We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at ORYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable stay at ORYC”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This was our first vacation outside of Canada and we were mostly satisfied with our stay at ORYC. We stayed at a condo-like room on the first floor, which was outfitted with a spacious bedroom, jaccuci tub, bathroom, kitchen, living room and patio. We were extremely comfortable in the room and found that it was perfect for our stay.
Highlights of Pros:
- very friendly and helpful staff
- close to the bus route (which is much much more affordable than taxis!)
- quiet location
- lots of planned activities in the evening (although we opted out of most of them)
- spacious rooms with all the amenities we needed
-cheap bike rentals, which are handy transportation (*see the cons note on these bikes)
- the grocery run on Monday morning was very helpful for getting snacks and food that we used throughout the week
-absolutely NO sightings of bugs or other creepy crawlies inside out room

Highlights of Cons:
- first of all, we happened to be there during an unexpected cold front so we spent a few days indoors and more bundled up than we had hoped!
- the room wasn't extremely clean upon our arrival. It almost appeared as though it hadn't been stayed in or cleaned in quite a while. It wasn't terrible but there was quite a build up of dust on the ceiling fan, baseboards and bathroom. A quick wipe down solved this problem but it would have been nice if it was done prior to our arrival. We didn't bother telling the staff of this issue because we quickly took care of it ourselves.
- the bikes were in awful shape just from not being well maintained. They got us where we wanted but not after having to stop at a store to borrow a wrench to tightening some bolts. They did work but were not the most pleasurable ride
- the location was not extremely close to the beach. It was about a 15/20 min walk to the nearest beach, a 5 min bike ride or a 2 minute bus/taxi ride. It was a bit further to get to Port Lucaya, which is the closest main beach and shopping center
- we found the restaurant was overpriced for the quality of the food. On average, their meals were about $20/person but we went to other places on the island that were quite a bit cheaper and tasted better
-our room was right next to the laundry room and every morning at about 8am there was various traffic with loud rolling carts and workers talking right outside out room. This woke both of us up every morning earlier than we would have liked

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skdstauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    116
    94
    52
    27
See reviews for
123
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The complex was nice. The marina was there and it was nice. The location was alright, except it was not on the beach. The place had lots potential, but unfortunately was not kept up and this made our stay uncomfortable. Although we liked the complex and the rooms themselves ... they were not cleaned properly. Kitchens (in all units) let me repeat, ARE NOT CLEANED BY MAID SERVICE ever! They are the supposed responsibility of the previous guest. RIGHT there you get trouble already. This because, you will need to CLEAN the kitchen like we did, before using it. No previous guest will clean it to the level that it should be cleaned, to be ready for new vacationers. It should be the responsibility of the resort.
Next, they charge you for maid service. This IS NOT included in your accommodation fee and they charge an extra $25 US per day per room. AND again, so there is no mistake ... this does not include cleaning the kitchen. Because the kitchen is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY and the maids do not clean it.
When we arrived, the toilet and bathroom looked unclean. There were hairs from previous guests on the tile floors in every rooms washroom we rented. (We had three separate units during the length of our stay).
Sadly, we even found hairs in our bed, on our pillow case, that obviously did not belong to either one of us! To make matters worse ... in two units that we rented, the mirrors in the bedrooms looked as if they had old dried up fluid spattered over it ... and that it had been there for a very long time. Needless to say, it made myself and my husbands skin crawl.

During our stay we were then approached and offered a breakfast, for which we said YES to ... thinking it was a very nice tging to do! Low and behold, when we met up with the resort employee ... we were forced to listen to a 2 hour high pressure timehare sales spiel. Into an hour of the presentation, we were served a very small breakfast of sorts which consisted of a small amount of scrambled eggs, a piece of toast and two sausages. Which we ate quickly because we had been up for hours and had to kindly excuse ourselves so that my husband could make his golf date, which he was going to miss if we stayed with this representative any longer.
Overall, it was quite unfortunate really.

However, we did meet some nice people visiting there from other places and some of the staff were friendly. But that`s about it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I will be brief and to the point:

Location: Not very good, you will need a car to go everywhere,

Rooms: Poor condition, broken tiles and very thin walls. You can hear neighbours above you and beside you snoring, chating, watching tv and everything elsed that takes their fancy,

Cleaningness: Ok but cleaners use a supermarket trolley to move around and you can hear them everyday, your room will shake when they pass your door,

Enterteinament: if you are into karaoke, then that is the place for you,

Pools: There are two ok pools, on sundays one of them gets used to dive introductions free courses,

Age group: I would say 55 plus, they are mostly boaties and very friendly, but if you are younger and want to hang out with people your age (25-40), this is not the place,

Hot water: We had hot water issues a few times, water was luke warm and it would take a whole day for it to be fixed,

Balcony: great and spacious if staying on the bottom units,

Fitness center: I would not count on it. There is a couple of very old machines, bike is in terrible condtion and treadmill should be taken out of there, one of these days somebody will get hurt,

Restaurant serves good burgers and fries.

This resort doesn't have a lot to offer. It is basically no frills. We only stayed there because we needed to have access to a kitchen. By the way, they allocate one unit as a showroom to sell timeshare. The room is super modern, completely refurbished with new LCD TV screen, new american style kitchen and more. Unfortunately, none of the other rooms look like that, and I doubt they willl in the near future. So I find it extremely misleading as they are advertising a different product.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairness_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Had a 2 bedroom unit. Very, very spacious, clean and maintained. Staff is wonderful, check in and out was quick. Lots of things to do. Met a lot of very nice people. Staff was very helpful and would do anything they could to help you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HONEYBUN721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My friends and I went for a 5 day trip to Freeport. One of my friends owns a timeshare unit at the Ocean Reef (but a different week), so we expected to get a really nice 2 bedroom suite at check in. Instead, they gave us a 1st floor, 2 bedroom townhouse, that was outdated, unclean, and the a/c was not working properly. On the night of our check-in, we went to the pool to cool off for about an hour. During that hour, someone came through our back patio door and went up to my 2nd floor bedroom and stole my jewelry. I didn't notice my jewelry missing until the following morning. The Freeport police had to come, fill out a police report, look for fingerprints,etc. I guess we are fortunate that no one returned to the room alone during the robbery. We are also fortunate that we did not leave our passports and money in the room, instead we kept all that with us at all times. But you should never leave your beach bag unattended if you are keeping your valuables in it. We saw a person looking at our beach bags at the Port LuCaya beach, but we never left them unattended. The gym at the Ocean Reef was outdated and the machines were not functioning properly while we were there. On a positive note, after I was robbed, the timeshare staff did move us to a really nice 3rd floor, 2 bedroom suite that was updated and air conditioned. Also, the staff at the Ocean Reef were really nice...probably the best part of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahamaMama1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The rooms are nice size, bathrooms were a little worn, but the suite was very clean. The food at the on site resturant was not very good. The staff try and sell you a timeshare and are not very happy if you don't buy. we spent alot of our time off site and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My cousin and I stayed in one of the town houses. We had bundles of space and our own en-suite bathrooms, which is definitely a good thing for two females LOL. The town house itself was lovely. Full kitchen facilites, nice living area with own barbaque area out side. Bedrooms were big and en suites were reasonable size.
The food was good and the staff were friendly. There wasnt many leisure facilites on site, just a pool, but we wasn't to bothered about that as we travelled off site everyday. They did have daily events though, including free diving lessons although we missed it as we arrived the day after. Watch out for the 'Time-Share' reps. They are everywhere and can be quite annoying.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vee575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Address: 48-60 Bahama Reef Blvd. | PO Box F-42695, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Yacht Club And Resort
Ocean Reef Yacht Club Hotel Freeport
Ocean Reef Yacht Hotel
Ocean Reef Yacht Resort
Bahamas Ocean Reef Yacht Club
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing