and made the certification very interesting. Their dives are beautiful and diverse. If you want to get certified, this is where you want to go.
Another good place to spend a day is at Paradise Cove. A very nice beach and good snorkeling. They have a restaurant and bar on site and a wonderful sunset.
I will be looking forward to my next trip to the Bahamas and I would be happy to stay at the ORYC.

  • Liked — Great Scuba Diving.
  • Disliked — A little far from the beach.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing