We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The view from the hotel was amazing and just a short walk to the beach. You get to share all of the ammenties with the Taino resort so the pool is extremely nice. Flamingo Bay itself needs remodeled the rooms are falling apart. While the pool and beach were nice the customer service was TERRIBLE! It is as if they just make up rules as they go everyday there is a new policy or something costs more everytime you ask. Not to mention when we got there they forgot to give our group our meal tickets then accused us of being dishonest for two hours and telling us we wouldnt be able to eat for the next week because we had the tickets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnbump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Sorry to hear that you had such a strange experience! We had some large Spring Break groups check in, and perhaps you were in one of those. There were some challenges upon a large group arrival, and it sounds as if this is what you dealt with!

We are pleased to say that usually – it’s not like what you experienced! We hope to see you next time you decide to come to Grand Bahama, and show you a fantastic time at our Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

Okay so my boyfriend wanted to take me to the Bahamas for my spring break so we found a good deal and we picked this place because of the pool. I'm 23 and my bf is 35 were from south florida and are pretty easy going. Having said that the pool and beach are amazing ! Everything by the time shares is great! But the flamingo bay side... Not so much. It's older and the room aren't very nice . But whatever we were just looking for a quick cheap get away. The service however is very very slow ! Our tv didn't have a remote so I called the front desk and asked for one and like 30 min went by so I went downstairs to just go get it, she said I had to wait for the guy to come to my room . After a while we finally got a remote. Then we came back to te hotel after a day swimming w the dolphins and I got in the room and took a shower then realizing ... The cleaning lady never left us any towels !!! So I had my bf call the front desk while I'm standing in the bathroom w no towel soaking wet waiting .... Waiting ... Waiting. So I finally get so annoyed I put some clothes on an go down stairs and ask te front desk for some towels while there are people that work at Taino beach all in the lobby just standing around. It was so frustrating. And the lady behind the front desk is selling people fairy tickets and checking people in while I am waiting soaking wet . I ended up drying off a not even needing a towel . That being said I will never return to stay at this hotel. The time shares side was amazing but I think the owners of flamingo bay need to spend some money to upgrade the hotel. Ill post some pictures so you can get an idea .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We agree that the pool is amazing! Sorry that you had such a negative experience! We have hosted so very many people, and while we have some gaps in service, we are tightening the details to eliminate things as you described.

Its our intention to host your visits in a fantastic manner, that will make you wish to come back. If you ever do come back to Grand Bahama – and we hope you do – please give us a try and we will make every effort to ensure it’s a wonderful future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Rooms are DIRTY! Dirt and make up hand prints/ finger prints all over inside of bathroom door. Dirt and dust bunnies in all corners. Tub peeling. An old chicken bone in the silverware drawer. Old left over shampoo in shower. Balcony doors are just for looks, they do not open. Phones ring ALL day and ALL night long in the rooms. Constantly waking you up, no one is ever on the other line. Gift shop down stairs is hit and miss. A person is never back when the sign says they will be back. Very inconvenient considering its the only place to get a soda or a snack. They only give you one key to the door. Ice machine didn't work. Walls are PAPER THIN! You can hear an I phone being plugged in and if your neighbors get up to shower or talk, you are getting up too because its so loud! Staff was friendly which is all they had going for them as well as a convenient location and very nice pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweet_tart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

you can tell that 90 percent of americans have never been outside of. the USA, because they. do not. have any idea how great it is there in the Bahamas.why not learn the WORLD america. i am a amercan that lives in germany.i have travelled the world,from mexico to vietnam ,hawaii to italy,tunisia to kenya .so believe me no land and its people are warmer than the folk of the Bahamas. so what a hotel has or not is not what life is about.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My Husband and I traveled to the Bahamas betwween Christmas and New Years this year. We stayed for 3 nights at a time share gifted to us by my parents and 2 nights at the Flamingo Bay Hotel....I must say that we preferred the stay at the Flamingo Bay. It was a short walk to the pool and beach and a short ferry ride to the Luycaya Marketplace. It was an inexpensive yet clean and neat place to stay and we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Room Tip: our room was on the Marina side of the building and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 967disappointed967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

very old hotel. shows its age with rusty ac units, peeling wood in rooms
our room had 2 electrical problems due to worn wiring and the shower needed repair
room was kept clean
other than one person at the front desk, the staff was helpful and friendly
the pool and beach facilities at Taino were nice
Overall, you should spend a few extra bucks and stay at Taino Beach across the stfreet

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cincyedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We, me and my wife, went to Bahamas with discovery cruise two day-one night stay. It's really extraordiinary experiance. This hotel has two parts. One of is flamingo bay the other one is Taino Beach. They use same swimming pool, beach and other facilities. Only difference is the room that you stay. Room is average. İt has AC, TV and good shower and also clean. But sure that you don't need TV. There is a boat for determined times from hotel to centre. I think speciality of Bahamas is absolutely SEA. Beach and sea is wonderful. You don't want you anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AYYalcinkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
0.4 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Jolly Rodger Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Bay Hotel, adorned by the beautiful emerald green Bell Channel Waterway, is part of three Taino Beach Resort & Clubs properties on Grand Bahama Island. Guests enjoy full use of the largest pool on the island, beach and business center with free WiFi in the lobby. It is a reasonably priced alternative to the larger resorts. Standard features include king rooms and two full size beds in double rooms with small kitchenettes. Full service Marina offering 25 dockage slips. Beauty Salon , Convenience Store, Laundry, Ocean Front Restaurant & Watersport Activity Center on site.A unique & scenic water taxi ride away from Port Lucaya Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Hotel And Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Hotel Marina
Flamingo Bay Yacht Club
Flamingo Bay Resort Bahamas
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing