We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After reading previous reviews I was a bit nervous about staying at the Island Seas resort. The resort has a great location right on the beach. The facilities are a bit dated but you can tell they're trying to update things. Our 1 bedroom unit was spacious and had a great view of the ocean. Whenever we needed anything the staff were very friendly and helpful. Downside is the bathroom was very small and reminded me of a cheap hotel. The walls needed repair and the water pressure was very low. Our mattress was pretty old and made you roll to the middle. Don't miss catching lunch at Michelle's. You'll find her in a trailer parked on the beach about 50 yards just west of the resort. Probably the best food we had on the island. We rented a car which was great. We explored the island from tip to tip. Also, Nae's restaurant (next to Solomon's grocery story) was a great place for breakfast. Good food and reasonable prices. Overall we had a great experience

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor if you don't mind stairs. We were in the Dolphin building which had great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danindc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review and for recognizing that we are indeed trying! We have listened to our guests and we are working hard to improve our resort. We want our guests to return year after year, so we hope to see you again next year, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked a two week stay at Island Seas Resort in November, 2013. We had booked our stay through our timeshare exchange company, Interval International, one week being an exchange, the second week we bought as a get away. We had been to Nassau a few years earlier and had a wonderful time....we thought Freeport would be much the same.....boy were we wrong!
We arrived about 12 noon. We finally got our room 5pm. We had booked a two bedroom, but told the check in woman that no one ended up coming with us, so we would be fine with a one bedroom suite. This information was completely ignored by her and we were given a two bedroom ground floor suite. Our front view was the back of the restaurant, the back view was a cement wall. The first thing I noticed upon entering the suite was the strong smell of mold. My husband said he could smell something but was not sure what it was. The furniture was old and rickety. except for the kitchen appliances that were new, our bed was falling apart...there was a piece of plywood under my side of the mattress. We could see ripped up box spring hanging down under the bed. The bedding was old, and one of the blankets would have been suitable for a dog kennel. Then we began to notice things were missing. There were no towels in the suite.....we called the front desk. They said towels were being laundered and we would be brought some when they were finished being cleaned. This made us think that they did not have enough towels for the resort. Next we noticed that there were no remotes for the old TVs in the suite. We checked out the safe and found that we needed a key mechanism to close and lock it....another call to the desk, and a trip to the front desk to get the key mechanism.....why were we not given this upon check in? Ofcourse the key mechanism we were given was broken. In our suite we were missing a coffee maker, dvd player,dish cloth and dish towels, hair dryers, plug for our bath tub.....although I found a plug in the other bathroom. Almost 3 hours later we stil had no towels...another phone call to the front desk. Towels arrived soon after that. I could finally have a bath!! Nope....there was no hot water. We discovered the hot water tank breaker had been turned off. The dish washer was not hooked up as well as the ice cube maker in the fridge. The fridge opened away from the wall, although the handle could be made to be on the other side. It was very awkward to open the fridge. I made so many calls to the front desk I started to feel silly. The maintainance man showed up with a safe lock mechanism and checked out the hot water heater, and promised to be back the next day to bring us TV remotes, a DVD player and hook up the dish washer. I would not have cared if there was not a DVD player except my husband and I exercise to DVDs. So he came the next day and did all that he promised. However when we went to finally exercise that night, we discovered the DVD player did not work.
I basically wanted to leave by that time......I started wondering if we would get sick from the mold smell in the suite. On the third night I asked to be moved to another suite. I had to call back the next day when the reservation person was there. Seemed silly to me. So the next day we were finally moved to a one bedroom third floor suite. It had been renovated and had new furniture and bedding, great ocean view....a working DVD player....what a difference!
There was no way our original suite was checked out before we were given that suite or there would not have been a gazillion missing and non working items. We think this suite was damaged from the big hurricane and was waiting to be renovated......did they overbook and had no choice but to give us that suite? Don't know.We were never compensated for anything from Island Seas Resort. We also complained to Interval International about this resort and got no response.
Good things about the resort....there were shuttles to the market place every hour, but quite at 6....which sucked. The resort grounds were quite nice. The beach and sand were beautiful. The pool was nice, but not heated......the ocean was warmer. There were four days when there was maintainance being done on the pool...so we couldn't use it.........well I guess we could have, but there was only a few feet of water in it.
The restaurant and bar had pretty good food...........and only just before we were leaving did we find out there was a food plan that we could have purchased. Why weren't we told about this? The staff, especially the bar staff was so laid back it was to the point of laziness. At any one time in the middle of the afternoon there would be three bar staff sitting behind the bar texting and playing on the computer....we never saw cleaning or maintainance be done by any of them. The tips were included on the bills. Drinks were very expensive except for happy hour. The steps going up to our suite were disgusting.......I don't think they were ever cleaned.
As for Freeport, we found it sub standard and boring. We went to the marketplace a few times and did a bit of eating and shopping. Not much to do at all. We went on one tour which we felft was big rip off...so we were scared to book another excursion. We basically laid around the pool and beach......it was relaxing....that's for sure.
One more thing I wanted to mention was we wondered how safe Freeport was. Some of the maids told us a few times to keep our door bolted. There were notices in our room binder about opening the door to people etc. warning us about not wearing flashy jewelry or not to walk in secluded places...made us think it wasn't that safe.
All in all we would never go back to Island Seas Resort or Freeport again.

Another thing I wanted to mention

Room Tip: Go to another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We appreciate your input and regret that you had some unpleasant experiences. From your review, it does sound like your room was not a typical room that guests stay in. We apologize for this mix-up and glad that you were able to move into a respectable suite. Yes, our island is very relaxing, and we actually take pride in that. It’s hard for some vacationers to use their time off to regain the energy needed for their busy day-to-day life obligations, and at Island Seas, we feel it’s our duty to help our guests truly relax and re-energize. The next time you find yourself needed a relaxing vacation, please come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After reading the reviews we were a little nervous. I asked to see the room before we moved in and we were immediately changed to the ocean side buildings. All in all though our consensus was that the room was great, the food was great, the staff was great and the beach was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

So glad you came to visit us! We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their precious vacation time while staying here at Island Seas Resort. Some guests prefer being right by the ocean and being able to hear the waves lapping, while other guests enjoy our marina side so they can sit on their balconies and watch the various boats cruise peacefully through the calm canal. Our resort is lucky to have both options for our guests. Our newly acclaimed Chef Joe Johnson might have prepared some of your meals … besides his acquired skills of managing the food and beverage operations, Joe’s talents include developing, training, and supervising the culinary personnel, managing the purchasing and budgeting of his departments, and developing menus which reflect an area’s environment by using local crops and ingredients. We are very blessed to have him with us. Come back and vacation with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My daughter took me to Island Seas for my 60th birthday in September we have been there before and we all think it's a paradise, the grounds are pretty and well kept, the apartments are very comfortable and clean maid service every day, the only thing they don't have is a washer but there is a laundry on site at a reasonable cost. We were greeted by happy friendly staff every day. My daughter arranged for a lovely cake to be made for me and the staff couldn't have been more helpful they couldn't have done more to help. Things are expensive but that's because it's an Island and things have to be imported just go to the local shops and see what the locals have to pay. The Islanders are a really wonderful friendly people where ever we went just walking down the street they were smiling and helpful because that's what they are like not because they are being paid to smile, there is a wonderful safe feeling too. Island Seas in my opinion has the best beach the water is shallow and clear, sand is clean and the fish are unbelievable they swim right next to you and there are lots of spots to snorkel too and see the wonderful colours of the fish. Its such a pity it's so far and not a direct flight from England I would go there all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We appreciate your input and are happy that you had a wonderful and memorable trip with us. Our staff does have a reputation for going the extra step to ensure each guest has a great experience with us. We do have a beautiful beach that is perfect for walking, tanning, reading, and relaxing. See you next September as we celebrate your 61st birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Last year my husband and I stayed at this resort. We were so impressed by our stay we booked another week almost to the day this year. We enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and have made friends with many of the employees. It was nice to return to such a welcoming staff that actually remembered us from a year ago. Prior to our departure we made some suggestions that may be a positive step in the right direction for minor improvements at this resort. This is a vacation whereas time does not matter. Therefore extended bar hours, entertainment and eliminating the electronic pour device at the bar would be a plus. The bartenders were great (especially Jermaine) who's exceptional kindness and knowledge of the resort and surrounding areas made our vacation a memorable one. Resort was clean and the food was good. We will return in the future. We have found a home away from home a place to bring our family. Thanks again Island Seas!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CID1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for recognizing that at Island Seas, your home away from home, we DO care about our guests and their valuable opinions. We know you have many vacationing options, and we want you to choose to come and relax with us. We are glad that you have returned, and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I have been owners here for the last 2 years and have been going there for 5 years now. This is a small resort which is too our liking and we have seen a lot of improvements over the last couple of years. If you want an all night party palace no this is not the place for you as the bar does close down at 10pm. We have found the staff to be nothing but exceptional to deal with and they were very helpful late last year helping us resolve an issue with Interval World. They actually went beyond what they needed to do to. The grounds are well kept and the free shuttle into town is a bonus. We really don't use the restaurant all that much but when we have the food has been good and reasonably priced. We have always stayed in the same room in the Grouper building and it has always been perfectly cleaned. We did rent a car for 3 days last year to tour the island on our own and it was kind of weird driving on the left side of the road but we survived. Ryan, Alfred, Cheryl, Mel and Jolene are terrific ambassador's of this resort. If you are into cooking your own meals, the food especially meat is very expensive at the supermarket. If you are not into the party scene I would recommend Island Seas.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Grouper building if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CubaIsGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your review and so glad you had a relaxing vacation with us. We are delighted you enjoy trying the local restaurants and cooking in your own suite. And we are also proud to introduce our new chef, Chef Joe Johnson, who is very successful with tasty specialties which offer the best of the Bahamian menu. . Joe is no stranger to the Bahamian cuisine and he comes to us with almost 15 years of culinary experience; his most recent position was with The Abaca Club Winding Bay, a Ritz-Carlton restaurant in Abaco. Before that he gained experience at the Four Seasons Resort in Exuma, and at both the Sheraton Grand and the Princess Resort here in Freeport. His menu additions will surely please you and your wife’s palates, so come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Being time share owners we originally deposited our 2 weeks with the intention of swapping them to go to Dubai..no luck. Offered the only 2 weeks available which was at Island Seas. Thought it would be okay as never been to Bahamas before. Would never go back, perhaps only if it were to Nassau.

This resort closes up at 10pm. What bar closes at 10pm? So foolish, because we were asked to leave when everything closed up. They could have made more money if people had somewhere to go on site to drink after 10pm. Nothing else to do. The taxi fare to town was 30 bucks everytime you wanted to leave the resort.

The beach was nice and was great if you enjoyed walking. Checked out the local pub off the road which was neat (2 beers for 5 bucks). The resort charged way too much for local beer (5 dollars). Understand the place is under new management and the prices went up.

Everyone went to Bernie's Beach Bar where the beer was way cheaper. That in itself was a real experience. I must say that the staff was amazing, very friendly. Had our chair and towel ready for us every day. I can't believe that people actually bought time shares at Island Seas or upgraded what they already have. These folks have obvioulsy never been anywhere else in the world. Because this place is a dump compared to the many other places I have been to. This resort should not even be in the Interval book. Shame on you. Would never recommend this place..ever!!!

On the flip side, the restaurant food although a little on the pricey side was actually good. However, the service sucked. Small patio for outdoor dining. Waited for a table for over an hour and then were offered a table in the freezing air conditioned area. Didn't come from cold Canada to sit inside!!!! Take out pizza was an hour and a half wait.

In the long run, met a lot of really great people who made our stay at least somewhat enjoyable. Plus it was great that I got to watch the Leaf game!!! Oh I forgot...the mattress was brutal..tried the sofa bed but it was no better. Time for a delivery from Mattresses Are Us..LOL

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieoh2798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We appreciate your input and are continuing to improve our resort so that every guest has a memorable trip while staying with us. We are working diligently to renovate our rooms and are examining our current bar policies. The atmosphere at our beach resort is for those vacationers who want to escape the cold, escape the noise, and escape the busyness of their everyday lives. We want our guests to relax, rewind, and repeat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,018 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £106 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing