We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Seas - 3rd review”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Island Seas - 3rd review”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Returned from Island Seas this past Saturday. Had two weeks booked but only used 10 days (my choice). As an owner with confirmed dates, my unit (Ocean front) should have been waiting for me. Timmy at the front desk did a wonderful job of getting me a unit in one of the two ocean front buildings. My friend (also an owner) was there earlier and was in a different building. The room was clean but missing a coffee pot which was supplied almost immediately. The inch long bug skittering across the floor disappeared into a door jam not to be seen again. If you are coming to Island Seas be sure to bring scouring pads for the pots and pans as well as condiments. Nothing is supplied. Yes, everything costs more in the Bahamas but when everything is imported to the island, what do you expect? Solomon's replaced City Market and is clean and as reasonable as any of the other big shopping markets (Butler's or Butler and Sands).

The beach is wonderful but with the increase in cruise ships docking at Freeport, Island Seas has added a hospitality suite. On days when the ships were in, the beach was wall to wall humanity and all the lounges were occupied - and not by owners. Owner's don't get preferential treatment re: lounge chairs and that kind of rankles me. I do understand that the resort is in the business to make money, but not an an owner's expense. In addition to cruise passengers, the quiet is broken by wave runners and a catamaran blaring music - all trying to get business. The photographer is particularly obnoxious and loud. Freeport is getting very commercialized although not as much as Nassau.

Do rent a car! I got one for $35/day (over a weeks' rental gets a cheaper rate). That allowed us unlimited trips to Port Lucaya, Gold Rock and other interesting venues. Do see the Garden of the Groves! Do visit the Rand Nature Centre! International Bazaar is just about closed which is very sad. Years ago it was a fun place.

At the far end of Island Seas next to the park is John and Michelle's open air take out place. For $15 we got two lobster tails (local type) plus rice and peas, cabbage and plantains. Outrageousely good food at a very fair price. It's take away so be prepared not to dine there.

Most of the restaurants offer "early bird" specials and Giovanni's in Port Lucaya is superb (and merits it's own review).

My only dissatisfactions with Island Seas are that maid service is sketchy at best, the sheets don't fit the beds properly and guests ignore the prohibition regarding glass and glass bottles on the beach, but then slobs are slobs whether on vacation or at home.

Room Tip: If you are an owner you should get the room type you paid for. If you are a guest, try to get an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    369
    287
    163
    201
See reviews for
366
374
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel/ timeshare is definitely showing its age. The rooms are in bad shape, lights missing in hallways and electric continually going out. Thank goodness I brought a flashlight. This property needs SERIOUS upgrading! No maid service for 3days as although I was here for 2 weeks they had me checked out! Although the staff is friendly it doesn't compensate for the seediness & unprofessionalism of this place. It was always a guess if my key to my unit would open the door! Although it is rated as family oriented there were extremely obnoxious and loud guests that used unsuitable language with no regards to others. Security did not stop this noise nor did any member of the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsyrver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just returned home from our 6th trip to Island Seas. Highly recommend for folks wanting quiet place on the beach where you can fix your own meals and entertain yourself. The accommodations are very comfortable and clean, the staff always helpful and courteous (thanks Betty and Karen), and the beach is gorgeous. Wi-fi at the bar and pool area. In addition to the restaurant (which had a really good spaghetti bar one night), on the beach just to the right of the resort (west) is a great little fish place called Michelles. We had grouper, conch, lobster and red snapper - ready to go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Empire State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

If you are a couple looking to have some fun and party, and like the night life. DON'T GO TO FREEPORT. I simply said this because I have been here with my wife when we had that type of mentality. We though the Island was too quiet, not much to do, not our cup of tea.
10 years later we love this place. We love this place because we have a 6yr old and a 3yr old. This was a perfect place for our little guys and us. So let see if I provide some kind of information from the start.
-Once you land, the taxi fare will cost you about $22-25 from airport to Island seas
-Checking-is a slow process. Timmy is great by the way. But when you have 7 people check-in it could be the wrong time to ask any question and he will probably gave you the basic. Come back later.
-If you do check-in make sure you get a room within the resort, the marina across the street is okay, but not the same view.
-The main pool and only is within the main resort and feets from the beach. There are two Jacuzzis one by the marina and one at the main pool
-Once you check-in the rooms are clean with all the basic amenities. Extra blanket and sheet in the bedroom closet and safe. Safe is $5 per day. Didn't like that one.
-Morning, the breakfast is good average $9 for a good portion. I ate with my two little with one.
-Lunch and Dinner the basic average price ?, ( i will edit this once I look at the menu that i took)
-There is a Bahamian food stand, by the end of the beach everyday, selling conch, lobster and fry fish average $10-16. Much cheaper than the resort and really good
-Once you had breakfast, the pool is small deepest point 34 inches, kiddy pool next to it. The playground was a joke don't bother
-Beach was nice quite most of the time. If you go during hurricane season don't expect it clean every day.
Now that we cove from check-in to the morning lets go about our daily activities.

Let's go somewhere, okay where?
-Port lucaya, shuttle goes there every 1 hrs to 1-1/2. Last trip at 6pm and from Lucaya 6:30pm.
-Taxi will cost you depend on the driver from 9 t0 14 dollars. There's a surcharge per passenger.
-Lucaya has the basic food, I average $60 for all 4 of us on nights out.
-Drinks are cheap from $3 import bears and mix $5.
-Try the conch salad over in the corner by the dock, dead center of the plaza you'll see it. Awesome.
NOW that you done Lucaya, now where?
-Nothere is no place to visit beside the garden, Nothing there!
-I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND RENTING A CAR FOR OVER TWO DAYS.
-You drive to each end of the island from Island seas 1 hour in each direction.
-If you do decide to drive out, go to the east end. Visit MR. Bishop and his outdoor bar (bishopsresort.net). There's a stretch of 5 miles of nothing but clean beach. (May I suggest topless) (been there, done that)
-There is nothing by the international bazaar, beside gift shop, the place got hit so bad with the hurricane about 10yrs that it never recovered.
-If you do drive out go, to the supermarket solomon and stock your fridge.
BACK AT THE RESORT
-You will see a lot of older couples, lovely people and one day I will join them aswell
-There are no activities, bingo was the only activity I seen
-Karaoke every Wednesday and Friday. Lame.
-ONSITE
-Jet ski(Waverunner)($70 30min $100 1hrs). Snorkeling/glassboat/scuba diving. CAR Rental $90 total for the day.

Families
-I took small package food, soups, peanut butter, gelly, small juicy juice, breakfast items. This help us a great deal. The first day we stop at the supermarket, and stock up our fridge with basic items. We bought coffee, milk so we wouldn't have to go out.
-They do have a GIFT SHOP ON SITE, they carry a lot of items, from food and all kinds of things. It helps if you forgot something.
-$$$ at the supermarket whatever the cost is in the state, its a $1 more on the island. $2 more on the resort.

To be continue I will edit this later

Room Tip: Don't rent a car for over 2 days This is not a party island or resort. You couples we warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexoTheEmpireState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Avoid if possible. This 'resort' does not deserve to bear that title. No tropical island atmosphere, tiki bar has very limited hours, and management does nothing to make this place even remotely attractive. Check-in staff can be downright rude (Timmy) or just does not care. We stayed at a marina room. Although almost everything worked in this 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment (1 air conditioning did NOT work), cleaning of it was inferior, if absent, it was noisy (something banging on the roof), no elevators (three flights of stairs) and a smelly lobster-diver plunged in the hot tub with two layers of wet suits that he took off right in front of us.
Do I need to go on?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This resort (with timeshares) is very mediocre. Going to the Bahamas we were hoping for a nice tranquil getaway, and quiet it was! But then, most of the island was very quiet (even the 'famous' Wednesday evening Fishfry), so it could have been the time of year.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a not so very friendly staff (although later in the week, the new staff was extremely helpful and friendly), and brought to a room across the street from the main hotel. Apartment was clean (2 bedrooms, 2 bath) upon arrival, but the rest of the week we had to tell the cleaning lady multiple ties to actually CLEAN the apartment and not just change towels.
The swimming pool was nice, but the boiling water in the one hot tub on our side of the street, was so darn hot, most people did not make it in. There is hardly any supervising there. A local fisherman in wetsuit jumped in the hot tub while we were in to clean all the fishyness off his suit and slowly getting out of his suit in the pool. Huh? Kind of jukky, really. Kind of funny too.
Anyways, it is all a bit bear-bones. The pool-bar was only used by people to get wifi (the only spot in the hotel to get a bit of wifi)...
The good thing: resort is on the beach. And on the left of the hotel on the beach you will find Chef Anton with his little BBQ and cold beer, who is always ready to make you some lunch or dinner!
TIP: RENT a CAR! If you want to go anywhere on the island, you will pay a lot of money with taxi's. Although you will have to drive left, it is worth it! You will save a lot of money! You can rent a car at the resort for about $60 per day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with OCEAN view, not harbor view, or you will end up at the other side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisfromlakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey, CO.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just returned from staying a week at the Island Seas. This is NOT your glitzy, shiny, mega-resort. This is NOT your party all night, lets get stupid resort. This is a laid-back quieter type of beach resort. The people there are super nice, friendly and helpful. The room was OK - didn't wow us - but provided everything that we needed: full size kitchen, a/c, 2 TVs, etc. But we didn't spend that much time in the room. We did spend a lot of time on the balcony overlooking the pool - very nice and relaxing. The beach was awesome - well groomed and with plenty to beach chairs and towels for all (remember this was in December - they may not be so plentiful in June). Coconuts is a friendly pavilion bar/restaurant that is a good meeting place and popular place to get wi-fi. Happy hour is 4-6 but just on mixed drinks not on beer (curious). The Sea Grape Grille is a good restaurant that serves a varied breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed ordering from there and taking it back to our room.
Daily shuttles run to the Port Lucaya shopping area. They even provide a shuttle to the grocery store. Wish they would provide daily shuttle to the grocery store.
Overall, we really enjoyed our time at Island Seas and we would return - we just didn't let the little things bother us like it seemed to bother others.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview room unless you would rather be near the marina. Higher floors have better view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSi_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing