We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The area around the Royal Islander Hotel is dead”
Review of Royal Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Islander
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Most things around this hotel are closed (>80% have been closed for 4 years. The International Bazaar, casino, most restaurants and bars all closed), if you go there we advise on hiring a car since the beach is very far away too. We didn't experience the staff as being very friendly. When asking about information they weren't helpful and even provided us with wrong information on two occasions. The rooms are basic but clean. If you are looking for a hotel on Grand Bahama we suggest Port Lucaya as more things will be open there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraMilNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2008

The Royal Islander was a nice clean mid-scale hotel across from the International Bazaar. The staff was courteous and helpful, especially the owner. The only real problem is that there were very few guests at the time we went. Of course, the International Bazaar is a shell of its former self, and the owner told us that the closure of the nearby casino had really made it difficult for them. The hotel stay was really a pleasant experience, but we found ourselves constantly hopping a bus to Port Lucaya to find things to do or to find a place to eat. The hotel does have a coffee shop/small restaurant. We ate breakfast there a couple of times, and it was okay. They provide a free shuttle to Xanadu Beach about every hour. It's a quieter beach than the one in Lucaya and is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smoky_mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

My stay at the Royal Islander was excellent! My advice is don't buy a Volkswagen as a substitute for a BMW or Mercedes. The RI is a clean, well kept hotel property. I would rate give this property 3 starts out of 5! An excellent 3 star hotel at that. If your expectation is a 5 star hotel, that's it's not! The price was right, the service great, the staff was very friendly. I met the owner, she was very friendly and wanted to make sure our stay was pleasant. Overall the staff went overboard to make sure you were happy. Currently this part of Freeport is not so great due to the 2004 closing of the Royal Oasis. This killed the famous International Bazaar. This is all going to change. The Royal Oasis property down the street has been bought, the management company now in place. Within a couple of years this area will be booming again.

So my advice is if you want a clean, friendly place to stay that's priced reasonable, stay at the Royal Islander. If you want a 5 star experience along with a 5 star bill, then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bmwbadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

If you expect 3, 4, or 5 star accomodations, this is certainly not the place for you. The only reason I didn't give it a 1 star is because the room and bathroom was relatively clean and tidy when we arrived. I went during spring break and the company we booked the hotel through tried to comfort us by sadly saying, "at least you're on spring break and you won't have to spend much time in here." They still use the key system so who knows who has keys/access to your room. The island is beautiful and the people we met were really nice. There is not much lighting around the outside at night and we sometimes found it hard to find a cab that would take us there after night fell. If you can find anything else around the same price or maybe a bit more, I'm sure it will be WAY better than this place.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank rl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

We booked a cruise on with Discovery Cruise Line and learned that The Royal Islander is recommended by the cruise. I then looked it up here on Trip Advisor. I read the mixed reviews and was very nervous to book my stay. We went in and were expecting the worst but we were so HAPPY once we got there. When you pull up it doesn't look very exciting, but once you enter you can tell they have renovated. The pool looks brand new and is beautiful. There is a secluded hot tob with a waterfall that runs into it and it's beautiful. The lounge chairs are also new and very comfortable. I saw many people who have posted here in the past has stayed there prior to the new rooms. It looks as though some rooms are still being worked on. Our room was SPOTLESS. The bed was HUGE, the room was HUGE, there was a great armoire that had a TV and drawers and a refrigerator inside. The bathroom also looked brand new. All the workers were VERY friendly. We even came back to the room on Valentine's Night to a complimentary bottle of champagne!!! (pic)

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank Gordy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

This was truly a five star resort. There are 4 sister hotels and a complementary shuttle runs between all of them. The customer service is above and beyond expectation. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at one of the Royal hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2005

My family and I stayed at this run down hotel in August as part of a Discovery Cruise break and realised as soon as we stepped into our room that this was the poorest hotel that we have ever stayed in. To say that the rooms were outdated is an understatement, and although they were reasonably clean the bathroom fittings were so old that they looked permanently grubby.There was a clinging, musty smell that pervaded the room and we made sure that we spent as little time there as possible. We would never knowingly choose to stay in a hotel like this and wish to suggest to others contemplating a trip there that you might want to check out what you're getting before you get there, by which time it'll be too late! Beware the concierge also-she is clearly not there to provide any friendly customer service but primarily to sell trips!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5Roscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.8 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#8 of 14 in Freeport
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,020 reviews
6.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander

Address: The Mall Drive, Freeport F-42549, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Freeport
Royal Islander Hotel Freeport
Royal Islander Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing