We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Island Seas”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just got back from a week at Island Seas and we loved it. They were a little pushy trying to get you to sit in on a timeshare presentation but once you firmly say no (three times to two different people), there was not an issue.
The staff is lovely, a little reserved but very nice. We enjoyed both restaurants especially the buffet meal they had on Saturday night at the Seagrape. Very reasonable at $21.95 a person and great food. The drinks at happy hour were yummy especially the coconut sunset. Not very potent but yummy.
A little disappointed that the pool bar wasn't open the whole week but maybe because it is a shallow pool and used more by the kids than the adults although we used it a lot.
The beach is paradise; white sand, turquoise waters and just delightful. The first day it was very rocky on the beach but then Tropical Storm Arthur came through and cleaned the beach and it was lovely again, so maybe bring water shoes but after the storm they would not have been needed.
We originally stayed on the Marina side but wanted a two bedroom as our adult son was traveling with us so we paid to upgrade to a two bedroom and moved to the beach side. We personally liked it much better on the ocean side of the street and didn't have a problem with noise as some commented. We were in the Blue Marlin building overlooking the pool with an ocean view from the balcony.
You must walk down the beach to the left and try Bernie's Tiki hut. YUM...our best meal of the week. We had the grilled lobster tails and boy were they delish. And Chef Bernie is a hoot. What a nice man.
The complimentary shuttle into town was a nice perk and we used it several times during the week.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank TinaOceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

What a pleasant review of your vacation week! As you probably noticed, our resort has quite a few areas being remodeled, and our pool bar is on the list! Interestingly enough, when the pool bar is open and serving yummy drinks, a lot more adults use it than the kids … I’m sure there’s a correlation there! We have experienced a few rough storms this summer, but our beach always seems so nice and clean after them. Glad you enjoyed the buffet meal; we are experimenting with our various restaurant events, and finding what our guests want and need is helpful! Get your son and come back to relax, rewind, and repeat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The people who work there were really friendly. We got the option of being in a room that was beach front or marina front. We stayed in a marina front room.

We didn't have to leave the resort to go to the beach. We found locals who stewed fresh seafood right on the beach, and it was delicious.

Drinks were pretty good. The restaurants were expensive, but we enjoyed some cracked conch at the bar. My family are island folks so we ate a lot of fresh conch, so good!

Not sure how this happened but we were given 4 free tickets to go on a glass bottom boat tour. Definitely got a little sea sick, but it was a lot of fun feeding fish in the middle of the Caribbean, for free at that!

We met a cab driver named Tony who was amazing! He drove us around for the week. One day, he took us on a tour of the island, which ended with a trip to his house drinking fresh coconut water with his wife, children, and grandchildren. It does not get better than that. Loved Tony.

The one complaint I had was not a reflection on the resort, it was the price of everything in Freeport. What an expensive place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeraIsTheTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty and understanding of travel and marketing. Obtaining items (like food and drinks) for our guests incurs an additional fee since we order in smaller quantities and have to pay shipping to our small, tropical island. That’s the price all small islands pay … a small price for paradise! Many guests prefer our marina option since it is a bit more private and quiet. And yet others prefer to be close to our many pool and beach activities. We are glad you had a great week, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here June 14-21st. Upon arrival at 10:30am we knew our room would not be ready so we changed and hit the beach. We waited, waited and waited all the while being told "your room will be ready soon". After finally threatened to sell our timeshare we were given a room at 5pm.

The resort is in need of repair, the pool bar swim up is closed, bar is always open, however the drinks are metered and weak pours. There is only ONE grocery store free run on Monday, otherwise you are left to taking a cab which is $24 plus tip, just to go mid-week for things you may have run out of or need. My suggestion would be to offer a daily run to the grocery.

Towels - we received beach towels (4) the first day and never were provided any others for the whole trip. When we went to the beach towel kiosk, they were always out "but we will have some soon". They never did.

Beach trolls - they will harass you the entire trip to buy everything, even though you tell them no a thousand times. Sometimes this makes it hard to enjoy a quiet beach walk with your partner, friends or wife.

Shuttle to downtown - runs on the half hour and for returns - this is good but they can't seem to make a stop at the grocery store which is 5 min away - keeps you buying food at the restaurant I guess and I understand, but these are condo's for owners. Maybe we just want to cook in vs eating at your restaurant every night. Once you tour downtown the first time you've seen everything.

UNESCO - great dive and snorkeling trips, a top notch outfit, I would use them again.

Overall based on my week stay, I would look for some other resort but in Freeport there isn't much to choose from either. This is a timeshare that should be sold if you are an owner. The service was terrible.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abaco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

It is always difficult to please all our guests all the time. It appears you did not enjoy your week with us and we are sorry. We have so many wonderful assets at our resort; we are saddened that you did not enjoy your vacation time with your loved ones. We hope that you spoke to our management staff on our property so that adjustments could be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I did my homework before we booked our time share here and it looked like it would be a great experience, it was at best ok. upon arrival we waited for our room ,they have no early checkin,,There is a hospitality room and the pool and beach to wait by which was fine. by the time we got to our room after 3hours waiting the floors were very dirty with more then one dead bug on the floor, be prepared to wear something on your feet in the rooms, the bathroom was not well kept, there were 4 towels in the room, no floor mat, hand towels or wash clothes, had to ask for all the above the air conditioner was very loud and rattled all the time due to not being mounted properly. The wifi on the marina side was poor,you have to be outside closest to the main building to get any services , after spending 140$ on wifi I got all my money back and had free wifi the rest of the time there., wifi service was good near the pool and main building..
the beach and pool were very nice, be prepared to not be able to get a towel for the beach...they were not available 4 out of the 7 times I needed one. After complaining to management I was very disappointed with the service.
food was at best ok ,not overly expensive ,but the market is a bit pricey. all activities have a fee.
the diving was excellent through Caribbean divers, and the dolphin swilm was wonderful. taxi runs about 25 a trip, be prepared to bargain, free shuttle was perfect. karaoke was fun as was the fish fry

Room Tip: beach or pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you and your group enjoyed the various available activities. Our island helps vacationers relax and unwind from the stresses of their lives; everything here is slower, no rushes, no worries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Island Seas last week for two nights as part of the Bahamas Celebration cruise package. We'd already seen photos and read the heavily mixed reviews, so we somewhat knew what we were getting into. However, there were a couple of things that we weren't expecting. When we arrived, I knew to ask for an ocean view room in the main section of the resort. We were told to wait until 4pm for our room to be ready, which seemed like an outrageous amount of time for a Tuesday arrival. When we finally got to our room, it was across the street on the bottom floor. I immediately called to see about getting another room, but was told that the entire resort was booked across the street. There is just no way for that to have possibly been true. The resort was not that crowded. However, they were able to move us to a unit on the top floor, which was okay. The room was clean, but very minimalist. No art on the walls. Very little in the way of kitchen supplies (no baking sheets, no pans). The bed was super old and squeaky, but it slept fine. We attended their time share presentation because of the offer for free excursions. Given the information they gave about membership and the tour of the Oceanside room, we figured out that you'd have to be a member at the resort to get the best of everything. In all, the resort is old and a little run down. The beach is absolutely breathtaking with crystal blue water and soft sand. The Sea Grape restaurant had good food (try the Caribbean wings!), but Coconuts had overpriced cocktails. There was a ton of sand in the marina side hot tub. Most of the suction covers were off at the bottom of the hot tub, as well, which meant legs, feet, and anything else could get sucked into it - OUCH! The snorkeling adventure was very cool. The staff was very nice and helpful. In my opinion, it wasn't worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crzytrvlr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for coming and staying at our resort. We hope you enjoyed the trip to our island; we hear wonderful comments about the Celebration Cruise Line. We always try to honor requests, so although our resort Oceanside didn’t appear full, it must have been if rearrangements were necessary to get you on that side. I have reported the missing covers to our Maintenance Department; and the double-edged sword of living on the beach is that that beautiful white sand gets everywhere! We hope you’ll come back again and let us get it perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the island sea resort for 8 days June 14 to 22 and had a two bedroom with a view of the ocean. We liked the resort, the pool was nice, beach was beautiful.

We encountered good service at the bar, restaurant, housekeeping and on site rental. Our best experience was with Nolan the taxi driver. He took us around and even gave us a tour of the grand lycana national park. He was so knowledgeable of the area and history. He is truly a good person and was always there when we needed him.

We did have issues with the front desk and timeshare portion. We got there at 11am but check in wasn't until 4. At 5pm we finally got a room after standing and watching them from the lobby. We were told if you do the timeshare tour on our vacation they would waive the wifi. We agreed to take two hours out of our vacation because wifi for 4 would cost us 280 if we didn't.

Well wifi was horrible. My son had to go to the pool most of the time to get a signal and even then it was spotty. Being international that was the only way we planned to communicate with the states. Luckily we didn't have an emergency because the wifi didn't work half the time.

We decided not to do the tour because our first impression and wifi was obvious we would never purchase there. We received a call every morning at 8, 10 until we disconnected the phone.

When we checked out, it took us an hour due to their credit card machine going down and they can't call to get approval. We had to wait until the concierge got there at 930. The Manager doesn't come in until 10 and this was a Sunday checkout day. We had to check out by 10 and get to the airport.

Once they get the front office and wifi fixed they will be an amazing resort. We loved freeport much better than Nassau and the people we met outside the front desk area were so nice and friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank awpkville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are glad you and your family had a great time at Island Seas. We do think our beach is lovely and really enjoy hearing that you, too, appreciated its beauty. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced with our desk and appreciate your patience. The many spring storms have done horrible things with our phone and internet service. We are working hard on getting things backs to normal. Come back and rewind, relax, and repeat with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

almost no children activities, food choice is limited to fast food type of deep fry only. minimum waiting time for order lunch or dinner is 1.5 hours.
Anything you though fun will be away from the resort, and unless you rent a car or taxi, which is expensive. The hotel shuttle only goes to Freeport Marketplace, which is 20 minutes driving, even there food choice is limited, let alone any fresh fruite you would like to have for a weekly long stay.
Room is standarded, bathroom showers are poorly design and equipped. Beddings are poor quality too.
Never go there again

Room Tip: ask to have a look first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer_Island_Seas, Public Relations Manager at Island Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We hate hearing that one of our customers had a bad experience. It’s true; our resort is extremely relaxing and we try to help our guests escape from the busyness and rushing in their typical day-to-day lives. We hope that if you ever need a quiet, restful vacation, you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,018 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £105 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing