We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Utterson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay. It was "spring break" during our stay, so there were a lot of young partiers. Surprisingly, they didn't bother us at all. Even though there were parties all night long, we didn't hear a thing. Our room was nice...clean and fairly modern. The Italian restaurant was ok...food was good, but found it lacking in atmosphere. The Junkanoo (buffet) was always good. Our favorite place to dine was the Bamboo (asian) restaurant....beautifully decorated and great food. One disappointment was that at the restaurants you are only able to have red or white wine to drink...no cocktails. The beach is great, but when getting in the water there are alot of rocks. On shore, it's beautiful white sand. Our first day there however, we walked up and down the beach and collected 2 handfuls of broken glass...so don't walk without shoes! This could have been a spring-break thing, but the resort only uses plastic, so...where's the glass coming from? If you are over 30 (or appear to be) and married, you'll will be bombarded upon check in by the RCI vacation employees who will NOT take no for an answer to attend there 90 minute sales pitch on time share. You do get compensated for your time though...we were given 2 t-shirts, a hat, a beach bag, 2 small bottles of rum, and a voucher for a 2 night AI stay for 2 adults and 2 children at any other Viva Wyndham resort. There is car rental available right at the hotel for a decent price. We got the "spring-break" special and paid $50/day for a VW jetta (total cost after tax/insurance was $72). Gas on the island is over $5/gallon, but it doesn't take much gas to cover the entire island...it's only 80miles X 16 miles. Definitely check out the Lucayan National Park...very nice. Golden Rock Beach is GORGEOUS!!!!! Wednesday nights there is a fich fry at Smith's Point on Taino Beach...delicious! The Dive Bar at Unexso is very nice...pricey, but nice! One point of dissapointment was that at the resort, there are only 2 bars to get your drinks, and neither one has bar stools for you to sit at. Also, the cups they use are tiny...so bring your own or you will be paying $5/each from a beach vendor! The staff at the resort were not rude, but not friendly either. Just did their job, no more, no less. Overall, had a great vacation...would go back, and reccomend it for anyone looking for a tropical getaway at low cost. FYI...make your dinner reservations way ahead of time if you can...we waited until check in and had to have dinner at 9:30 each night!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view...absolutely worth the $!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yelyah1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the food in all the restaurant and of course our beautiful beach. In regards of the rocks in the water, we understand the discomfort caused by this fact, we are though part of the Green Globe program, a program that ensures a sustainable development of the environment and therefore prevent all larger changes on the natural environment.
We are glad to see that you discovered our beautiful island and had such a good time discovering our beautiful beaches as well as our local festivities such as the fish fry.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Best regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    1,456
    1,028
    585
    549
See reviews for
1,144
1,686
85
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The best vacation I ever have. Everything was perferct. Great staff, great shows. For 2.5 star hotel everything was excellent. I will come back.

Room Tip: Bimini building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubabella6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all, such as our food and beverage variety as well as the services provided by our staff and our shows performed by our animation staff. It is nice to receive the recognition of their hard work to perform the dances.

We would still like to inform you that our resort is rated as a 3.5 star hotel in an international standard.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Unfortunately our adventure didn’t start off well because my son got sick during the travel. We have to thanks, though, all of the staff members and particularly Alessio which helped us with Kendal by calling the doctor who was able to come directly in our room and have the medical examination. In addition to this, they switched our rooms in order to be closer to the beach so even though we had to spend most of our time check on our son we still had the leisure to go take a swim.This is what I call real costumer care!
The resort is expanding thanks to the great work that the new manager is doing and there are many new and fun activities taking place in the resort.
The food is good and abundant and there are 3 restaurants available in the village. The first one is a buffet that is opened for many hours during breakfast, lunch and dinner. The other 2 are the Viva Café (Italian cuisine) and the Bamboo (oriental cuisine). If you are still hungry during the day and the buffet happens to be closed there is a snack bar on the beach that offers hot dogs, burgers, drinks and plenty of other stuff. If you happen to be hungry late during the night there is a little brick oven pizza place opened late in the evening where the pizza is very good and the cook, Shaq, is a very friendly and fun person.
You are never bored in this resort, if you want to relax you can spend an entire day on the beautiful beach or otherwise there are many involving activities you can participate in, like aqua gym in the swimming pool with Hector or learn how to scuba dive with the great Nazario. There is also archery which is quite amusing to learn with Norbert. There are many other fun activities but that would take me an entire day to write!
The bars are well supplied and the barmen are very good and, honestly, the college students that were there were very friendly and didn’t bother my family at all; they actually involved us with their games and dances.
In conclusion, we had such a great time and we will definitely come back to this beautiful resort!
I would like to say thanks again to all the staff and in particularly to Alessio for the great support he gave us during our splendid vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank erpoeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.

We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff.

We also were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, as in our pizzeria as well the activities and entertainment, and how you've appreciated the great job that our staff and management are daily doing for make sure that you enjoy your vacation at best.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality and we will be looking forward to your return.

If there is anything we can help and assist you with, then please do not hesitate to contact us at the Guest Service desk.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I just got back From a great week at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna. Iur Rppm was just remdoled and it was very nice the housekeeping kept it clean and we had more than enough clean towels each day the only problem with the room was the lack of hot water during high peak times. The food was well above average in the Buffet, the two Resturants were alright. The grounds were well kept and the pool was clean every day. One problem we had was it was Spring Break time and the Resort only had two Bars it could have used 2 more bars. There was no noise problems at night the nightly show were just average. I did win 7 bottles of Rum playing the games at pool side each day. One night we were looking for a diffent place to eat and we walked west down the beach to a local Bar and Resturant called the Clevland Beach club the food was great and very cheap it is a place one should try. In closing the Resort is a good 3 Star resort and one can have a great time there.

Room Tip: Ask for A building first floor room 6101 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ump159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all.

Also we are thrilled to read how you enjoyed our food and beverage variety as well as your room, the pool and the grounds. It is a relief to see that even though you came during our peak season of Spring Break you still had such a good time and that you were not disturbed by them.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was rated 3 stars by CAA travel ..Well folks when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised ,The room was beachfront $88.00 extra ,worth every penny ,the beach was outside our door.The walk to the restaurant takes 2 minutes , The food was to die for ,the restaurant was clean ,no birds in my face ,buffet was laid out & hot ,great service with a smile ..The bar great .
pool clean ,entertainment great ,weather perfect .I'd rate it 5 stars overall.

Room Tip: beach view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girltya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.

We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as your room, the food in all our restaurants, the bar and pool and of course the service provided by all our staff.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Well we knew from reading helpful reviews on TA that this place wasn't anything fancy. We got a great deal thru Cheap Caribbean and just wanted a white sandy beach for a few days. We didn't care much about the resort itself as long as it was clean and fit our basic needs.

Upon arrival, check-in was extremely slow. No one at the front desk even smiled. They weren't friendly or helpful. I tried to see if any rooms were available in the buildings closer to the beach/pool, but we were already slated for building C, which is farthest from the pool. I had requested ajoining rooms when I made the reservation and were told by the front desk that they were ajoining.

Like I said, our rooms were back in building C with a view of some grass and trees, no beach in sight. We could deal with that, but it was a little disappointing. I wish we had spent a little more for one of the oceanfront rooms in one of the renovated buildings. Our rooms were next to each other, but NOT ajoining, which was a little ridiculous. We had two rooms and both could ajoin with other rooms but not the two rooms we had. How can you screw that up? Needless to say, the front desk was not willing to help with the problem. The rooms were fine. Very basic. The bathrooms were pretty cruddy though and the towels were paper thin with some holes and stains in them.

But we didn't come to the Bahamas to stay in our rooms anyways! We showered and dressed for dinner and slept in them and that was it so it wasn't horrible. The beach was wide and beautiful. No lack of chairs on umbrellas. It was great. The water was nice, but a little rocky. We got in the pool once and it was freezing.

The main buffet was great for breakfast. Lots of options including an omlette station. The coffee was so-so, but I'd recommend getting a espresso, latte, or capuccino from the main bar instead. It was so good! Lunch was definitely the weakness. The beach bar food was chicken nuggets, french fries, burgers and hot dogs. Good food, but only two people working it on a tiny grill meant we waited 45 minutes for a burger and some fries. Not worth it. The next day we went to the main buffet for lunch and it was much better. They still had burgers and fries, but without the long wait. I can't believe how small the beach bar grill was for a resort of this size!

We made reservations for the Italian restaurant and the Asian restaurant as soon as we checked in. The Italian was great. I really loved my ravioli in a parmesan cheese, butter, and sage sauce. Yum! The portions were pretty small, but we were each fine with an appetizer or salad and pasta course. If my husband were there, he probably would've needed a salad, pasta course, and then meat course. The Asian restaurant was not as good, but decent. The best part were the spring roll appeizers. The sushi was was too large and awkward to eat. I had the stirfry as my entree and it was just okay. I thought the selection here was a little limited. Service at both restaurants was excellent!

We were so glad we brought bubba kegs with us for the bar. The bartenders were happy to fill them up and it avoided having to make multiple trips to the bar. The glasses they used were tiny! Plus its less wasteful than using plastic cups. There are two bars---the main bar and beach bar. The main bar also has TVs and wifi and was a good place to hang out at any hour. My favorite drink was the Ninja Turtle. Try it!

The late night pizza grill was a nice touch! The pizza was excellent. They were open from 11pm-2am and its just a walk up and grab a slice counter with seating around it.

We never made it to the nightclub or participated in any of the activities so I can't comment on those. We did attend the Michael Jackson show. It started off VERY cheesy, but I was very impressed by the staff members and all of the routines they had to memorize. They were great! These people are SO hard working. I saw the same entertainment staff there bright and early to teach classes and help with day activities and then they perform in the shows in the evening and then after the shows they continue to work at the main bar to help get people dancing. I don't know how they do it! Other than the front desk staff, all of the staff members here were awesome!

I don't think I'd go back to this resort, but it was okay for the money we spent. We had two long, beautiful days on the beach and really enjoyed them. We were there for 3 nights, which was the perfect amount of time. If I were there for longer, I think I would be bored of the food since there is only the main buffet and two restaurants. But for a budget long weekend, this place will work. Just know what to expect.

Room Tip: Buildings A & B are closer to the beach. Avoid C, which has no view of the ocean and is a longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyNU3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We truly regret that you couldn't get one of our Ocean View rooms to enjoy the beautiful view as well as the fact that we were'nt able to give you adjoining rooms. We would like to let you know that when we have availabilities we are more than happy to comply with your requests but unfortunately it is always upon availability. We apologize for any inconveniences caused.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food in all our restaruants, specially in the Viva Cafe and the late night pizza and that you enjoyed the drinks at our bar as well as the activities staff. It is always a pleasure to receive the recognition for the hard work they have putting together the shows and activities.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.
Best regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harbor
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had expectations of a Wyndham that this resort couldn't begin to meet. To top it off we arrived during Spring Break (can't resorts share this information when booking!!??) and had to ask for our room to be changed (along with other guests like ourselves who are "mature") to be away from the noise. After complaining to a security guard on the third night we finally got to sleep undisturbed all night. Although there is a phone and refrigerator in the room, neither was working and even after reporting it the first day, nothing was done. The food was mediocre at best, even at the restaurants and so even though we were "all-inclusive" we opted to eat out of the resort for some meals. The resort is a bit long in the tooth and not well maintained. You are greeted with a "breakage" list for damages which are routine with spring breakers so I expect they cannot keep up with repairs. It is such a shame Wyndham feels that they have to cater to this clientele when with a facelift and better food they could attract and keep more discriminating guests. The beach, fortunately our saving grace, is the most beautiful we have seen and should we return to the Bahamas we would consider renting a cottage on the same beach and already know of several choices.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms at the far east side (Bimini) to be away from the pool and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hortenseNewHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to start with a thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

We fully understand the discomfort you have encountered during the Spring Break concerning the noise. We welcome the students for several years during the month of March, therefore we always inform all our partners about this period, as we know as well that some markets are very sensible to the Spring Breakers. We honestly apologize for the inconveniences caused.

We regret not having an opportunity to meet with you while you were on property, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients are deserving of a worry-free vacation.

Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future.

On behalf of the staff and management here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, we would like to apologize once more for the uncomfortable experience you encountered with us, yet we would like to thank you for your hospitality and honest review.

Best regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing