We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Seas Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well, we made it through one night at Island Seas Resort. We moved to Grand Lucayan Resort after that one night. It is a world apart from Island Seas.

The fourth staff warning on our first afternoon, from the night-shift beach security guard, that we should not accept any activity offers from locals that will be soliciting on the public beach the resort is located on, because they may not come back with the jet ski they'll ask to be paid for in advance, or they won't be licensed or have any insurance, did the place in for me....not a place I really want my daughter wandering around (I did appreciate the warnings though). The gym room, that had two inoperable tread mills along with free weights that looked like they were scavenged from a ship wreck, and a mirror wall that looked like it had a sugary drink splashed on it a few days ago, pretty much did it in for my daughter. She wasn't too pleased with her black bottom white socks from walking shoeless on the tile floor of our room, the floors were actually sticky. Waking up the first morning not being able to breath through her nose for the mold or mildew in the room, that smelled like it had been closed up for a couple years before we walked in, finished the place off for my wife. I wasn't too happy either with the bone fragments that were in my pulled pork sandwich I had for dinner the first night either, although the fries were really good. Our server was concerned enough to say she would inform the kitchen and apologized but offered no solution.

I have to say that the staff were very friendly and helpful, including being sure to provide the beach warnings. They came to the room without delay the first night to spray it to try to freshen it up but no help for my wife's sinuses. I feel bad complaining because they did give us quite a nice room floor plan and location with a view of the main courtyard with the ocean beyond.

The timeshare sales staff was low pressure (yes, Island Seas is a timeshare resort), which was welcome, and we did sign up for the free lunch the second day to listen to their presentation, but after our experience I truly wonder how they think they'll be able to sell ownership to the facility. When we arrived I noticed there wasn't a single smiling face amongst the crowd in the lobby trying to get to the front desk, don't know if they were checking in, out, or there to complain.

We've talked to a few locals we've met at places we've visited, like an outdoor restaurant we went to for dinner after changing hotels. An American women who lives here winters mentioned that Island Seas is known here to be a struggling facility that was grand a long time ago but has really struggled the last few years. A family friend of one of her friends stayed at Island Seas and she was asked to look after them. The friend attended the timeshare sales pitch meeting and complained to her that the staff would just not leave them alone after the meeting. I'm glad we didn't fall into that trap. Our Taxi driver from the airport acted actually surprised that that was where he was taking us, which was our first worry, and it just went downhill from there.

Staff mentioned to me that ownership recently changed and a lot of work was going on to improve things but there wasn't much visible evidence of that. It seemed about 30 years old and not looked after the past 20!

We've actually run into two families here at Grand Lucayan that we saw at Island Seas on our first night. They also moved, at considerable expense by the way.

The grounds are well kept, again kudos to the friendly helpful staff, but the public beach with public access right next door is not the secluded beach their web site promises. There is NO free internet, it costs $70 a week for one device. But if you attend the timeshare sales pitch, you can get free wifi for 2 devices if you don't take any of the free activities they offer. Do you get the catch??? It's just hearsay, by the way, but we were told the pressure from the sales people after the pitch was intense.

To be fair, I realize it's monumentally challenging and costly to keep ahead of the impact of constant salt air exposure, even Grand Lucayan visibly struggles with this issue. But it does go well beyond that at Island Seas.

If you're ok with fourth rate hotels and all the stuff we found unacceptable, maybe you'll be ok, especially if you have no allergies to mold, or mildew, or whatever it was in our room that clogged our sinuses. Good Luck...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at our resort. We totally agree that some updating is needed, and that is why we are refurnishing the resort rooms and repainting the exterior walls. Yes, you are right that the salt air from the ocean is hard on our resort. Our new gym equipment has been ordered and the relocation site (it will be next to our Starbucks coffee shop) is coming along nicely. We do pride ourselves on our friendly staff and work hard to maintain our rooms and resort grounds. We appreciate your review as your input helps us to continue to make improvements where necessary and reinforce what is working well. We hope that you’ll come back someday to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    363
    275
    158
    196
See reviews for
352
359
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

After reading the reviews I was so worried about staying here. I have to say we had a wonderful time. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The restaurant was the most reasonable we had found on the Island. We did go out alot for other meals but we were pleased with the quality of our meals at the restaurant. Our 2 bedroom unit was very nice. This is not a 5 star resort so if thats what you are expecting you will be disappointed. This however was not our expectation. The beach is beautiful and no one is rushing to get chairs either at the beach or pool. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. Also after reading reviews towels were not an issue. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for visiting and taking your time to review our resort. We do care and your input helps us. One of our goals is to provide a comfortable resort where our guests can relax and enjoy spending valuable time with their loved ones. And it seems we succeeded in your case so we are pleased! We also love hearing that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We look forward to your return visit so that you can relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I were there with four children over Christmas. The staff was amazingly accommodating. We had booked 2 one-bedroom units and hoped to have them in close proximity. Since they were unable to put us on the beachfront side, they upgraded us to a one-bedroom and a two-bedroom on the marina side. Initially the rooms were a building apart but when we advised them that we would all just cram into the two-bedroom unit (as we have a diabetic child and can't be that far from her) they gave us the adjacent two bedroom unit at no cost. Both two bedrooms were newly renovated and well appointed with nice furnishings, comfortable bedding and a beautiful view out the ground level patio out the back. We weren't able to snorkel on account of the weather but that can hardly be chalked up to any sort of reflection on the resort, in fact we were compensated meal vouchers and T-shirts for the kids in light of same. We did bring our own beach towels but there were no issues getting towels from the beach side cabana when our kids forgot them back at the room (or when they were drying). My husband and I are well travelled (North/Central/South America, Caribbean, Europe, Africa, Australia, etc.); usually in 4-5* properties. I also travel extensively for work. We have virtually no complaints (FOR THE PRICE). My ONLY negative comment pertains to the wait time at the bar/restaurant (then again we were ordering food for six). That said, we're going back next month for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We anxiously await your return, and we promise the weather should be nice enough for you to snorkel this time! We love it when families share their Christmas holiday with us and we appreciate your patience as our staff found accommodations that would work with your family. With so many various travel needs,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Island Seas and we were extremely disappointed. We were placed in a room without a microwave, coffee pot, dead-beat tv remote control, hole filled shower curtain, missing light bulbs, old furniture, rusted dishwasher & freezer. Management admitted to us that the resort was over booked so they opened the rooms in front of the marina. Bad Idea! This has to be the worst accommodations I have experienced. The staff was very pleasant but we will not choose this resort again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 92RJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Obviously we do not want our guests to have a bad experience and we appreciate the patience we need during our refurbishing stage. While our renovations include putting new furniture, televisions, appliances, and more in each room, it does take time. Please try us again as we know you’ll be pleased!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

nova scotia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent a week at the Island Seas resort and had a great time. We exchanged our timeshare for the week and had a nice one bedroom unit. Unfortunately we were in a building where the bedroom balcony overlooked the empty lot and garbage pick up but the front balcony at least looked out over the resort. The resort was in the process of renovations so a lot of work was being done but it was quiet and well fairly well cared for although the garborator in our unit never worked or got fixed while we were there. The staff was very kind and helpful and the service very good. Food and service at the restaurant was very good and also at the bar. For such a large resort it was very nice and quiet with alot of amenities and activites available, many for free.The island itself was more expensive then we expected.

Room Tip: The resort has about 12 buildings and only 2 are right on the beach so your chances of a ocean veiw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffybotns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate you exchanging your vacation time from your home resort to come and stay with us. And we are thrilled you had a great time and were able to find solace to relax. Renovations are underway and it is sometimes difficult to complete necessary tasks without inconveniencing our guests, but it sounds like you were not bothered at all, and that is wonderful news! Our staff is enduring our renovations with great patience and we always enjoy hearing that they are kind and helpful. We hope that you will "relax, rewind, and repeat" your vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I took my wife there for her birthday last year and we had a great time. The rest. could use some up-grading with it's menu but overall the place was nice. The room was clean and people were friendly. We would go back.

Room Tip: by the beach over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Well, March is right around the corner so we’re hoping you’re going to again celebrate her birthday with us. In fact, we can think of nothing she’d like more! We have made, and continue to make, many improvements that you’ll need to come and enjoy. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This resort failed on so many levels. I am SHOCKED Interval International will even put it's name to it. This is definitely only a 1.5-2 star resort. Service was horrible. We travelled with an infant and they first put us across the road at the marina on the 3rd floor (side note no elevators) So we demanded a room change which is it self took 24 hrs of hounding them to get us moved. Then the first night there was no crib delivered after 5 calls I gave up!
Food was ok. Didn't want WiFi as it was over $80 for the week. NOT free.
Beach was lovely & Pool was nice but extremely cold. The shopping trip for grocery's didn't go until Monday we arrived Fri so we had to pay $30 to get a cab there and back. Food was costly too! Rooms were completely falling apart. We had to put elastics on the switches to get fans to stay on. Each room has a a/c window unit hard to sleep with they sound like jet engines. The resort is also very accessible for the public to come bug you. Resort room was not clean. Towels are like gold. and you get a great work out from all the "non" sliding doors. Lock everything up to as many people on our week had stuff stolen. LOTS of construction going on and people constantly outside you room windows or on you balcony. Very frustrating. Needs a lot of work! I am not usually this frustrated but this time I was. If the beach & pool weren't so nice I would have likely flown home the first night! If visiting Freeport pick somewhere else unless you are ok with 2 star.

Room Tip: Insist you are not at the Marina rooms............
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank farwell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you had some frustrations with your vacation. There is no reason that any need should take multiple requests; we will certainly look into this. Unfortunately, many resorts throughout the Caribbean do not install an elevator in buildings with only three floors, and resort pools in the Caribbean rarely need to be heated; we can usually count on our typically sunny days to heat the pool water. Our gated and private resort enjoys 24 hour security and we pride ourselves on the honesty and integrity of our staff. Vacations should be exciting, relaxing, and enjoyable. We hope that you’ll come back and give us a second try to make yours just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
5.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing