We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful vacation”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
buena, nj
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful vacation”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were at Island Seas from July 28 through August 11. I read all the reviews before we went and I have to wonder about people. We were treated great - from the time we stepped out of the taxi until the time we returned to the airport in a taxi. The front desk WAS cooperative and I felt they bent over backwards to accommodate all our requests. We were provided with clean towels every day in both units in which we stayed. We stayed in two separate rooms because the first week we had a 2 bedroom as my daughter and son-in-law were with us for one week and when they left we moved to a one bedroom - which was ready the instant we checked out of the first week. Rooms were not cleaned daily - but I don't do that at home either. The 2 bedroom trash was collected daily and taken out; however, that was all that was done. In the 1 bedroom (1043) we had a wonderful person who not only took the trash out daily but also changed our sheets mid-week. She was great. I don't change my sheets mid-week at home. I've stayed at Marriotts and had to personally take out trash out ourselves everyday and no one changed towels every day, so I hadn't expected such great service. What a great surprise.

We also ate at the restaurant on-site every day. Breakfast was approximately $6.00 each which is not higher that at home. Dinners ranged from $12.00 on up and there was a special each day that was about that price. We had the past night one Friday which was $19.00 and I cannot tell you how delicious it was. Wonderful. All kinds of pastas, a couple pizzas, garlic bread, salads, lasagna, etc., and dessert. Well worth it. Service took the same time there as it did here. Approximately 1/2 hour. I don't know about people who said they had to wait 3 hours to eat. I didn't experience any inordinate delay in getting our food. Lunches ranged from $9.00 to about $12.00 and they too were excellent.

The rooms were hugh and bright and anybody who complains about their view should not stay in their room and look out the window, but go outside for the views.

I would not hesitate to return. The activity director was great too as were the cab drivers who provided us with tons of information about the island.

Room Tip: Take some packable food items. Don't rush - you are on vacation and there are 24 hours in a da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank babs079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    378
    295
    169
    221
See reviews for
389
389
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We liked the Island Seas Resort. We were part of a time share package, and our experience with this hotel was great! They tried to put us in a room across the road (not beachside), and after explaining our situation to the manager (aka frustrations with the company), they found a very nice suite for us on the beach side. I wish I could remember that manager's name, she was very friendly and accommodating! We didn't eat the hotel food, had checked reviews on here before we went and were warned that it was pricey. We did walk onto the beach, and to the left a little bit was a very cool stand where you could order fresh seafood and have it cooked right in front of you. To the right side was a wonderful restaurant, we had food that rivaled anything here in the US at great prices! It was a local hangout and we enjoyed eating there. . . just wish we could remember the name! We enjoyed walking around Port Lucaya (there was a free shuttle there). There are some great restaurants there (you must try a Bahama Mama in a cocunut!), but it did seem touristy. One day we rented a scooter and rode out to the Lucayan National Park . . . long ride but well worth it! Gold Rock Beach was breath taking. Another evening we took a sailboat cruise . . . $40/person with all you can drink Bahama Mamas. Excellent service on the sailboat, will have to find the brochure and write a review for that company. All in all, a nice trip. The locals were wonderful and we the Bahamas!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treblehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were on a timeshare presentation package so after having got off the Bahamas Celebration 1 night cruise we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 am, but of course our unit was not available so they stuck us in a "hospitality suite" with nowhere to sit and only water to drink. We arrived in a downpour so could not even wander around the property. The "suite" was overcrowded with people!
Fortunately we had a booked a UNEXSCO dolphin swim so the free shuttle took us to the market place where the dolphin swim left from.

When we got back to the hotel they tried to put us in a unit in the marina across the street but we had paid an upgrade to be in the courtyard, they were able to accommodate us and we had a very nice room. Huge 1 bedroom with hide abed, tiny bathroom!!! As per a typical timeshare, no elevators but we were only 1 floor up, which was better than being across the street!
All the staff except the bar staff were very friendly. The bar staff were only interested in "chatting up" the single females!
Room was not serviced every day, it was "make your own bed".
Air conditioner was way too noisy, sleep quality was very poor!!!!! Ice maker in fridge did not work.

Timeshare presentation went on for ever and despite the promise of "no pressure' it was far from that. Did not get the free gifts they had promised us!

Might stay at the resort again but would NOT buy a timeshare!!!
Pool area was great, wifi by the pool unless there was a storm! Small beach area when the tide was in.
Resort was being renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard, not in the marina, and for a room with quiet A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToTravelBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was my 3rd stay but this time I brought my family and they loved it. The resort is nice, great location, great shuttle service, rooms were large and kitchen equipped. The staff was very accomodating to our needs. The hospitality was awesome, my personal favorites were Timmy , Theresa, and my housekeeper Monique!!! Thx to you all, great service!
My only suggestions...doormats would be useful to keep some of the sand out of the room. I will be back....same time next year!!!!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, it's easier to have a room with a beach/pool view preferably with easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ledgewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

jrsygrl305 from New Jersey
the resort was nice the staff was great the best of all was Timmy he was very helpful at all times he really knows how to treat a customer. He is pleasant and thoughtful. I look forward to visiting Isand Seas and hopefully see Timmy again.

Room Tip: ask for a room were the balcony lights do not work , the light will shine in your face all night bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our party of 3 came to celebrate our daughter's 16th birthday. "Speedy" of Member Services arranged for a lovely cake that we cut on the beach. She also helped us quickly arrange for a rental car when the onsite rental company was closed. She also drove us to the ferry in our rental car. WOW! Jermaine, one of the bartenders, provided us with consistently great service and could not have been more friendly. We also found the food and the service in the restaurant to be very good. We had a couple of minor issues that were were resolved.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkw1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Pretty much everything that has been said is true however, I did not find the staff to be rude at all. Great beach, good pool, rooms ok. A lot of stuff in our condo was broken. I really enjoyed the Island and Port Lucaya. If you are there on Wednesday go to the fish fry. Really fun. This place is not the Ritz and you are not paying those prices to stay here. You get what you pay for. I will be back to Freeport, but will stay elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SoxfansfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,008 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing