We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach.....TERRIBLE service!”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice beach.....TERRIBLE service!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our third trip to Freeport. The previous two, we stayed at a different resort (which we liked better). The facility was clean, the beach was awesome. Service is where the resort is lacking. First off, we had to pay for Wi-Fi @ $40 per device for the week. The Wi-Fi was VERY slow, and most times we gave up. If you go to Port Lucaya, you can pick up free Wi-Fi from most of the businesses, and it was a lot quicker. We witnessed a lot of the employees at Island Seas walking around, or sitting around on their cell phones ~ we assume using the internet. Most times, you had to ask for their attention or help to get them off their phones. Not sure if that was what was making the Wi-Fi connection slow, or not. But regardless, employees should not be on their cell phones during work.

The Coconuts Bar at the resort also had poor service. Not a friendly bartender AT ALL. We felt as if we were inconveniencing him by ordering a drink. Also, the automatic 15% gratuity is ridiculous. I don't mind tipping for great service, in fact we are usually about a 25% tipper. Beware.... don't tip on your bill at the bar or the restaurant because they already add it in. Moving on to the 'Pool Bar'. Yes.. there is a swim up bar in the pool. It doesn't look like it has been used in years. There was nothing stocked in it but a bunch of old bar stools. Shouldn't advertise that you have a pool bar in the ammenities if you aren't ever opening it. I understand in the off season...but May? There were many people in the pool, so it's not like there wasn't a need for it. Everybody had to walk up to the backside of the bar and try to get the bartender's attention to get served. The on-site restaurant was ok. The only waiter worth anything was Seme...he was awesome, always checking to see if you need anything. Other than that, the employees all know they are going to get 15% tip no matter how poor/slow service they give you.

The beach was very nice and clean. Lots of chairs and fresh towels, great water for swimming, lots of room to fly our kite. They have a photographer on site that comes out to take pictures you can purchase. (Again, on his cell phone while he was going through the pictures with us?!)
The best part of the beach is Bernies. Walk down to the left and you'll find him...he cooks a mean lobster and has ice cold beer! Had lunch there just about every day. He does a beach bonfire party too. He is a great guy!

The rooms were clean and housekeeping kept you supplied with fresh towels daily. Minimal supplies in the kitchen...no paper towels, only 2 drinking glasses, and like 4 small ones, no measuring cup, no fry pan, etc. I feel these are things that should automatically be in a kitchen, like who brings that stuff with them on vacation??? There was a sketchy incident where we were walking by our room mid-day and 'security' was knocking on our door. They said they needed to check our fire extinguisher. I asked them to open the door for me (which they did without even asking our name or confirming that the room even belonged to us!) The two guys went to the kitchen, looked at the fire extinguisher, wrote something on their clipboard, and left. The fire extinguisher had just been serviced April 29th, only nine days prior, and had the hold punched as per normal procedure. The 'security team' didn't note anything on the extinguisher tag that it had been inspected that day. Not really sure why they were wanting in our room. Seems to us that an inspection would be something done PRIOR to guests arriving. After that, we requested a "Do Not Disturb" sign from the front desk and left it on our door when we were gone.

We met lots of fun people at the resort, and had a great time. Due to the poor service and the attitudes of the employees, however, we will not be staying at this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate you taking your time to review our resort so that we can make improvements. It definitely sounds like we need to review our cell phone policy with our employees. While we cannot control our WiFi connection speed, we can certainly improve the service and speed that you, as our guest, gets served. Please accept my sincerely apology for the poor service and please reconsider your resort options. We would love to have you come back and enjoy our resort … and enjoy our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    372
    290
    164
    205
See reviews for
369
381
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love to travel. I have had the opportunity through my career to have visited Several European countries, all of central and South America and some of Africa . My husband on the other hand , his travels has been very limited and yet, when we discuss each year where we want to vacation , we begin with many different ideas and at that time it always sounds wonderful to me that he wants to try something new. However , as the dates for traveling approach, he and I end up looking at each other and saying" let's go home". Yes, Island Seas Resort is home. All the staff make it a home !
From Tawari and Cheryl Rodgers to Barbara on the janitorial staff and everyone in between, they are so pleasant, customer oriented, and they really make every effort, everyday, to ensure that your stay is all and more than you would expected it to be. The new photographer, Ray-chard, added such a fun dimension to the resort that I particularly have to mention his name. ( and he is an excellent photographer).
This year the resort made so many improvements and we were quite pressed that in one year so much was done. And they continue with a new Gym, a new spa and even a Starbucks.
Also picnic tables, grills and an excellent water park. We are looking forward to going "home" again next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are so glad to hear that Island Seas is your “home away from home”. And we are working to improve the resort every day! We are glad you appreciate the improvements … the nearby water park is open now and we hope you will be able to use the new gym the next time you come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We came to SCUBA dive and loved Sunn Odyssey. We also enjoyed a Reef fishing trip. The fish were fileted and made us 2 meals with 4 adults. The room was clean except the floor must have never been mopped and out feet would be black from walking around inside. Receiving our "Welcome" packet we were told if we left a $10.00 deposit that we could get coding for 4 devices to use the WiFi and would just have to attend a short presentation. We already have 2 timeshares and do not want another. The same woman called to confirm we would attend. When I told her no, then we got the catch. If we did not attend the 90 min. presentation we could be charged over $60 for each device. This was very irritating. I thought we would just lose $10. We told them we did not want the breakfast, just get on with the presentation. The sales woman stalled and stalled starting the presentation. After 2 hours and much pestering we finally said we came to get the Internet charges dropped. So we wasted 2 hours and still had to pay around 250.00. We were so angry. I eventually went to the same woman that gave us the codes and phoned us just stating that I wanted her to know it was not how she said it would be. Later that afternoon she phoned us again and took me to get the voucher for the WiFi. I also got my $10.00 back. Do not take the internet option no matter what they say you will receive. Also do not fall into the presentation attendance and prizes to be won. Other than this, the trip was great.

Room Tip: We loved across the street with a Marina view. It was quiet and relaxing. Also we wanted the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Island Seas. We are glad you were able to have a great vacation with us, and it sounds like you enjoyed plenty of Caribbean adventures. Island floors always have the unfortunate situation of holding sand and will remind you that you are on an island. Regrettably, your WiFi situation was mishandled and we have taken steps with all of our front desk staff to ensure a clear explanation of what the WiFi package entails is explained to our guests. It is refreshing that bringing your concern to our staff did immediately rectify the situation financially and you did not lose any money on the WiFi because of the misunderstanding. We’re glad you enjoyed your vacation and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just returned from Island Sea Resort the last week of May . I could say that it was a beautiful vacation . I will recommend my family & friends to stay at this resort. We had the best service ever. This is our second time going to the Bahamas but to different resort and I will return to Island Seas. I would like to let everybody know that if you stay at Island Sea you will come I touch with great people like my favorite of them all is Oveta Greene she will make you feel like if you are home . She will take great care of you will you are at Island Seas. Second is my man Timmy he is awesome and I can't forget about the bartender Jermaine he is one cool dude.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Island Seas. We’re glad you had a great vacation with us and that Island Seas feels like home already. We like hearing that our service was up to the standards we require: helping our guests relax and unwind but not make anyone wait for long. It’s great to hear our staff helped make your vacation great. We’re looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was the second time going, the first time we went was only a 3 day teaser, this time we decided on a full week.
Based on the high costs of everything!! This will be the last time! We had to attend a time share presentation, which they pester you to go to! When you do attend and try and say no, they become less than welcoming and border line rude!!
The restaurant is wayyy over price for the quality of food you receive.
The camera dude hounds you several times a day, he even bothered me when I was out in the ocean for a nice swim, very irritating!!
On the upside the beach is beautiful, not over crowed, and the locals along the beach are super friendly and welcoming! One tip go along the beach for good food at a reasonable price!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mgeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Island Seas. We apologize that the island pricing wasn't up to your standards. Hopefully, you enjoyed the Caribbean atmosphere and passing time with the locals. Our beach is always beautiful and the best way to unwind. We hope you can find the time to revisit us and return to the relaxing beach lifestyle here at Island Seas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

West Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from the island seas the last week of may. I read many negative reviews on the place and was a little worried . It was such a great vacation. Did not run into any problems. Everyone was great. Sonya checked us in she was wonderful. Anything you needed she was there. Tim was great for check out. amazing Karaoke night so much fun. Dominick the life guard great guy. No pushy venders on the beach. Security very high. Bartenders nice. Food great. Beach and pool beautiful. We used Adrian from am transportation excellent prices. Ask for his number at the desk Only negative thing was Monday grocery run. Prices at Solomon way to high. Granola bars 15.00. Pack any snacks you can. Can't wait to return next year. Bernie's bonfire great. A very relaxing place. Not a partying place. Meet nice friends here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taken4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We’re so glad to hear you had a great time! It sounds like you've made some great friends here at the resort and made the most of all the amenities offered. Karaoke always seems to be a favorite amongst our guests; which songs did you sing? Thanks for taking the time to share your positive vacation experience and we can wait to see you next year for some more relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Island Seas Resort is located on a beautiful beach. The rental prices are very reasonable plus the condos are clean and well supplied.

The only problem I had on my recent visit was the very slow service at the restaurant and front desk. In fact, I was kept waiting at both locations while the female staff members argued with each other. These staff members were very "skilled" at ignoring guests.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay the extra $ to stay at the beach location and not across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Guest Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your vacation experience at Island Seas. We’re glad you enjoyed the beach lifestyle and reasonable pricing. Our room service staff takes pride in keeping the rooms clean and well stocked with whatever you would need. We apologize for the speed of the service, adjusting to the slower island pace can be a challenge. We’re glad you enjoyed your vacation with us and we’re looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing