We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Seas Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Islander(Freeport)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$210
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$359
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,386)
Filter reviews
1,386 results
Traveller rating
239
396
319
192
240
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
396
319
192
240
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleport lucayabedroom condobeautiful beachlaid backlobsterrented a carthe resort offersafter reading the reviewsrelaxing vacationparadise covebad reviewswater sportshamburgertorysonyaconch
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,386 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It was our first time staying on GBI. We visited there last year while on a cruise and liked it much more than Nassau. It's natural beauty and warm people are it's greatest asset! Island Seas Resort has the nicest and most helpful employees they went out of there way to please us. It was a little difficult to slow down to island time but the phrase of the day was "relax, man". We attended the sales pitch for a time share and everything we were promised was delivered. The resort is under renovations when we were there, and the improvements will be awesome. We met wonderful people also there on vacation. The resort has a shuttle that goes to Freeport and the grocery store, but we rented a car at the airport and had the freedom to explore the island. You can go to Solomons grocery store and stock your frig for the week if you're are on a budget. Very strange driving on the opposite side of the road. We went to the International Bazaar to check it out. It's sad, it is run down and very few stores left there after the hurricanes. We also went to Port Lucaya marketplace, it has a variety of stores, some junk stores and a few upscale stores.
We both had massages in the day spa, and I have to say, I've had a lot of messages at some topnotch hotels and this was probably one of the best. We also did the glass bottom boat, it was nice, but we both got seasick, but it was still a good experience. The oceanfront condo rooms are absolutely fabulous. The beach is so close, you can almost touch it. We didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted this visit, but we are planning to go back again this year. Island Seas is a quiet, relaxing place to unwind, unless you're there during spring break. There were maybe 30 or so breakers, and they do get rowdy, but they need to unwind too. About 500 yards down the beach is Bernies. He has a dinner/bonfire on Tuesday and Thursday nights. It's 20 dollars for chicken,ribs,corn on the cob,peas and rice,2 bahama mamas, shots of rum and the bonfire. Food was not very good, but the experience great. Take a beach towel with you and spread it out on the sand and enjoy the bonfire. There are 2 restaurants, you can eat outside at the Coconuts bar or inside at the restaurant. There was a singer/guitar player each night inside at the restaurant. The food was good, not excellent. The chef salad at the bar was large enough for two and was delicious. If you like conch salad, I think it was on Queens highway a little row of shacks, one is a little bar, one is a BBQ shack and the other is run by a bahamian named Alfred. He makes the fresh conch salad in front of you and it is the best we've ever had. We had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

What a wonderful trip! It sounds like your trip was packed with both adventure and relaxation! And yes, “relax man” is certainly a key phrase down here which does take just a bit for some to get used to. But life does slow down in the Bahamas, and we are so glad you plan on returning to slow down with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Visited Island Seas in Feb-Mar..Had a great time..Most comfortable beds..Beach was awesome..Experienced the 2 dollar Bar..Won 2 games of pool..:).Taxi drivers were awesome..Hi to Craig..Thanks for everything.. Security Guard had a little to much to say about some of the Island residents..But I form my own opinions..All in all was a great resort..Definitely would stay again!!

Room Tip: I likes the rooms facing the courtyard..Could also see beach!1
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review of Island Seas. We are glad you had a good time and are impressed with your pool winnings! Our employees love visiting with our guests and you must have been a charming conversationalist … so come back and visit with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wow, after those spring breakers rolled in, we headed about. Great hotel but a few suggestions to them: dump the karaoke! Omg, screaming went on til late. And cut the breakers off at the bar; we saw a girl being carried by her friends to her room. We go go go, so we didn't gave to listen to these people too much.

Good location for getting about. Renting a car a must, but don't do it from the airport! You will pay double there. Pick up a car at the Island Seas Resort, across the street, pIsland Jeep Rentals, ask for Coleen. We did have 2 flat tires during the week, but we do travel a bit off the beaten path.

Great scuba diving close to here too. We suggest Caribbean Divers at the Bell Haven Hotel. Presleigh is the best and known to be so all over the island. The diving here is off the charts; but ya gotta love sharks, all kinds of fish and 150 pound turtles! :)

SUV

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wahinisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review of our resort. We love hearing of the successful excursions our guests have enjoyed. And hearing that our car rental service is a better deal than the airport’s is nice to hear as well. Sorry you didn't enjoy the karaoke; it’s usually a big hit from our guests! Perhaps you need to come down and participate to see how much fun it can be! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Pros: beach, balcony, new appliances. Cons: bathroom was disgusting, cockroaches, small bed, very disrespectful time share pitch.
Pros:
*The beach is amazing and redeemed our trip - when the tide is out you can walk for half a mile one direction and about three miles the other direction (7 or 8 miles total out and back) - lots to see along the beach and there is a paved path if the tide is in and you still want some exercise. Very friendly neighbours. We spent from dusk til dawn relaxing at the beach or walking.
*Our room (3014) had a balcony with a view of the courtyard and you could see a sliver of the beach. There is lots of activity at the bar - the loudest being karaoke a couple nights a week but none of it goes very late (latest was 10 p.m. on a Saturday night) and you don't hear it over the loud air conditioners. I didn't mind the noise of the a.c. because it drowned out everything else but I can see it being annoying.
*The apartment was spacious and had been recently renovated so had new couch and new appliances.
*lots of drawers and closest space.
*food in the two restaurants (its the same kitchen) was delicious and you got a lot of it. It wasn't cheap but we were able to share one meal for every meal time since there was so much.
Cons:
*no water pressure - made washing dishes and showering a nightmare.
*bathtub and shower curtain were the dirtiest I have ever seen. The bathtub had patches in the plastic lining that had been repaired - as if the tub had worn right through and they put caulking in to cover it. The drain looked like it had never been cleaned and the walls and shower curtain were covered in I don't know what!!! both my husband and I are average size (probably smaller than average) and the tub creaked while we were showering so the entire time we felt like it was going to fall through. I wanted to attach a tethering system in case I feel through to the apartment below.
*We had two of the largest cockroaches I have ever seen in our room. I understand that this is a tropical location so it comes with the territory but they were massive.
*the bed was barely a double bed. There is a pull out couch but it was very uncomfortable.
*Housekeeping only makes the bed and changes towels (sometimes). We were there for ten days and the toilet wasn't cleaned once - I cleaned the sink but otherwise it wasn't cleaned. The dish soap is the worst and they only give you a little bit of soap for the dishwasher.
*The time share sales pitch was a joke - we told them up front that we weren't staying for more than the 90 minutes that they said it would take so they cancelled the pitch rather than commit to that time limit. They also wanted to know a million things about us and we weren't comfortable giving them so much information. Sadly we are interested in a time share but they refused to provide the information to us in a timely manner so they lost out.

The beach and the local community make this a great place to go but I would only return if it was for a short visit - ten days without a good shower was too long.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review of our resort and of your experience. It sounds like you did not enjoy your tropical island visit and that you really missed the wonderful amenities you enjoy daily in your United States home.

We are glad you enjoyed walking along our beach and sitting out on your balcony admiring the view. Many guests enjoy resting, reading, and relaxing there, and we hope that you find time to revisit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The office staff does all they can to help. Timmy Rigby is the GO TO GUY! The pool is very nice and the beach is right there. Coconuts bar is fun and there is a car rental on site. Our car got a flat and they fixed it very quickly. Bring alot of your own toiletries because they are very expensive in the Bahamas.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TKDMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found our staff helpful. We do have a car rental service on site, and a second option is to use our complimentary shuttle service to the marketplace for your shopping and dining. Coconuts is a fun restaurant which allows you to get something to eat while still enjoying the pool or beach. Did you come and do the karaoke at Coconuts? Many of our guests really enjoy that with our social director. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews