We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When we arrived at 12 noon, we were told check in was at 3pm and we needed to leave our bags in the lobby till that time (the baggage area was full). We had 3 boring, hot hours to roam around the resort (there is no air conditioning anywhere except the rooms). We finally checked in and headed to our room. There are no elevators, so be sure you ask for a room on the first floor if you cannot climb stairs. Our room was decent. There was rust on the floor and the toilet didn't flush very well. There were no lights in the bedside lamps, but other than that, the room wasn't terrible. The beach is beautiful. The water is clear. The pool area is close to the restrooms so in certain spots it smelled like pee and poop. The towel girls were polite. The food was less than good. The dining hall is not air conditioned, so you will be enjoying your meals in 90 degree sticky heat. The breakfast items were good. Lunch and dinner were okay, but we stuck to French fries and bread for the most part. Late night pizza was good, except for the feral cats roaming around. The staff was generally less than friendly. They did what we asked them to do and answered our questions, but no one went out of their way to be friendly to us, except the blonde lady at guest services (very nice). The cleaning staff always had something nice to say as well. Everyone else acted like we were an annoyance. Lots of families so don't expect a relaxing adult vacation. Check out was 11am, so we waited another 2 hours in the heat for our flight. There is no early/late check in, by the way. Not even 15 minutes- we asked! The resort was run down- needed to be painted, cracks in the floors needed repairing, a good cleaning was in order. Apparently, the report will be undergoing a face life/renovation this year, so here's hoping it gets better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeredithHill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your valuable feedback with your comments and concerns related to your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach so that we can more effectively direct our efforts to provide the high quality facilities and services all our visitors deserve.

We are glad that despite the reported inconveniences you enjoyed the beautiful beach here in Bahamas.

Rest assure that all the remarks are considered very important and will be revised in detail with all our staff and department involved.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    1,468
    1,038
    590
    550
See reviews for
1,159
1,705
87
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The property looks very old and needs serious upgrades. Rooms are just ok.
We enjoyed the vacation though : the staff is extremely friendly and the atmosphere is overall positive.
the buffet restaurant is dirty and food is just ok. When full the food runs out quickly and you might not see everything coming out again.
The italian restaurant is very good, the asian is nice looking but awful food.
for those who dare, the trapeze is a nice experience.
the beach is ok but far from the ones you can find in other places in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for publishing your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation, as your comments will assist us in our continuous commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

I am glad that you enjoyed some aspect of the facilities and service but at the same time truly regret that the rest of your experience was negative.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is very helpful Riccardo helped us with our luggage and was happy to do so. The 1st room was run down and had ants in it the front desk ladies were nice enough to give us a nicer room with a view at no extra charge , when it came to the islands excursions jamaal in guest services knew everything and who to contact to get somewhere with out getting ripped off he suggested Mr Larry. Mr Larry has all the toys you need to have fun on the island...jet ski's wave runner's scooters and jeeps at a good price. The resort itself needs some TLC.. The food at the buffet is avg. But if you can book something at the restaurant on site the Italian one is best. When it came to the all inclusive drinks farantino made them the best...make sure you tip them...good people....One thing I did not like is that there were certain times you had check in and check out your resort room ..no earlier check it's so alot of waiting around if you have nothing planned. The water is nice ,warm and clear.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Customer

First and foremost we would like to thank you for allowing us to share in such a momentous occasion in the form of your honeymoon.

I am glad that you enjoyed and was shown our hospitable staff services. It is always a pleasure to receive our guest recognition and kind appreciation.

We also appreciate your recommendations, so we can always improve our services and facilities.

I hope you will give us the honor of being at your service once again in this little piece of paradise.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The island is beautiful and location is excellent however...Rooms were never cleaned. Beach chairs are all broken. Food is terrible. Staff is not accommodating at all. Beautiful island but stay at another hotel. You get what You pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradiseanitcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for publishing your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation, as your comments will assist us in our continuous commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, but truly regret that the rest of your experience was negative.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful resort, good food, lovely staff, beautiful beach, and nice rooms, however, our bathroom was in much need of paint and there was mold, staff worked quickly to relocate us.The beach chairs are in need of replacing and bugs were a bit much.

It has the potential to be a really nice resort, before we left we were told they were closing for renovations, I hope so, if not I don't its future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach and for posting your review!

We are very pleased and happy that you enjoyed the resort and the various facilities we offer.

We also would like to thank you for your suggestions; we definitely appreciated them and will use it to evaluate improvements for all our future visitors.

Looking forward to seeing you again in our resort!

Kind regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Good food available; however, no AC & flies were a negative experience. Sand bar with continuous beverages for free was a fantastic addition. Room were good, but need some renovation of bathrooms. Distance to rooms are difficult for disabled. Beach great, but lounges need replacing. No attractions nearby, must pay for taxi to go anywhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thanks taking the time to share your thoughts on this site.

We are happy to know that despite the inconveniences experience that you enjoyed the beach and various cuisines offered here at the resort.

We also would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions, we definitely going to use as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to be once again at your service.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can overlook the recently repaired drywall in the bathroom without the proper clean up after (had the same at Trump Doral) - a quick wipedown solved the problem. You can overlook the tiredness of the resort buildings when you see the beautiful sandy private beach and the wonderful pool. I can overlook some of the not so great food because it is easily replaced with something you like because there is lots of choice (just get there early)...and there are a few items that i've never had better (viva cafe - pizza place 10pm - 2am). I can even overlook the 'we'll get to that eventually" attitude from some of the staff because, well, it is the Bahama's and they eventually do. I also overlooked a lot because of the price - you get what you pay for and it was very reasonable. The one thing they excel at here is their entertainment/activities staff.
Everyday these dedicated energetic people keep the guests entertained. Mama Imma by the pool with all her activities - the Fella's in charge of the water activities - Sean and Ricardo for snorkeling and scuba diving - and the two lads from Canada on the Trapeze lessons Dylan & Marc. They work all day then at 9:30 every night they all put on a show - Dancing, music theatre...you name it. Its unbelievable And on Thursday, the two Trapeze guys put on a show that Cirque do Soleil would be jealous of. It was amazing....I would go just for this. This is not a high end resort, but the location and the people especially make it worth more than you'll pay.

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise of the 'night life' you should request a room on far west si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach on you past holidays.

I also would like to thank you for your kindness in acknowledging our general services and our hospitable staff especially the entertainment staff.

Your comments and suggestions shared about your experience here are very much appreciated; because it helps us to determine the areas where improvement needs to be revised, always with the aim to continuously increase our visitors’ satisfaction.

On behalf of all our staff we will be honored to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, having the chance to be once again at your service!

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing