We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is our first all-incl so we didn't really expect much.The food was decent.However, the staff is wonderful.Pudgy,David,Sanjay,Reginald and Ilara(archery) are so nice and patient.The beaches are clean.So are the rooms.Stay away from the ala carte restaurants.Stick to the buffets.Bring a water bottle or big cups w you for your drinks.I would def come back to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHARON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,079 - 2,085 of 4,633 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband, 2 yr old daughter and I stayed a week at the end of March. We were placed in a shabby room for the 1st night and then the front desk transferred us to a really nice ocean view room for the duration of our stay. Outside of spring breakers it is completely family friendly. The chef, Manuel, went out of his way to accommodate our dietary needs and the dive staff are outstanding. We will definitely consider this resort as a future destination.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbreeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and our staff; We deeply regret that you didn't like the first room assigned but at the same time we are glad to read that you received a nice room at the end and had a great time with us.
We are really honored for your preference and your expressed desire to come back to visit us!. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality.

Best regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked the Wyndham Fortuna Beach knowing that it has a 3 star rating. And we found what we expected, a three star hotel. The room was clean and adequate, nothing fancy but we did not go there to spend time in our room. The property is dated but very well maintained. The staff is outstanding in friendliness and service. The beach was wonderful and the food good. There are good nightly shows and lots of activities. Unfortunately there are no intimate little bars where you can have a quiet drink and enjoy the resort. The big drawback is Spring Break. The college kids were well behaved and fun to be around but the disco kept pounding music out to all corners of the property until at least 2 a.m. every night. And then came the cruise ship daily visitors who overcrowd all the public spaces. I am told spring break is all of March and the middle of February. Those times should be avoided unless you like to dance or stay up with drunks until the wee hours. I think the resort has a lot of potential to be quite good but they need to figure out how to entertain the college kids without keeping the rest of us awake at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the room, our beautiful beach and of course our staff in general.
We understand the discomfort that you encountered in regards of the Spring Breakers. We welcome the students for several years now, therefore we are well aware that some markets are very sensible to this period, therefore we inform all our partners and tour operators about the situation.
On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Best regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family and I went for two days and had a blast. Both the general service, as well as the facilities offered by the hotel manager, we have to think about a new holiday ... The food offered was considered by all who were on a trip (a total of 13 people) as excellent and the best tasting in the entire area of Freeport. We really enjoy it !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hey if you are looking for a vacation spot that allows you to bask in the sun all day and go out to local spots for the nightlife then this is the resort to go to. We had a deal for 8 nights that was so cheap, you can put all the BS behind ya and enjoy what the beach, and the island has to offer. Stayed in section B6000's these seem to be some of the renovated rooms, beds were comfy, sliding doors worked, flat screen tv with remote, rather clean and safe environment. It's not 5 star but then you are not paying that kinda of money either. Buffet for breakfast was always fabulous, now lunch and dinner were run of the mill okay, that could improve. Viva the i restaurant would be your best bet for a dinner. The Madonna show was interesting, did not go to any others, the bar scene was well not interesting at all, so we ventured out to the local spots and were pleasantly pleased. Get out to Ruby Smith for karaoke, and great late night early morning meal, Red Beards was great and Neptunes on Thursday was interesting, by Friday night all tourists. Would return to resort as it was financially a great deal, good opportunities for the kids, white sand beach with fab chairs and umbrellas. Staff was very friendly and courteous. We will be bringing the kids next vacation in fall.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.

We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, specially the Viva Cafe italian, as well the activities and entertainment.

We also are happy about earing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay. It was "spring break" during our stay, so there were a lot of young partiers. Surprisingly, they didn't bother us at all. Even though there were parties all night long, we didn't hear a thing. Our room was nice...clean and fairly modern. The Italian restaurant was ok...food was good, but found it lacking in atmosphere. The Junkanoo (buffet) was always good. Our favorite place to dine was the Bamboo (asian) restaurant....beautifully decorated and great food. One disappointment was that at the restaurants you are only able to have red or white wine to drink...no cocktails. The beach is great, but when getting in the water there are alot of rocks. On shore, it's beautiful white sand. Our first day there however, we walked up and down the beach and collected 2 handfuls of broken glass...so don't walk without shoes! This could have been a spring-break thing, but the resort only uses plastic, so...where's the glass coming from? If you are over 30 (or appear to be) and married, you'll will be bombarded upon check in by the RCI vacation employees who will NOT take no for an answer to attend there 90 minute sales pitch on time share. You do get compensated for your time though...we were given 2 t-shirts, a hat, a beach bag, 2 small bottles of rum, and a voucher for a 2 night AI stay for 2 adults and 2 children at any other Viva Wyndham resort. There is car rental available right at the hotel for a decent price. We got the "spring-break" special and paid $50/day for a VW jetta (total cost after tax/insurance was $72). Gas on the island is over $5/gallon, but it doesn't take much gas to cover the entire island...it's only 80miles X 16 miles. Definitely check out the Lucayan National Park...very nice. Golden Rock Beach is GORGEOUS!!!!! Wednesday nights there is a fich fry at Smith's Point on Taino Beach...delicious! The Dive Bar at Unexso is very nice...pricey, but nice! One point of dissapointment was that at the resort, there are only 2 bars to get your drinks, and neither one has bar stools for you to sit at. Also, the cups they use are tiny...so bring your own or you will be paying $5/each from a beach vendor! The staff at the resort were not rude, but not friendly either. Just did their job, no more, no less. Overall, had a great vacation...would go back, and reccomend it for anyone looking for a tropical getaway at low cost. FYI...make your dinner reservations way ahead of time if you can...we waited until check in and had to have dinner at 9:30 each night!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view...absolutely worth the $!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yelyah1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the food in all the restaurant and of course our beautiful beach. In regards of the rocks in the water, we understand the discomfort caused by this fact, we are though part of the Green Globe program, a program that ensures a sustainable development of the environment and therefore prevent all larger changes on the natural environment.
We are glad to see that you discovered our beautiful island and had such a good time discovering our beautiful beaches as well as our local festivities such as the fish fry.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Best regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The best vacation I ever have. Everything was perferct. Great staff, great shows. For 2.5 star hotel everything was excellent. I will come back.

Room Tip: Bimini building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubabella6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the amenities provided for you all, such as our food and beverage variety as well as the services provided by our staff and our shows performed by our animation staff. It is nice to receive the recognition of their hard work to perform the dances.

We would still like to inform you that our resort is rated as a 3.5 star hotel in an international standard.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our upcoming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards

Guest Services
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,005 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
4.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £112 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing