We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,880)
Filter reviews
4,880 results
Traveller rating
898
1,639
1,119
640
584
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
1,639
1,119
640
584
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnanachoskids clubstar resortdance lessonsa la carte restaurantsping pongpaddle boardswater shoesbad reviewsbeach volleyballeither directionbanana bayafter reading the reviews
Filter
Updating list...
2,831 - 2,836 of 4,880 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay, our second visit to the property. The resort is dated and the rooms need to be remodeled, but for the price, it is a great place! The beach is, by far, one of the nicest beaches you could ask for! The staff was attentive for the most part. They work hard and tipping a dollar or two when you get drinks or having your room cleaned is greatly appreciated and will almost guarentee better service.

I don't know how people can complain about the drinks. No, they do not serve top-shelf brands, but they certainly weren't watered down. Also, some complained of weak drinks, all you have to do is tell the bartender how much liquor you want in your cup- not a big deal!

Food was OK, they have a wide variety at every meal and it wasn't difficult to find something we liked, although we were getting sick of it towards the end of the trip. The pizza by the disco is AMAZING!! Only complaint is that it opens so late...

Bugs/birds...People, you are on an island- what do you expect the resort to do- its nature! I can say that I never saw any bugs in the room, only flies and birds in the main dining area and, of course, outside.

Towels...We never had a problem, we just asked housekeeping for more. I brought 4 of our own after the reviews I read but we didn't need them.

The Sand Bar that is about a 10 minute walk from the resort is lots of fun and you can get a variety of brands of cold beer, top shelf drinks, and good food. Port Lucaya is worth going to for nothing more than walking around the resort and the marina and stopping in for a drink or a bite at one of the oceanside restaraunts but the shopping is terrible. We only did this one day as it is $30 for a roundtrip cab alone.

In closing, if you are expecting gourmet food and a 5 star quality resort, this place is not for you. If you are looking to relax in a beautiful place at a good price and don't sweat the small stuff, you will be happy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon09c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Service at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting us at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

We are thrilled to read how much fun you had whilst staying here, especially to see that you enjoyed our amenities provided for you, such as the food, drinks, entertainment and how could we not mention our pizza place.

On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you once more for your honest review, for all our up coming guests to read and for your pleasant hospitality.

We will be looking forward to your return.

Kindest Regards,

Rocio Iturralde
Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We loved this place. All the free activities and the super friendly staff made our vacation one of the best. We played volleyball, ping pong, tennis and the free sail boat was the best for me. I can't wait to go back............

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleitonnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Service at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your girls’ vacation destination.
It is always a pleasure to read how our guests enjoyed their vacation experience with us at our resort and the activities provided for you all.
On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you once more for your honest review and for staying here at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach.
We hope to see you re-visit us again.

Kindest Regards,

Rocio Iturralde
Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Was a bit dubious about my trip having travelled to St Lucia last year, but was pleasently surprised at the surrounding town. Unlike some carribean resorts you could happily visit nearby towns without feeling at risk and this makes a big difference if you don't want to sit on a beach all day or want to eat out.

As for the hotel....
Beach - excellent.
Food - mediocre.
Service - ok
Entertainment - ok
Rooms - average.

This sounds a bit harsh but I am comparing the hotel to non-all inclusive resorts, has all inclusive resorts go this was quite good but if you are used to staying at a sheraton on half board you will be disappointed. Definately worth a try especially if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hustlelancaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Service at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach Resort for your vacation destination.

We are pleased to read how you enjoyed our beautiful beach as well the local towns and all the amenities and activities provided for you.

We apologize for not meeting up to your standards and expectations. However, concerning our food and beverage departments, we receive positives comments about our meals and beverages; yet each guest is unique and has different expectations. Our cuisine offers a great variety of options every day in meats, pasta, fish, salads, desserts and appetizers. Although we truly regret you could not find something of your preference.

On behalf of the staff and management here, we would like to thank you once again, for not only your generous hospitality, but for your positive review also, for all our up coming guests to read. It is always appreciated.

Kind regards,

Rocio Iturralde
Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The service was great including the the front dest staff
The room was large clean and it was kept that way by the staff
We started our vacation by loosing our luggage for three days. The staff did their best to help us with enquiries to the different airlines among other other problems. What could have been a vacation disaster for my wife and me turned out to be a great time thanks to Club Fortuna and their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjt39378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We chose to taxi to the resort $26 each way( 2 adults, 2 kids). The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport. When we got there they were very friendly and courteous. Went to our room and there were no pool towels in the room. The towels were brought to the room immediately because they hadnt restocked the room yet. We went to the pool, very nice size pool. Our kids used the hot tub a lot but the jets werent working the last couple days. The liquor isnt top shelf but we are beer drinkers, and they offer Kalik~Bahimian beer. Bring your own cups or containers because they will fill them!!!! The buffet was pretty good variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. My daughter is pretty picky and was always able to find something to good to eat. The snack shack on the beach is very convienient between lunch and dinner for the kids. The evening show were very entertaining. We took advantage of the snorkling, and the kids used the trapeze. What i liked least was the distance you had to walk to the bathroom. I do think they need more bathrooms available on the resort. Another disavantage is paying for a taxi back to town $25 each way!! Not cheap and there is no way around it!! Once you are there there is nothin near the hotel. When we went for the dolphin encounter we had to pay the taxi but when we did the snorkel adventure that was included and they picked us up at the hotel.
Our family had a great time at the wyndham and we took advantage of its amenities at the resort . The staff, food, and ammenties were all worth the trip!!! If you are looking for a 5 star , then go to a 5 star!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews