We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 days in Paradise at Island Seas Resort”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Gormley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“11 days in Paradise at Island Seas Resort”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been at Island Seas before. Each time just gets better than the time before. The resort is currently renovating but none of the renovations bothered us. The staff at the resort go out of their way to make you feel at home, they are friendly and remember little things that you like, whether it be a drink or peanut butter sandwich (LOL). I cannot thank all of the staff from front desk to bartenders to wait staff and housekeeping and activity director for all their efforts in making our stay extraordinary. We had the all inclusive plan and the food was wonderful. The restaurant has a great menu with many new items, and even the kids loved the Pizza.
The beach at Island Seas is white, looks like icing sugar in the morning when the sun is shining on it. It is cleaned daily and it is very private and secluded. One could not ask for a nicer beach or better location.
The pool was wonderful a little cool at first but we still enjoyed it on a daily basis.
Our family loved the activities especially the Bingo and the Karaoke at night with Talia the activities Director. She really gets everyone in the mood and even some of our shyest guests got up to sing. We had a marvelous time.
They have a little general store on the premises that offers quite an assortment of items from groceries to suntan lotions. The shuttle is free and takes you into Port Lucaya on the hour and runs all day until 6:30 pm.
We left the resort one day to do an excursion and went to Goldrock beach which is where Disney filmed the Pirates of the Carribbean, all I can say is WOW what an absolutely gorgeous beach. One of the bartenders arranged if for us (Tory) with Nolan and we also visited Garden of the Groves, Ben's Cave and a Indian burial cave. Alot of history. Ben's caves is full of bats in the summer it is their nursery which is very interesting. We also made a trip with Nolan into downtown Freeport and that was really fun and we bought local fruit and coconut pie (like peanut brittle from one of the local vendors), it was so good it didn't last long.
All in all Island Seas is very safe, has a marvelous beach, absolutely wonderful outstanding staff, the rooms are being upgraded for our pleasure, and alot of new things coming to this resort. Don't listen tot he negative reviews, go for yourself and relax, be on Island time and enjoy things we cannot enjoy at home. Tranquility, beautiful beach and ocean, and alot of fun.
I would highly recommend this resort to families, couples and anyone that wants to wind down.
Huge thanks to Tory, Anesha, Talia, Angela, Semy, Germaine, Cogan, Michelle, Jackie, Timmy, and anyone else I may have forgotten.'
once again you made our vacation an memorable one.

Room Tip: Bring suntan lotion, toothpaste, cereal if you can very expensive on the Isand. The rooms on the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vandorfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation with us! We love hearing that families had a wonderful and relaxing time with us, especially when we hear that you also ventured out and explored our beautiful island. Ben’s Cave and Port Lucaya both provide totally different adventures, and we’re glad you enjoyed both. And then we love hearing that you returned and had enough energy to enjoy karaoke …. What songs did you sing? Come back soon to relax, rewind, and repeat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    376
    294
    165
    213
See reviews for
379
385
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Island Seas for a week in March 2014. I don't like writing less than average reviews, but unfortunately, I am for this location.
The title is Island Seas Resort, but we were there because we were given the timeshare for the week for our honeymoon. I wouldn't exactly call it a resort - like other reviews have mentioned, it's more like rental living. They are currently remodeling, so maybe they realize they need to have more resort-like amenities. It is a smaller place -that can be good, or bad! It's easy to get around and no matter where you stay, you are close to the lobby, pool, and beach. It also doesn't offer to much extras. The pool is rather small compared to any resort I have been to and is FREEZING cold. The week we were there, only a few children went in it for a short time as did I so I could at least say I went in the pool. The hot tub on the ocean side of the resort is nice but the hot tub that was across the street with the other buildings was very cold. We had to put a towel on a lounge chair by 9 or 10am if we wanted to sit by the pool
There is one indoor restaurant as well as an outdoor restaurant/bar. We had lunch there our first day and that was it. The food was fine and was priced similarly to other restaurants in Freeport; same with the drinks. We drove about 5 minutes to the grocery store, Soloman's and got breakfast and lunch food for the week since there was a nice kitchenette in the room.
As for the room, it was definitely a nice size. It had a kitchenette, small dining room, and living room with a tv. The tv in the first room we stayed in was not working very well so it was hard to watch any television as we settled in for the evening. The bathroom had a nice sized sink and vanity but the shower curtain had mold and the shower head was not very good. The bed in the bedroom was as hard as a rock. We were not really able to sleep because it was so unbelievably hard. The lack of sleep we were able to get forced us to change rooms. When we changed rooms to a different building, the shower curtain was clean and the shower head was better. The bed was softer but you would sink into the middle of it! We figured it was at least better than the first one!
The full cleaning service is on Wednesdays. In our first building, they cleaned everything every day, made our beds, and replenished the towels. When we moved buildings, we got a pile of new towels placed on our bathroom sink daily, and the garbage was dumped.
As for the beach, it was really pretty! It was roped off but we found that we had to go on the outside of the ropes or else we would be walking on large and painful rocks in a large section of the water. The water was nice and was actually warmer than the pool. That's not saying too much since it was still chilly! We were always able to get a lounge chair, no matter the time we went to the beach.
The resort is only about a 5-10 minute drive to Port Lucaya, which is where most people would spend their evenings. It is also about a 10-15 minute drive to the Wednesday night Fish Fry at Smith point. We rented a car so it was very convenient to get around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SLK1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are glad you chose the Bahamas as your honeymoon location. Wish the weather would have been a bit warmer for you! Our resort is not as large as some resorts but we think of this as an advantage: you don’t need a car to get to the pool or restaurant. Everything is easy to get to and that makes relaxing easier. We hope you and your spouse will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Englewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Island Seas is a small, quiet resort. If you are looking for an exciting night-life, go somewhere else. If you are looking for a beautiful beach and peace and quiet to rest and relax, this is what you’re looking for.

The airport is a short 15 minute drive. Check-in was chaotic and slow. The resort is remodeling, so perhaps when it is finished, it won’t be so chaotic. We were given a one bedroom, ocean front room. The view was beautiful! The kitchen had new appliances, a fully stocked kitchen with dishes and silverware for 4, new furniture (sofa bed), table and chairs, a flat screen TV, and a deck with chairs, loungers, and a table. The bedroom also had a flat screen TV but (unfortunately) a soft, bouncy, queen-size bed. The unit was clean, towels were replaced daily, and maid service was provided mid-week.

The property is located on a beautiful beach with enough towels, loungers and chairs for everyone. The lifeguards helped everyone find seating on the beach. Also on the beach is a towel hut, and a bingo/activity hut. The woman who ran the activities was the best I have seen at any resort anywhere. Jet ski rental, professional photography and various tours could be arranged at the activities hut.

A large covered bar (Coconuts) with bar and table seating is in the center of the property. Lunch was served here. The onsite restaurant, Seagrape Grill, had tasty food, priced similarly to other restaurants on the island. After a week though, the food became repetitive. The restaurant staff is both the biggest problem and the biggest asset for the restaurant. The staff is friendly and welcoming. They seem genuinely glad you are there; however, service is painfully slow. Two hours for dinner (no dessert) was normal, and we could see no good reason for the slow service. We experienced slow food service at both Coconuts and the Seagrape Grill.

The resort pool is lovely, but the water is not heated and due to the cool weather, few people used the pool. The resort also has a Jacuzzi, playground, shuffleboard, and a (coin operated) laundry for guest use.

There is currently a small store, gift shop, spa and gym. As stated, the resort is remodeling. They are moving the gym, spa, and gift shop to the main building. All will be updated. They are also adding a Starbucks coffee shop to the main building.

If you think of Island Seas as a weekly rental complex instead of a resort, you won’t be disappointed. Their motto is, “Welcome Home.” We talked to many owners who have been visiting for 20+ years and most of the staff gives guests a welcome home experience. We felt, due to size, they cannot offer what many resorts offer.

Room Tip: Blue Marlin (pool view), Coral (ocean front) and Dolphin (ocean front) are the best buildings. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the detailed review. It will help many travelers decide if this is the right resort for their needs. And you are right, we do not try to be a place for wild parties and loud events. We prefer to help vacationers relax and enjoy our beautiful island. We do have many water sports and day excursions, resort activities, and shopping/dining experiences on our island. Hoping you, too, think of this as your 2nd home and will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A bunch of friends and I went here for a final trip together for a relaxing spring break. Since Freeport is less touristy than Nasa that is exactly what we got. We had an amazing time. The hotel staff is super friendly and is helpful with everything. Drinks and food are also reasonably priced for someone living on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View Room! Then a walk to the beach is right outside your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that your final trip with your college friends was relaxing and amazing. We pride ourselves on customer service and appreciate hearing that our staff was helpful. We are glad that even college students find our prices reasonable; we know that college students, especially those with the Boston college tuition costs, must be financially conscientious, even while on vacation. We hope your future travels bring you and your friends back together at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I loved my week long stay at the Island Seas. The staff was very friendly. I especially loved the bartenders. I ate at the resort all but one night- I thought the food was that good and loved the atmosphere. The beach was stunning; very clean, not crowded, and beautiful. I thought we had a nice room, although I hardly spent anytime in it. The resort offers plenty of amenities and activities, and there are nice shopping areas within a short drive. I had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funsize002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What a lovely recap of your vacation at our resort! We love the positive responses concerning our new Chef and his new menu. We hope you tried some of the delicious meals that are commonly made here in the Bahamas! Our bartenders enjoy their job as they get to meet travelers, overlook the beach, and help you have a relaxing stay at our resort. We’ll see you soon when you “Relax, Rewind, and Repeat” with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived on Mar 1st at Island Seas and were pleasantly surprised because of the reviews I had read. There were 3 of us and I traded out timeshare for a two bedroom. Yes, we were across the street. Its only a few steps away from the lobby and has a beautiful view of the canal. It was quiet and we found the rooms, kitchen and bathrooms clean and comfortable. My husband had an issue with the pillows but the rest of us were fine. The beach was clean and we always found 3 chairs. The only thing missing was someone taking bar orders while you were enjoying the beach. There was no swim up bar that I could tell although there seem to be a spot for it. No big deal! We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant almost everyday but tried to go to out for dinner. The free shuttle was a BIG plus! Although it did have its last pickup in town at 6:40pm. We did not rent a car for the week but did rent a Jeep for a day and that was right on the property. Overall we were happy with our stay. No need to worry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. It is one way we can tell what we can do to make the vacations of our guests even better. We are proud of our resorts and are happy that we have the best of both worlds: a beautiful beach and pool area as well as a calm and relaxing canal view. Glad you always were able to get chairs, but we also recently received a new shipment and have plenty poolside now. Our swim up bar is on the back side of Coconuts restaurant … near the hot tub … come back soon and discover it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'm just back from 12 days at this great resort. This is my third year staying there and I'm already planning next year's trip. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The beds are comfortable and there is a kitchenette in every room. The restaurant has a variety of choices to please every taste and the bar is well stocked. The staff in every area of the resort, from restaurant to bar, front desk to security are fantastic. They are all so pleasant and willing to assist you with anything you might need from answering a question to giving you directions to an out of the way beach or shop. There is a children's wading pool and a swimming pool as well. The beach is a soft, almost white, sand with shade available if you want it. There are many activities to keep you busy if you want or a nice lounge chair at the beach or the pool if that is what you prefer to do. The year included a trip to downtown Freeport, where I felt welcomed and safe, a trip to Gold Rock beach (where Pirates of the Carriabbean 2 & 3 was filmed) and a special dinner at Luciano's, an upscale restaurant in Port Lucaya. It was a great trip to a place I know I'll return too.

Room Tip: The staff will do their best to accomodate you as you request. There are only three floors but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We love getting great reviews, but more so, we LOVE knowing that you enjoyed your vacation so much! We are working hard to ensure our guests all enjoy their free time as much as you did. Glad you ventured to Gold Rock Beach, as many tourists don’t know about that area. Next visit we challenge you to discover where in Freeport “Zeus and Roxanne” (1997) was filmed! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,003 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing