We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was not even a "3" star experience as advertised. It was dirty and crowded. The staff was terrible. The service horrible. Food average at best. The beach was beautiful, but littered with dirty dishes and glasses. The birds were eating out of the overflowing garbage cans. No beach towels or towels in the rooms. We sat through the "vacation time share" lecture and were given a 3 day trip voucher but we would NEVER visit another Viva Wyndam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer

Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beach, but truly regret that the rest of your experience was negative.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation as your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

Once again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    1,506
    1,053
    603
    555
See reviews for
1,203
1,745
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package deal that was "won". Upgraded to this all inclusive location. It was very far from Freeport so you need to find your own transportation unless you book it in advance. The rooms are less than mediocre (found a giant dead cockroach on the floor) and the food is less than desirable. I've been in the food and beverage industry for 15 years and I can tell you that the bar was NOT clean. The staff was extremely friendly though and will take great care of you. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to ensure you were having a good time. They have different activities each night which are OK. Late night the bar area turns into a dance club or disco and all the staff hang out there with you and make sure you are having fun. They will talk with you and are very personable which I think is great customer service. We people watched the whole time since I'm not much of a dancer but we really did enjoy our time overall. The beach is clean and BEAUTIFUL! We walked a few miles down the beach and felt very safe during our entire stay. We were approached further away from the resort on the beach by locals who were looking to sell us drugs, but the Staff does a good job keeping them away from their beach, only reason we were approached was because we were a ways away from the resort. Wouldn't stay here again mainly because of the quality of food, hotel room quality and limited activities. We did pay for a snorkeling trip which was awesome and worth the money. The staff that takes you are all seasoned divers and make sure you are safe and have a good time. Worth staying here if you can get a cheap deal, other than that I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beerlover1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer

First and foremost thank you for once again choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your choice of destination.

We are happy that overall you had a great time and shared your positive experiences for future visitors to read.

We also appreciate your recommendations, so we can always improve our services and facilities.

On behalf of all of us here at Viva we hope to have the honor to be again at your service in the near future.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Yes, I looked at reviews prior to booking my vacation, but it seemed that the bad reviews were slightly overly dramatic. ..However, I'm currently learning how accurate the bad reviews are. The rooms and linens are about as nice as one could expect from a Motel 6.

The all-inclusive nature of the food is a complete joke. The main buffet restaurant is not air conditioned and is hot, humid, and nearly unbearable. The food is completely revolting. The only item that is consistently edible is the pizza. While the two "nicer" restaurants have slightly more air circulating than the main restaurant, it isn't enough to keep the wait staff from sweating all over the place. Do I want a garnish of sweat with my disgusting food? Of course, it couldn't make it any worse. The "Japanese" restaurant was an abomination, followed closely by the "italian" restaurant. The only thing that makes the Italian restaurant sorta decent is that it has four different types of pizza on the menu. Just don't make your dinner reservation too early or they will tell you that you can't order the pizza because the oven isn't ready.

The main "bar" is seriously lacking in basic cleanliness. All the counters are sticky, and depending on the direction of the wind you can smell the stagnant beer stench prior to entering the bar. All of this could be fixed by mopping down the floor behind the bar and thoroughly cleaning everything behind the bar...but, considering the smell, that is obviously not being done.

The pictures online are pretty...but one should consider that pretty much everything here is stagnant and run down. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kelkeltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest

I deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, and for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your past visit.

We appreciated your valuable feedback and suggestions; Please rest assure that we consider all of our guest opinion as tools which helps us to continuously increase our visitors' satisfaction.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomforts caused and hope to have the chance to recover your trust.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Quincy, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Went here on a girls trip for 5 nights and had a great time! The rooms were clean- which I appreciate. Food was nothing special, however. The food was buffet style and nothing special. Loved how it was right on the beach- the sand was white and the water was clear, which is all I care about! For the price, you can't beat it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjbranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments, and to find out that your stay at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach was enjoyable.

We are happy that you had a great time, and appreciated the white sandy and crystal clear water beach.

Your comments and suggestions are very much appreciated, because it helps us with our continuous effort in seeking ways to improve our visitor’s experiences.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely hope to have the honor to be again at your service in the near future.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This resort is a dump!!! We left just after two hours of checking in. This resort is dirty, crowded, unfriendly, away from the beach, terrible food & service. The rooms were dirty, old furniture. Don't stay at this resort!!! We'd a horrible experience there.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Shar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations, yet we would like you to understand how grateful we are to read your review. Although we cannot change what has happened in the past, we will utilize your comments for improvement in the future; our aim is naturally to please everyone; however, each guest is unique and has different expectations, not to mention experiences.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality, and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

By no means would I ever recommend this "resort". I recently returned from a stay here and it was hands down my worst travel experience ever. The only thing that made it bearable was the group I traveled with. Based on the price, I had low expectations and they sure did deliver. The rooms and food were mediocre, at best and the staff displayed horrible customer service from check in through check out.

A few examples:

While checking in, I had to wait for the desk clerk to finish her song and dance routine before helping me. Umm...okay.

In the gift shop, I waited for the cashier to read and reply to several text messages before deciding she felt like ringing me up. Silly me...I thought you worked here.

It took a day and half and four phone calls to get an ironing board for our room. No rush...

Wait staff in one of the restaurants was apparently too busy to provide napkins and flatware. Sorry to bother you.

On the bright side, they have a nice beach. That's about the best thing I can say.


Oh and good luck getting the wifi to work. You have to sit in the lobby on a Tuesday with a lucky penny in your loafer and a four leaf clover in your pocket.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer

We would like to express our appreciation to you for bringing to our attention your comments and concerns regarding your past experience in our resort; your opinion is extremely important to us, and will be use always as a tool to identify areas for improvement in our general service.

We are happy learn that you found our beach to be nice, but deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience and we really are sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Hoping that you reconsider your thoughts and give us the chance to regain your trust.

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. The food for the all-inclusive was less then favorable. Rooms were old, but the beds were comfy. I probably won't return to this property, as I was not impressed by the offerings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWFortuna, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your impression with us through trip advisor.

Our continuous commitment is to provide quality service to all our guests, therefore I deeply regret and apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations.

Please rest assure that your remarks has been taken seriously into consideration and revision as a tool for the improvement of our products and services offered.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Freeport,

Best regards,

Massimo Carugati
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
3.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
5.3 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,294 reviews
27.1 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Address: Churchill Dr and Doubloon Road, Freeport 42398, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Hotel Freeport
Wyndham Freeport
Viva Fortuna
Freeport Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort
Club Viva Fortuna
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing