We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was there 10/26 thru 11/2 on a time share exchange. I would go back. We had a 2 BR unit reserved, but traded it for a 1 BR beachfront unit. Left the windows open all week--perfect weather in the mid 80s and sunny. The resort was very good overall. Units could use some cosmetic work. Wifi is $70/week, but didn't work in our unit so had to go elsewhere on the property to use it. Beach is beautiful, outside bar is good. Food is average in the restaurant--go elsewhere. Try Chef Bernie's cook shack down the beach--expensive but good. A car is a must since nothing is within a mile or more. Taxis will cost you a lot. Everything in the Bahamas is very expensive--beer is $45/case, groceries are 2 to 3 times the cost in the US.

Room Tip: Only 1 BR units are near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    372
    290
    164
    206
See reviews for
369
382
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

average hotel for the bahamas - beachfront access, pool, hot tub, games in bar.. coconuts bar is awesome - one bad point - metered drinks.. yeah it sucks, but it's kinda everywhere on the island (it was at rum runners too, read my review on that place too).. happy hour is 4-6 and drinks are 2 for 1, you can ask for it on the rocks if you don't want a pina colada style drink.. excellent beach, sand is so soft, and peaceful/relaxing.. spent a lot of time there.. these guys are nazi's about their towels..!! if you "rent" one from the hut near the beach and don't return it by 5pm, they charge you 10$.. on that note, you have to wear a wrist bracelet while staying here.. can't say i really understand this practice, but every hotel on the island does it.. i say it labels you, because every time resort peddler knows where you're staying and probably what day you got there just by the color of your wristband.. sucks..!! room service was average - asked for a coffeemaker, as one was not in the room, but never received it.. maid service was ok, got fresh towels everyday.. probably won't stay here again, though..

Room Tip: marina rooms are across the street, no big deal to walk across for beach access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licinius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
The management at Island Seas appreciates your time with this review because it lets us know what we need to do to improve and make your vacation the best it can be. We are glad you enjoyed the beach…. Our crystal blue water and warm, soft sand is very relaxing. We apologize about the coffee maker … our rooms should all have one in them. The wristbands help our staff, whether it be the security guards, activity directors, or sales personnel, to identify our customers and anticipate their needs. We do not want to bother individuals with repetitive questions and these bands save time and let our visitors relax while having their needs met. We hope you come back and let us help you relax, rewind, and repeat your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fantastic beach and location. The room needed updating and the day before we left a new dishwasher, stove and microwave were installed. I'd highly recommend a day trip with HIDA at hida@experiencegrandbahamaisland.com! We wish we had done this earlier in our week to get local info and the lay of the land so to speak. Bahamians are some of the most friendly people on earth. Hopefully the economy will improve for them to allow more updates at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Marketing Employee at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! You’re right… Bahamians are very friendly and love tourists. Our beach is perfect for relaxing, walking, playing in the sand, or enjoying some of the adventurous water sports which are offered, too. And the sunsets are unforgettable! We also agree that updates to the rooms are necessary. We are currently underway (as the arrival of your appliances demonstrates) a major renovation and we look forward to your return so that you can enjoy our updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

travelled in October with my daughter and two small children,1year and 5years.had a great time had two rooms 1 bedroom units with kitchen and living area.it was across street from beach however when we opened the blinds there was a waterway that fed off the ocean,and a yacht sat outside our window.the grounds are really nice the beach is just beautiful white sands and warm blue water.the pool really nice really large has a bridge going over it and a waterfall that gives a great back massage.they had a swim up bar,but it wasn't in use when we were there.the staff at the front desk and as u enter the lobby were all so friendly and so nice.they have a laundrymat there which was great,a small convenience store which is privately owned a restaurant inside and out.and a bar.the food was good however service not so good at the restaurants.very slow and not that attentive even though they tack on a 15percent tip.there is on the beach a family that cooks fish and lobsters fresh and has picnic tables,we didn't go but did talk to other people who raved about it.the rooms were very clean and very large.i would definetly go back ..also they have a shuttle that goes every hour to the center of town and once a week they have a supermarket run.

Room Tip: if possible depending on what u prefer either ocean view or across the street were the ocean inlet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We knew this was an older resort and we didn't pay Club Med prices so we were very happy that we got good value for our money. Our unit had granite counter tops and nice tile floors. The beach is awesome, crystal clear water. Pool is nice and clean. Comfortable bed. We found the service to be excellent. Our check-in person was Trenetta. I arrived in the midst of a severe allergic reaction to something and she called several times to check on me. Although this is not a hotel and you do not have daily maid service, our housekeepers, Debra and Tonya, came every day and changed our towels, took out our garbage, etc. Very nice women.

You are supplied with toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, dishwasher detergent, shampoo, soap , and body lotion. They give you a first night pack of coffee, tea, filters, etc. You need to bring or buy EVERYTHING else. You need to plan on eating out, paying for a taxi which is not cheap, about $40 round trip to the supermarket, or using their convenience store if you arrive before the free trip to the grocery store on Mondays. It is pretty well stocked but has no produce at all. Some of the prices are shocking....a bottle of garlic salt was over $7. We payed $8.50 for a 48 oz. can of orange juice, but for $3 you got a carton of eggs, which is not too bad. The supermarket, Soloman's is cheaper, but still more than home. There are 2 women that work in the convenience store, one is very nice. The tall one is not. Not even a hello or thank you. The only rude person we encountered.

We ate at Coconuts Bar. We had hamburgers and blackened chicken sandwiches with french fries. (Both $9.99) The food was good. Service was "island" time but friendly. If you like a drink, buy it at the airport. We had a drink at the bar and the folks that mention the "measuring device" were not kidding. The weakest drink we have ever had. The owners have shot themselves in the feet as the bar is mostly empty. The bartenders were very pleasant. There is nothing they can do, and tipping them won't help as it is not their choice. The cheapest drink on the menu, a screwdriver, was $5.50. It appears to me 1/2 oz of vodka in a small plastic cub of juice. MAYBE an ounce, but no more. The local beer is $5. You can walk to the right on the beach and get a good drink at Gina's. The local rum, Ricardo's is good. FYI, a litre at the airport was $8.70. The same at the liquor store by Soloman's was $14.50.

We were offered marijuana several times by a young man who hawks one of the food stands on the beach. As we are in our 60's, that seems kind of dumb. Just say no, no problem.

Our garbage disposal backed up and was promptly fixed.

If you plan to cook, check carefully when you arrive. I had no coffee maker but TWO MICROWAVES! I had nice quality cookware but no frying pan. They promptly supplied me.

I am a super early riser and I saw security walking around in the wee hours. I felt perfectly safe. Please note there are no elevators.

Internet is fine sometimes and very slow at others. I paid the $70 and found that early evening is the worst time.

All-in-all. We enjoyed this and would return.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The beach and pool were fabulous. The restaurant food was horrible. All food is expensive. The room felt cheap. Ice maker did nit work. No coffee maker when we arruved. One ac was broken and a second sounded like a kid on drums. Peoplke were very nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went to Island Seas Resort for one week. The room we were in could use a pick me up, especially the bathroom. The service staff were friendly but you had to ask to get extra toilet paper (which I found odd). There was a complimentary shuttle to the market which was really convenient. We made contact with a taxi driver, from the airport, who was very helpful an took us anywhere we wanted to go at a very reasonable price. The beach was lovely and the grounds were very well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing