We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Islander(Freeport)
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$359
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,869)
Filter reviews
4,869 results
Traveller rating
897
1,633
1,117
638
584
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,633
1,117
638
584
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnadance lessonsstar resortkids clubnachosa la carte restaurantsping pongpaddle boardswater shoesbad reviewseither directionafter reading the reviewsbanana bayplenty of chairs
Filter
Updating list...
2,410 - 2,415 of 4,869 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Viva Windham Freeport

This is more for the management of the hotel: I Know some improvement are slowly being done but as i said slowly, the grounds, the view the beach are great! why you keeping getting horrible reviews? I never saw the manager, they usually in Mexico and Dominican and even in Cuba they go around getting feed back and introducing themselves to guest.
I have the answer,new Management to keep an open eye in all the hotel or fix the problem and start getting great reviews!!!!!

The bad :((


#1- First impression at the reception unfriendly host ,i felt i was disturbing her peace, they only smile to other works and one have to wait ,till the conversation finish . My suggestion They don't like
#2- rooms in the B section, nice room ,new mattress, bed spread is old and needs to go and also the yuck blanket, who saw better days, bed skit not long enough and stained needs replacement, pillows a bit lump but not too bad.
refrigerator does not fit in the closet ,one can not open closet door we had to move the refrigerator out, attention handy men!!!!!
#3- washroom nice decor but sloppy handy work, grout is faulty specially around the nice sink again ,paint smear on the door knobs and even on the marble fascia of sink.
Toilet : get a plumber, every time you flash water keeps running from under reservoir and daily flood occur.
Shower: all nice except for the soap dispenser empty and has no lid.
Towels: very thin yellowish, needs upgrade.
Restaurant: food is boring unappealing, just trow in there. Rice is cold ,chicken dry,it keeps coming back again and again. Fish Talapia everyday bo-rin-g, lunch and dinner ,salad looks dry and old. cold cuts low quality ,one get a better quality in Cuba.....
Breakfast :one day the milk was sour, the watermelon spoiled and mushy.
The wost I witness was a rude and big chef ( did not have a name tag, I believe he was Mexican) arguing with hotel staff very laud ,it was very uncomfortable and and luckily it did not turn ugly.
The Italian restaurant was closed and the Bambu not so good.
Entertainment: most of times very amateur except for the acrobat show ,it was nice. The DJ is too laud and not in sync with the acts.

The good:))

beautiful hotel grounds well taken care by the outdoor staff.
- nice lounge chair all new and comfy.
-plenty of cabanas ,some too low ,watch your head!
- dive shop, the best staff ! especially a Canadian guy, very friendly and amazing guide I saw sharks ,turtles and a variety of fish. He kept always an eye on us and show all the great stuff Bahamas is famous for. Another name I should say is a Belgian guy very cool ,super friendly. I give 10 out of 10 to the dive shop, the equipment is good and of good quality!
-the beach is fantastic ,beautiful colour and a small reef right in front with lot's of fish and asting ray.
- the snorkeling tour was also great .The Canadian guy again was very helpful specially with the ones doing for the first time.
So I hope this constructive criticism help to bring to the standard of the other Viva Windham chain ,who get always good reviews!!!!

Room Tip: section a and b are renovated
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank divermiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We do apologize for the bad first impression that you received upon your arrival. We know that this is supposed to be perfect and truly regret for the bad experience. We are in constant training with all our staff members in each department, by reading your review, this can help us to maintain and improve for the better in the future. Thank you for your candor and your patience with us. We appreciate and wish to retain our valued patrons.

It is good to read that you see that improvements are done. They are actually one step of our general action plan that has been implemented by management to improve the quality of our services based on their observations of the resort, but this is of course a process that takes some time, even though we are glad those efforts do not stay unnotified.

Concerning your room, we are in fact doing improvements to our rooms and we really appreciate your review. We are glad that your overall impression of your room was good but we will forward your observations to the concerned departments. Please be assured that we will take your review in account.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations concerning our food and beverage departments. However each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We truly regret that you did not enjoy to the fullest our animation as this is one of our biggest assets. We are thrilled though that you enjoyed our acrobat show. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition for the hard work they do to put together these shows.

We are happy to read that you loved the beautiful white sanded beach with the lounge chairs, cabanas and the reef in distance of the shore with plenty fishes.

It is a pleasure as well to read how you enjoyed you experiences you made with our dive centre. We are so glad that our staff made you feel comfortable and gave you great memories. It is great to read that you saw so many different fishes in our underwater world here in the Bahamas as well on your dives as during your snorkeling tour. We really want to thank you for your comment about our staff and would like to inform you as well that we have a promotion for all our guests for a free snorkeling for traveling between September 5th and October 31st for stays for 4 nights or more.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality. We will take you review in account and it will sure help us improve our services even more. We would love to welcome you again here on our property for you to experience those improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel during the 25th-29th 0f 2010 with my sister dad and mom. The room was right on the beach which was very nice. While we were there it was a little chilly but nothing the hotel could have helped.
The room was nice and clean during our stay and the breakfast and food was also good we are not picky especially while in another country but it was still good. I do recommend bringing a big gulp cup for your beer as they give tiny cups and it will have you running up a lot for refills.
Every morning they would power rake the beach which left it nice and clean through out the day. It was great walking up and down the beach trying all the different beach bars along the way as well as restaurants. They also had a disco on the property every night which was nice being able to party right on the grounds. Over all i liked this hotel Me and my sister are young adults and enjoyed our self's!!

Room Tip: When booking online state you want a beach front room
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank mondains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you such as your room with the great view to the ocean, the food and drinks and the disco where you enjoy yourselves every night.

We are thrilled that you loved our beautiful beach and that you tried the different bars along the shoreline outside the resort.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for staying here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We are former residents and have returned to Freeport several times during the last 20 years. For our past 5 visits we have stayed at Viva Fortuna. This past visit was a return family trip with two of our sons, who had attended Sunland Lutheran School from 1975 until 1981, and our four grandkids, two age 8 and two age 6.

What a wonderful experience for all. We were graciously greeted by hotel manager Mr. LcChapel and assistant manager Mr. Kendal Burrows. They did everything they could to make our family trip special and provided us with three beautiful ocean view rooms. What a beautiful beach!!

We also would like to commend the staff at Viva Fortuna, the trapeze team, especially Gustavo, the animation team, the bar staff and the beach bar staff. The beach bar staff were so very good with our grandkids. These kids could not believe they could be so independent and walk to the beach bar, order their drinks and food. The beach bar staff took such good care of them.

We would also like to commend the catering staff, the Junkanoo Buffett is vastly improved since our last visit in 2010. Great job.

The gardens are well kept, always someone working to keep Viva Fortuna beautiful.

We were at Viva at the onset of Hurricane Irene and have to applaud how well the staff were prepared for the arrival of Irene.

Again, already thinking of when our next visit to Viva Fortuna will be.

Thank you Mr. LaChapel and all your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parkgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff.

We were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in our restaurants, as well the activities and entertainment. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition of the hard work our animation staff makes for all the shows and activities we set up for our guest.

We are so proud that we could welcome you already five times and we hope to see many times more. It is the recognition we can get. We are glad that you see the improvement we do in our service and are thrilled that our staff made you feel so welcomed and comfortable.

We will be looking forward to your return. If there is anything we can help and assist you with, then please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service desk.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I traveled with friends for a birthday on the Discovery Cruise and Stay. This hotel was all inclusive which made it so convenient. Everything you wanted, you could do right on site. We did the snorkeling, trapeze, theater shows, night club, etc! And, the dining options were great and all included in the price. The rooms were ok, but we did not spend much time at all other than to sleep. The beds were comfortable and our balcony view of the beach was beautiful! Staff members were very nice and helpful as well. The only downsides were that the pool was always packed and never any seats available, but I preferred laying on the beach. and, the line for lunch was very long and it seemed to take forever to get our food. But regardless of the, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dress19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination for your birthday trip.

We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the snorkeling, trapeze, theater shows and night club and the food in all our restaurants.

We regret the inconvenience for the long lines at our restaurant as well as the fact that the pool was always very full but we are glad to read that this didn't change your positive experience with us and that at the end the good memories will be the ones that you will bring back home.

We would love to welcome you again here with us.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have visit this resort 5 times this year with friend and family member. I would like to mention that your staff that does you events at this location are very professional and are very kind to you guess. But there is one of your staff member that is over professional and has a special way to inact with the guess his name is Capi, He is very kind to everyone and make you enjoy your time thier .This individual is one of a kind.. It so funny that once you leave your resort and you meet with other of the guess they alway have someone kind to said about Capi, he is a shinning star at the resort... He is very talented with all the languages he speak...wow, that why everyone enjoy him...."we loved it and we'll be back ! soon*)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank virginia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all especially our shows and activities. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition for the hard they do putting together all the shows and activities for their guests.

We really appreciate your honest and positive appreciation for our animation staff, especially for Capi, we are glad to see that he made your stay special and enjoyable.

We would love to welcome you back here with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service if we can help you with anything for your next visit.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for staying here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews