We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Waste Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked a trip on Expedia for this resort for a week. June 26th to July 13th 2014. As a family we have experienced a great number of all inclusive resort holidays. That being said, I should also state that we are not overly critical or hard to please people. The website is inaccurate and misleading. Despite advertising an airport shuttle there is none. The rooms pictured on the website are definitely not standards rooms. My biggest complaint about this resort is the state of the standard rooms. If you wish to pay for a 3.5 star resort and stay in a 2 star room then this is the resort for you. Our first room had a bathroom so decrepit the shower handle broke off in my daughters hand. Two days and 3 phone calls to the front desk later we were moved to a different room. That move necessitated in taking the bedside lamp, alarm clock, coffeemaker (that i had to request even though it is listed on the website as part of the room), and other items. This room had numerous outlets that did not work, doors that did not close properly, a cracked bathroom vanity, mold behind the toilet. I could go on but I will leave it at really really unsatisfactory.
The grounds are not maintained at all which is unusual for a resort, beach towels were frequently unavailable, and often finding a spoon or a fork at the buffet was an issue.
All that aside there were some positives. The beach is beautiful, the drinks were awesome, the pool fantastic. We found the food to be overall good, the restaurants very good. The majority of the staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful. We made the best of it while we were there. Until this resort undergoes a major renovation it is just not worth the money.
Travellers from AB Canada

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciate your valuable feedback with your comments and concerns related to your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, so that we can more effectively direct our efforts to provide the high quality facilities and services all our visitors deserve.

We are glad that despite the reported inconveniences you enjoyed the beautiful beach, pool, various cuisines and drinks offered.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomforts caused and hope to have the chance to recover your trust.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 4,579 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is not our first time at Viva, we went back because the staff and diving is amazing, the dive staff are second to none! Although the Managers are going, (huge loss for Viva) hopefully the new manager will keep the same great standards. The resort is a solid 3 star! the food is abundant and good (again 3 star resort) The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff are absolutely wonderful. The entertainment crew puts forth a fantastic effort to entertain the guests. I see a problem we have never witnessed at Viva, the "beach bums" are starting to harass the guests, the security guards seem to have clear preference and tolerance for a few. We love this resort !

Room Tip: The bar area get a little loud at night, if you don't like that, insist on a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank IslandTreasureHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay once again at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination and for posting your review.

We are very pleased and happy that we were able to provide you with a great experience especially through our diving facility.

We also would like to thank you for your suggestions; we definitely appreciated them and use it to evaluate improvements for all our future visitors.

Looking forward to seeing you again in our resort!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Power was off and on. WiFi went out. Horrible food and they wouldn't even let me pay for top shelf aka absolut. Horrible experience. Nice view but the beach was trashed. Go to myrtle beach and save yourself the flight. We ate dinner off site. It was great because the hotel food wasn't fit for a dog. The on site drugstore? Joke! Worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Customer

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as a choice of destination during your holidays.

I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay.

We appreciated your valuable feedback and suggestions; Please rests assure that we consider all our guest opinion as tools that help us to increase continuously our visitors' satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews but felt a strong need to defend all the negative reviews on here which almost caused us to cancel our trip. I am so glad we didn't. We stayed at the Viva as a family July 12th-19th 2014 with 2 teenage daughters 18 and 14 and we all had a fantastic trip , we certainly got our money's worth . Here is a brief rundown of our experience .
1. Check in: After a quick 10 minute coach ride from the airport ,we arrived around 1pm and were quickly given our room key. Check in took no more than 10 minutes.
2: Rooms: Our first room was at the back of the resort, very basic , could do with an upgrade, but clean. After problems with the toilet we were upgraded to the green Bimini section with a wonderful ocean view. Wonderful comfy beds , clean linen, large flat screen TV and a breathtaking ocean view.
3. Staff : All friendly and very helpful, guess you get what you give !
4. Food: No tummy issues whatsoever, Main dining room, lots of choice, something for everyone. Lets put it this way I gained 3 lbs in a week, I blame the pizza, try it, it is so good ! We had good food and service at both the Italian and Bamboo restaurants.
5. Drinks: Plenty of choice, Frozen Pina Coladas and Strawberry Daiquiri's always available, the cappuccinos and lattes in the main bar were better than starbucks..
6. Beach : Gorgeous sand and blue warm water , yes there is seaweed, its a beach ! Lots of sunbeds and shade for everyone. Yes there are locals selling their wares but if you tell them you are not interested they do not bother you again .
7. Pool: Nice size, cold and clean , what more do you need fresh towels always available at the towel hut.
8. Entertainment : Lots to do, snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding, trapeze, zumba, poolside games. We were never bored. The entertainment staff work so hard at making sure everyone has a good time. The night time shows are the best I have ever seen at an all inclusive resort and we have travelled to many in the Caribbean.
Thank you so much to everyone at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for making our trip so enjoyable, I can only imagine how great it will be once the renovations are complete.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank AC0rnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments, and to find out that your stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach was enjoyable.

We are happy that you had a good time and appreciated the beautiful beach, general services, various cuisines and our staffs' hospitality.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely hope to have the honor to be again at your service in the near future,

Warmest Regards from the sunny Bahamas!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the $300.00 per night that I spent it had to be the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Staff was rude, they had very few answers to questions. We were there for a birthday. We were told you had to have reservations to eat at one of the two upscale? resturants. When I tried on friday I was told the next available was monday. We were leaving on Sunday. We at every meal at the buffet. You basically had to request everything such as salt, pepper, flatware, condiments. None of the food was kept stocked. Waited 15 minutes for an omlett. Never got it. No one there to cook. Waited 40 minutes for a hamburger at the beach snack bar. Never happened. Ask for a Pina Colada, bloody mary, dirty bananaat the beach bar. Said they didn't have them.
Air conditioner went out at 1am, called and never got a response Reported it the next morning. The only beer they had was local draft. Not good beer, to me, but no other choice. They charge $70.00 a day per person for their all inclusive on top of $150.00 per night for the room.
The worst part to me was this is a really nice location. Could be prime vacation property and ruined it with lack of staff, rude staff and poor management. Every one of the problems could be addressed and fixed for very little money. Just needed someone who knew what they were doing and someone to address the problems brought to their attention. I woundn't go back if it were offered to me free. There were other things that were bad, but I've said enough. In a way I feel bad about this report because the Bahamas has beautiful property and a relaxing attitude, except at the Viva Wyndham.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Customer

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on this site.

We regret that your experience with us was not a positive one and apologize for not meeting your expectations.

All guest feed back are consider very important for us, because it always allow us to revise our standard and the quality of our services daily basis.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

some staff friendly others not at all. the place is in serious need of upgrades and maintenance. the food in buffet was just so so. could not get a reservation in either restaurant, although did not see anyone eating there. did not get clean towels til 6pm the next day, never got the room cleaned, but someone stopped by 3 times wanting to know when we were leaving. beach and water were fantastic. seemed to be plenty of activities. it is far from the marketplace and the international bazaar. would not stay here again for the price. should have been half that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Customer

We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your impression with us regarding your stay through trip advisor.

I deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, and for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your past visit.

Please rest assured that your comments will be taken as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently vacationed at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort and had an interesting time. The room view was spectacular and right on the water's edge, but the actual room itself was dated and bare. It took ten minutes to get the hot water running and the shower head was very low. The dining hall was the worst part of the resort, as we ate medeocre pasta, rice and pizza every night. It would have been nice to have different choices throughout the week. Also, there was no AC in any of the main areas (i.e. dining hall, reception, bar). There were no frozen drink choices and the cups that the drinks came in were comparable to the plastic cafeteria cups you would receive from a Golden Corral. There were a lot of activities provided and the staff was extremely friendly. I would not stay at this resort again, but I went with great people and the Dolphin Encounter made the trip worth it. Port Lucaya was also a great place to visit on the trip. Overall, you get what you pay for. If you are planning on spending the entire trip on the beach and not worried about the amenities or food, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: I would request a second floor room towards the back end with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Customer

Thank you visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort on your recent holidays.

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered and deeply appreciate all advises given so we can continue to improve our future visitor experience.

I also would like to thank you for your kindness in acknowledging our hospitable staff

Hope you reconsider and decide come back to visit us giving us the chance to fully recover your trust in our services.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,309 reviews
27.1 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £123 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing