We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Recently spent a full week here.. Got my scuba certification with Fred and Malinda (own the Ocean Reef dive shop next to the pool) .. I HIGHLY recommend anyone to do it! it was great! Staff was great! They offered shuttles to do a grocery run. Fun activities everyday! and Beach shuttles most days! recommended..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraleigh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

My friends and I had a great time at the ORYC. It's not a 5 star resort, but as long as you know that going in I think it's perfectly adequate.
First, the negatives: the whole place is a little bit worn. Kitchens are older and could use some improvements. Cushions on the pool chairs are grayed and worn. The free internet is a nice plus, but it hardly works. The main office and concierge hours are very limited. It is not on the beach, and it isn't really close - about a mile away. But it is somewhat walkable and they do provide shuttles there and to the grocery store.
The positives: definitely the staff. Ultra-friendly and they make sure you have everything you need. You are a short cab ride away from the casino and port lucaya. The marina is really pretty and the backdrop of boats is wonderful especially at night. Time share selling pressure is minimal. Although we didn't do many they do provide activities every day.
Overall, we had a great stay at this resort. As long as you know what to expect you should have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirlinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Our week at the ORYC was delightful. The facilities were more than adequate with activities available at the club as well as opportunities to be taken to the beach or the market via their bus. However, the most pleasant parts of the visit were the people: the other guests from wide ranges on the earth and the residents of the island. The tour given by JC was informative and enlightening. He not only gave us a physical tour of the island but included his own personal history of his home town and family. In addition, and as a great follow-up, Charlels presented a review of the islands history the next day which futher validated what JC had told us. And everywhere, there were smiles!! Worth a visit just to experience those.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanniewrenrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Expensive and substandard. The rooms were unclean, in poor condition and desperately needed a renovation. The refridgerator had broken rusty racks and broken crisper drawers, the bar counter was broken and warped, all the cupboards were bacteria ridden, especially where the garbage can was stored. The wood on the exterior of the kitchen cabinets was swollen and smelly from food bacteria and the moist tropical air. I was afraid to cook in this kitchen, my family could get sick. No flipper, really poor cutting board. Old dirt built up in the crack between the fridge and the counter.The dish cloths smelled sour. The bathroom was not clean, all the corners had built up dirt.
We rented a car from the resort for $60.00 per day so you would expect that the headlights both would work or that the windsheild glass would be clean. The tires were bald and it needed an allignment, the suspension was shot, the trunk didn't open.
The restaurant had limited food, serious lack of salads and fruit. I think they tried to make something nice but it was all overcooked and not really anything healthy.
The people working there were all really nice, friendly, patient, professional, the pool was fantastic and clean. The pool chairs made me cringe because the pads were really old and faded and unclean. Our deck had duct tape holding the floor tiles in place.
We had a great time with the on site dive company. This place is not on the beach, you take buses or taxis any time you want to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

very nice accommadations, wonderful and helpful staff. on the marina, a miles from the beach and porta lacaya, but daily transportation to each, and a run to the grocery store the first night. other activities organized. a very informative cultural talk; bike rental for $5.00/day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We will be back.............Well maintained & friendly. First class.......

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfpilgermayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

A friend and I stayed at Ocean Reef for a week through her time share trade. The hotel itself was pretty much in the middle of the range. I've stayed in much nicer, but much worse. It's a little worn in places - not much in the way of a facade - no special touches, the lounges around the pool are comfortable but worn. There's a guest lounge with computers (free internet) and a TV and couch, but again, pretty worn looking. The office is just some old chairs and magazines and styrofoam cups with overcooked coffee. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, and I liked the way it was set up. We each had our own bathroom, tons of closet space, nice kitchen appliances, living room with a flat screen, and regular TV's in both bedrooms. They should really get some decent mattresses - beds are a wooden box with a bunk-type mattress, but they had nice down-filled comforters with duvets and extra pillows. Nice patio/balcony with table and chairs and two lounges. Everything was pretty much clean, but not sparkling. A lot of tiny ants in my bathroom, but I didn't see them any where else, and they weren't a big deal. We also had a TON of towels - more than enough, and you can also turn them in for fresh ones on Tuesday and Thursdays, but we had so many that we didn't need to. Stand-up shower was dark ,and shower curtain is thick, so made it hard to see when in shower. Again, everything's a little worn as far as chipped tiles, grout, etc. Kitchen was nice - a breakfast bar, nice dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans. There are two pools, both are small but since it was the slow season, it wasn't a problem. No bar service at either of the pools, however. There was a pool bar in the main pool, but it was closed down, so if you wanted a drink , you had to get out and go around to the restaurant and order and wait for one. At the pool that was by the condos, there's a lady named Esther who runs a little bar , but just for a few hours a day. She has some drinks and will cook you up a pretty good cheeseburger. The restaurant, Groupers, is okay - food is ok and priced decently, but nothing real special and there's no ambiance, and service is kind of slow. The real drawback of the Ocean Reef is the location. It is on a canal where the boats can come in from the ocean and dock, so no view and not close to any beach. There is also no place to eat, shop, or get food. This would not be a big deal if they would run regular shuttles. They offer a "grocery run" twice a week to the City Market. It's very expensive - small jar of peanut butter is $6 and a bag of chips is $5. They offer a daily "beach shuttle" which leaves the hotel at 10 am and picks you up at 2 p.m. It drops you on a beach that is within walking distance to the Port Lucaya Marketplace (virtually the only place to go if you need food or something.) If you miss that one shuttle for the day, you are stuck except for Hayward. Hayward isn't employed by Ocean Reef, but he might as well be. He has a monopoly. He will immediately make friends with you, so that you will feel guilty if you call anyone else for a ride. He would even get offended if we got a ride back from Lucaya in a cab instead of calling him to come and get us (also good to note that when we DID get a ride back in another cab, it was always several dollars cheaper than Hayward, unless it happened to be Hayward's cousin, brother, or father!) Don't get me wrong - he was a friendly guy, but his standard rate for the trip from the hotel to the marketplace was $10 for a ride that took a few minutes, then another $10 for the ride back. I would have liked to make a lot more trips off the resort, but the amount we were spending on taxis was ridiculous - DEFINITELY rent a car! So my overall opinion was that this was a very quiet (I never saw one single posted activity ever take place -which was fine - since I don't care much for bingo or water aerobics) during the off season. I like quiet, and I don't like those big resorts, but this one was just too far away from EVERYthing. I'm sure that for the price, you could stay right on the beach and use all that taxi money for pina coladas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
4.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing