We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I assume this resort would be better if given a condo on the ocean side. However, almost half of the property is located across the street on what they call the 'marina'. Basically you have a view of a channel with an abandoned property. Another negative is the pressure they put on you to attend their '1 1/2' hour sales event. We finally conceded, after making it obvious we were not interested. Three hours later of saying 'no thank you' we were dismissed with disgust at our unwillingness to spent tens of thousands of dollars on their property. The beach is pretty but the resort's beach facilities are very run down. Our one bedroom condo space was large but dated and there was only one closet door and the slider to the balcony took both of us to open. There is nothing within walking distance. We have stayed so many places that are so much nicer, we will not return to the Island Seas.

Room Tip: If you do decide to choose this property make sure you are NOT on the marina side. This may be diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We hate hearing that our guests had a bad experience with us so we apologize. Many of our guests prefer our marina rooms and appreciate the quietness and tranquility of the canal. Others prefer our rooms closer to the ocean and the pool area, where the majority of our rooms are located. Our sales presentations would never last three hours unless the customer had many questions or needed time to contemplate their options. We do enjoy our location on the island and the privacy it provides; our gated, secure resort provides a complimentary shuttle to the busier marketplace about 10 minutes away. We strive to provide a relaxing and comfortable paradise for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    365
    282
    160
    200
See reviews for
361
363
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed a week at the Island Seas Resort. Originally we had booked a 2 bedroom condo, but after reading reviews, we tried to change to a 1 bedroom unit in the main part of the resort (not across the road). We called the resort in advance of our arrival, but were told that they could not change our reservation, but to check when we arrived. Upon our arrival, Sonja was very, very helpful and said she would try to accommodate us. We had to wait for a few hours to get in our room, they really don't let you in to the rooms early, but they do have a room set up for you to change clothes, use the bathroom, and wait in. Sonja was amazing and got us a third floor 1 bedroom unit facing the garden courtyard with a nice view of the ocean! She also signed us up for a "vacation club" sales presentation and promised us it would only be 90 minutes with no high pressure. She was right! We've been to a lot of these over the years, and this one was truly the least uncomfortable of any we've been to. We politely listened to what they had to offer and told them it didn't fit with our needs and they, very pleasantly, shook hands and thanked us for our time and gave us our "gifts". All the staff at the resort are very pleasant and helpful and always happy. You are always greeted with a smile and good morning/afternoon when passing someone. The bar tenders are great too. Just have patience, nothing moves too quickly in the Bahamas, but relax, you're on vacation! The resort is being updated so we did have some noise starting at 8 in the morning. Our room was roomily, except for the bathroom, which was tiny. The food in the restaurant is excellent, plus you get a 10% discount which is great. I love that there is no tax and they automatically add the 15% gratuity to the bill. It makes it so convenient. The only issue we had was the same one we've had at almost every resort we've stayed at - not enough lounge chairs - because people save chairs all day with their towels and they sit empty. I swear there would be enough chairs for everyone if people didn't save them and just used them when they actually needed them. The beach is beautiful. The free shuttle to the Marketplace takes only 10 minutes at runs every hour from 9:30 am to 6:30 pm. It would be great if there was a later shuttle so you could catch it back after dinner, say about 8:30. The taxi ride back to the property was $12 for two. Check out was a breeze - you can get your bill and settle it the night before you leave. Timmy and Tisa at the counter were really helpful. They cashed in our Bahama money for US and adjusted one of our food charges that didn't have the discount on it. I would go back there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in "B" building on the 3rd floor. Nice view of the courtyard, beach and ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your honest and detailed review. We appreciate your input and use it to make improvements where necessary. And thank you with your patience as we do make improvements to the resort. We are adding a coffee shop and updating our exercise gym, as well as the improvements to each suite’s interiors. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family and I had an opportunity to stay at Island Seas Resort last week. I must say that I have stayed at other resorts on previous trips. However, this trip was different! The staff made a difference! They were professional, courteous, friendly and very accommodating Chantell, the maid was pleasant with the most beautiful radiant smile that lit the entire room up! Manners like I have never seen during my many years of travelling to Grand Bahama! Nikki in reservations was extremely nice with my booking for a return visit as she convinced me to be here for summer jukanoo in July. Teasir and Edmond were all great! Staff can make an organization or break them/ I will return to Island Seas each year, not because the property is great and sits on a beautiful beach but because of the wonderful staff working there! I am telling all my family and friends about the wonderful people at Island Seas. Those of you reading this, when you want to feel and treated like royalty stay at Island Seas on Grand Bahama Island and request Chantell as your maid! I am in love with Island Seas, cant wait for July to return!

Room Tip: Stay on the marina side and request a room on the 3rd floor. For nature lovers the view is breath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank latico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We are so glad you and your family had a wonderful time at Island Seas. Our staff is the best because they really do care that our guests have a wonderful and relaxing vacation. We look forward to your summer visit and know that you will rewind, relax, and repeat with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just returned from our vacation last week on a Interval International trade. We were very saddened to have to leave. We were skeptical to go to this property due to all of the negative comments. Our stay was Magnificent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the Marina side which was updated, with the exception of the master and LR TV, though it is so beautiful, we never turned the BR TV on. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the resort and most of the Island is exceptionally clean. It is expensive on the Island; recommend shopping at the local grocery store as well as local liquor stores. It is very relaxed, we met great people and had a fantastic time. The resort has Bingo, Jackie is hesterical, Karoke (great dancing) and then wonder down the beach to Bernie's for incredible Lobster!!!!! The resort is constantly updating and we very much look forward to returning. Thank you

Room Tip: They offer a free shuttle to town pretty much hourly. There is no ATM on site, one thing is to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are so glad you and your family had a great time with us! We, too, feel our beach is beautiful and are glad you got to appreciate it’s beauty and calming effect. Our activities director is wonderful and she loves her job as she gets to meet wonderful guests and play with them for the week. We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort as our guests’ comments help us. Come back to RELAX, REWIND, and REPEAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our first time to the Bahamas and Island Seas.

If you are looking for a wild party spot this is not the place. However my husband and I just wanted to relax from our busy lives at home and we sure did.

Sharo was the best. She took care of all our needs. Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Next time we will go across on the Marina side it is more tranquil there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yolanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. And you’re right: our resort’s goal is to provide the perfect haven for our guests to relax and rewind. Now the third part of our motto is “return” so we can’t wait to see you again! The marina side is very relaxing and many of our guests enjoy sitting on their balconies and watching the various boats travel through the canal. See you soon as you RELAX, REWIND, and REPEAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Island Seas Resort was our destination last year and we truly enjoyed the stay there, but new owners have taken over and the list of unsightly changes are long.
Trash all over in the AM from partyers ,rolling, noisy garbage barrels across the pool deck all day long, and moving in and out of deck chairs with folks sunbathing. bumping into the chairs, with workers glaring at the visitors.
Dirty beach-front with oily sea weed chunks along the shoreline, they have really gone down hill in the last yr. In the evening the beach front smelled like sulfur and the oily chunks came rolling in with the tide. Smelly ordeal for sure.
Security is still extremely good on the beach though and thank goodness for that, because there are illegal peddlers, everywhere on the shore line, but the security keeps them in check.
The absence of towels for days at a time were very annoying, for the beach and our room.
A/c did not work in unit living room.
Not enough deck chairs for the beach or pool, old folks forced to get up and down from towels used on the ground...Just awful...
Although I sang their praises from last years trip, they are under a new owner and the love is just not there.
There were children blocking the way to the hot tub and jumping in and out of it, all after it is posted, that no children without a parent are allowed...
Greasy hair types in the pool and hot tub, you could see it on top of the water. The large pool was filthy on the bottom too.
The housekeeping department was the best ever !!! They are so sweet and polite and do such a nice job on the rooms. They are friendly, helpful and their appearance is meticulous.
The worst part ever.... The bartender's of the "Coconuts Bar", in the middle of the complex, was pouring "air" into the drinks of people during the "happy hour"...I saw with my own eyes. I watched as they added water instead of alcohol too. Bartender Tory, was the biggest offender. They serve you the drinks in super flimsy plastic cups and they get blown over by the ever present breeze and they never clean-up the bar top....The Coconuts Bar area stunk like garbage and trash also. They left all the un-eaten food from the night before to lay on the tables with the styrafoam plates everywhere. It just encouraged the birds to feed under the thatch roof.
PS, the garbage barrel pushers, should be made to use the outer side walk for their route to the dumpsters.

Never ever will we ever go back, nor recommend it. Sad for all who have pre-paid for their stays.

Room Tip: I will not recommend any room at all. Stay away...I will not share my name on FB, so as not to appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlean Dubry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our resort. We appreciate your comments and will look into making improvements where necessary. We agree that adding pool chairs around the pool is necessary as our pool gets a lot of use from all our guests. Our hot tub is for all our guests but children do need to be accompanied by an adult. If our security did not notice, please help us next time and inform our guard as the safety of our guests is so important to us. We hope you change your mind and come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was my third time at the resort and was so excited when I read that they were updating the rooms. To my disappointment the rooms are in the worst shape ever very dirty the floors were filthy and everything you touched was sticky. Staff doesn't care at all and our room got missed for cleaning. Very lazy staff. The beds are not comfy at all and it looked like someone had a huge party in the room and things are broken. I'm not interested in timeshares and they practically shove it down your throat as you are checking into the resort & someones martial status is really none of there concern. For them to say to us that they hope that they don't hear that you are looking at another property is uncalled for. Stay away from Coconuts we waited for our lunch for over 1 hour and when our food showed up it was cold. When you told them they just look at you with no response.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandGirl837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our resort. We can only assume our resort was completely booked during your visit and you must have had one of the rooms still waiting to be refurbished. We are baffled about your comment that our staff is lazy … we never hear that. In fact, we pride ourselves on customer service. Not sure what “things are broken” refers to either. Hopefully you called our Maintenance Department for assistance. Again, we regret that this wasn’t your favorite vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing