We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal; great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
d.c.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great deal; great people”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I truly cannot get over the disparity in the reviews for this place. Three gal pals and myself got a great deal through Groupon and decided to go for it. After reading all the reviews - the good, bad and ugly - I corresponded with a few people who had given positive ones. Their feedback was consistent: if you go with an open mind that this is a three-star resort and plan accordingly, then you should have a great time. So, that's what we did.

Check-in - Yes, they're firm about the 3:00 check-in time, and that's been said here over and over. So, if arriving early, park your luggage, go get your free drinks, and sit in one of the many available chairs on the grounds and enjoy your surroundings. You're in the Bahamas!

Resort workers - Didn't meet one we didn't like. But, we smiled, asked how their day was going and tipped! Took plenty of $1s and starting tipping on day one. The Bahamian people are wonderful and appreciate courtesies and kindness, as anyone would. Start right away and you will receive as many towels as you need, good drinks and wonderful smiles. They work hard for their pay. Find Laverne at the grill for omelets and fried eggs. She's been there 23 years and knows what she's doing. And you're not going to rush her. Her motto: "Love takes time."
(She's also in charge of the bacon stash, an even more crucial reason to make friends…)

The grounds - There had been a hurricane there the week before we arrived, but aside from a shore line with seaweed on it, everything else looked fine. No, it doesn't have manicured grass. Think of it as being in its "natural state," and just look at all the gorgeous flowers and trees. The beach is beautiful, regardless of the seaweed. As said many times, there are plenty of lounge chairs for everyone and ample places with shade. It never felt crowded. We didn't take water shoes, and didn't need them. There were some places in the water where you might hit a little coral rock sticking up, but it wasn't all over and certainly not a problem. You will find your favorite "spot" on the beach where it might be quieter (to the left facing the ocean - green chairs) or more where the action is (to the right - blue chairs). There is a lifeguard on the beach and there was a security guard walking up and down the beach from 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. every day, so the management did take concerns about "drug dealers" seriously, it would seem, as we never saw any. And the guy going up and down the beach with an orange shirt and yellow shorts acting friendly with everyone is selling conch shells, not drugs. His mother sells beads on the same beach and they are apparently allowed there, but not at all intrusive. Many women happily had their hair braided by the women walking by and even my friends bought some of the beads being offered. A "no, thank you" will send them on their way.

Rooms - Part of our deal was a Vista room, and it was fine. A/C worked very well and had a consistent hum to it - like white noise - which blocked out any possible outside or second floor noise. Had it set it to a desirable temperature with one of the worker's help. Two of us overlooked the ocean in a first-floor room and two were in a second-floor room also overlooking the ocean and grounds. The beds were very comfortable, and I didn't see one bug - dead or alive - in either of the rooms. We were in the green buildings, Bimini, I guess, and that could be the difference in the room reviews, as some of the yellow/orange buildings faced the trapeze area or each other. (And, yes, there is a working trapeze!) And I'm guessing that those buildings haven't been refurbished yet. Our rooms had two queen beds, a flat screen TV and a pedestal sink in the bathroom with plenty of room on the counter for "stuff." The shower was huge (looks like they took out a tub and glass-enclosed part of the shower for a modern look - very nice). We had plenty of toilet paper, soap, (and shampoo, but I would suggest taking your own). As I said before, make friends with your maid as soon as you arrive and you will have everything you need - even washcloths (but take them just in case…).

Drinks - No one had any complaints and, again, a $1 tip will go a long way in achieving your desired "strength."

Food - First of all the buffet facility was open-air, as is everything except your room - the only place that has A/C. If you go in the summer months, yes, it's going to get warm in there. Sit by a window or under a fan. It's not stifling. There is full and plenty for everyone at the buffet, but as suggested on other posts, get there as early as possible for a good selection. Each night there was a different roasted meat. The first night was a full turkey, another night was racks of spare ribs (excellent!) and another night was a sirloin roast of some kind. Plus, they had all kinds of pastas and salads, watermelon and fresh pineapple every night we were there (very popular!) and a specialty dish each night - one night it was shrimp. We didn't try the restaurants, and really didn't feel the need to.

Pool - Beautiful big pool. You can get beach towels there (you will get a card when you arrive and hand that in for the towel) Lots of activity at the pool - Zumba, yoga, bingo, etc. There's also a large hot tub nearby.

VIP up-grade - We weren't asked if we wanted to do this, and I would only do it if it mean't going from a standard room to a Vista room. The VIP seating wouldn't be worth it, as in the dining area it was an elevated area, which just looked like a hotter place to sit, and on the beach it was a roped-off area in the middle of the beach, which looked a little bit isolating more than anything. Nothing special about it.

Cabs - We had "Chubbie," a great guy who went out of his way to return a package that was left in the cab. A cab drive into Port Lucaya was $20 for 4 of us.

Port Lucaya - A nice little get-away if the weather isn't great, but it's mainly many small "stalls" on streets with people selling their mostly home-made items. There's also a casino in the Memories Hotel across the street. The Bahamian baskets are especially nice, as is some of the hand-made jewelry. Zorba's was a great place for lunch with a nicely varied menu.

Excursions - We didn't do any - our one attempt was cancelled due to weather, but there are plenty to choose from, including an evening fish fry.

Dress - For the most part, very casual. People did seem to "clean up" for dinner, however, and some (women) would wear beachy dresses or pants/capris.

There is a drug store/sundry shop on the premises that sells water, snacks, souvenirs, etc. as well as another store selling some clothes and more souvenirs.

So, to sum this lengthy review up - expect three-star, not five, a Bahamian experience with wonderful, warm people if you treat them as such, and a relaxing respite from life's daily grind on a very nice property. (And don't sweat the small stuff…)

Room Tip: Vista view rooms in green (Bimini) buildings. Second floor may be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sheaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for publishing your positive review on Trip Advisor; your comments are really helpful for us and also for our upcoming guest to read.

I also would like to thank you for your kindness acknowledging our general service and staff. Your comments give us the satisfaction to discover that we were able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed a pleasant stay.

We will be honor to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, having the chance to be once again at your service!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    1,468
    1,038
    590
    550
See reviews for
1,159
1,705
87
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked a trip on Expedia for this resort for a week. June 26th to July 13th 2014. As a family we have experienced a great number of all inclusive resort holidays. That being said, I should also state that we are not overly critical or hard to please people. The website is inaccurate and misleading. Despite advertising an airport shuttle there is none. The rooms pictured on the website are definitely not standards rooms. My biggest complaint about this resort is the state of the standard rooms. If you wish to pay for a 3.5 star resort and stay in a 2 star room then this is the resort for you. Our first room had a bathroom so decrepit the shower handle broke off in my daughters hand. Two days and 3 phone calls to the front desk later we were moved to a different room. That move necessitated in taking the bedside lamp, alarm clock, coffeemaker (that i had to request even though it is listed on the website as part of the room), and other items. This room had numerous outlets that did not work, doors that did not close properly, a cracked bathroom vanity, mold behind the toilet. I could go on but I will leave it at really really unsatisfactory.
The grounds are not maintained at all which is unusual for a resort, beach towels were frequently unavailable, and often finding a spoon or a fork at the buffet was an issue.
All that aside there were some positives. The beach is beautiful, the drinks were awesome, the pool fantastic. We found the food to be overall good, the restaurants very good. The majority of the staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful. We made the best of it while we were there. Until this resort undergoes a major renovation it is just not worth the money.
Travellers from AB Canada

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Customer

We appreciate your valuable feedback with your comments and concerns related to your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, so that we can more effectively direct our efforts to provide the high quality facilities and services all our visitors deserve.

We are glad that despite the reported inconveniences you enjoyed the beautiful beach, pool, various cuisines and drinks offered.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomforts caused and hope to have the chance to recover your trust.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is not our first time at Viva, we went back because the staff and diving is amazing, the dive staff are second to none! Although the Managers are going, (huge loss for Viva) hopefully the new manager will keep the same great standards. The resort is a solid 3 star! the food is abundant and good (again 3 star resort) The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff are absolutely wonderful. The entertainment crew puts forth a fantastic effort to entertain the guests. I see a problem we have never witnessed at Viva, the "beach bums" are starting to harass the guests, the security guards seem to have clear preference and tolerance for a few. We love this resort !

Room Tip: The bar area get a little loud at night, if you don't like that, insist on a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandTreasureHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay once again at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination and for posting your review.

We are very pleased and happy that we were able to provide you with a great experience especially through our diving facility.

We also would like to thank you for your suggestions; we definitely appreciated them and use it to evaluate improvements for all our future visitors.

Looking forward to seeing you again in our resort!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Power was off and on. WiFi went out. Horrible food and they wouldn't even let me pay for top shelf aka absolut. Horrible experience. Nice view but the beach was trashed. Go to myrtle beach and save yourself the flight. We ate dinner off site. It was great because the hotel food wasn't fit for a dog. The on site drugstore? Joke! Worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as a choice of destination during your holidays.

I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay.

We appreciated your valuable feedback and suggestions; Please rests assure that we consider all our guest opinion as tools that help us to increase continuously our visitors' satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews but felt a strong need to defend all the negative reviews on here which almost caused us to cancel our trip. I am so glad we didn't. We stayed at the Viva as a family July 12th-19th 2014 with 2 teenage daughters 18 and 14 and we all had a fantastic trip , we certainly got our money's worth . Here is a brief rundown of our experience .
1. Check in: After a quick 10 minute coach ride from the airport ,we arrived around 1pm and were quickly given our room key. Check in took no more than 10 minutes.
2: Rooms: Our first room was at the back of the resort, very basic , could do with an upgrade, but clean. After problems with the toilet we were upgraded to the green Bimini section with a wonderful ocean view. Wonderful comfy beds , clean linen, large flat screen TV and a breathtaking ocean view.
3. Staff : All friendly and very helpful, guess you get what you give !
4. Food: No tummy issues whatsoever, Main dining room, lots of choice, something for everyone. Lets put it this way I gained 3 lbs in a week, I blame the pizza, try it, it is so good ! We had good food and service at both the Italian and Bamboo restaurants.
5. Drinks: Plenty of choice, Frozen Pina Coladas and Strawberry Daiquiri's always available, the cappuccinos and lattes in the main bar were better than starbucks..
6. Beach : Gorgeous sand and blue warm water , yes there is seaweed, its a beach ! Lots of sunbeds and shade for everyone. Yes there are locals selling their wares but if you tell them you are not interested they do not bother you again .
7. Pool: Nice size, cold and clean , what more do you need fresh towels always available at the towel hut.
8. Entertainment : Lots to do, snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding, trapeze, zumba, poolside games. We were never bored. The entertainment staff work so hard at making sure everyone has a good time. The night time shows are the best I have ever seen at an all inclusive resort and we have travelled to many in the Caribbean.
Thank you so much to everyone at the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach for making our trip so enjoyable, I can only imagine how great it will be once the renovations are complete.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AC0rnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments, and to find out that your stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach was enjoyable.

We are happy that you had a good time and appreciated the beautiful beach, general services, various cuisines and our staffs' hospitality.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely hope to have the honor to be again at your service in the near future,

Warmest Regards from the sunny Bahamas!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the $300.00 per night that I spent it had to be the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Staff was rude, they had very few answers to questions. We were there for a birthday. We were told you had to have reservations to eat at one of the two upscale? resturants. When I tried on friday I was told the next available was monday. We were leaving on Sunday. We at every meal at the buffet. You basically had to request everything such as salt, pepper, flatware, condiments. None of the food was kept stocked. Waited 15 minutes for an omlett. Never got it. No one there to cook. Waited 40 minutes for a hamburger at the beach snack bar. Never happened. Ask for a Pina Colada, bloody mary, dirty bananaat the beach bar. Said they didn't have them.
Air conditioner went out at 1am, called and never got a response Reported it the next morning. The only beer they had was local draft. Not good beer, to me, but no other choice. They charge $70.00 a day per person for their all inclusive on top of $150.00 per night for the room.
The worst part to me was this is a really nice location. Could be prime vacation property and ruined it with lack of staff, rude staff and poor management. Every one of the problems could be addressed and fixed for very little money. Just needed someone who knew what they were doing and someone to address the problems brought to their attention. I woundn't go back if it were offered to me free. There were other things that were bad, but I've said enough. In a way I feel bad about this report because the Bahamas has beautiful property and a relaxing attitude, except at the Viva Wyndham.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Customer

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on this site.

We regret that your experience with us was not a positive one and apologize for not meeting your expectations.

All guest feed back are consider very important for us, because it always allow us to revise our standard and the quality of our services daily basis.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

some staff friendly others not at all. the place is in serious need of upgrades and maintenance. the food in buffet was just so so. could not get a reservation in either restaurant, although did not see anyone eating there. did not get clean towels til 6pm the next day, never got the room cleaned, but someone stopped by 3 times wanting to know when we were leaving. beach and water were fantastic. seemed to be plenty of activities. it is far from the marketplace and the international bazaar. would not stay here again for the price. should have been half that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Customer

We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your impression with us regarding your stay through trip advisor.

I deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, and for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your past visit.

Please rest assured that your comments will be taken as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing