We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BORING- MIDDLE OF NOWHERE”
Review of Island Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Seas Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Warren, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“BORING- MIDDLE OF NOWHERE”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

this hotel looked fun and entertaining online but it is far from anywhere else. it is in the middle of the Bahamian houses. Port Lucaya, the best and only hot spot for shopping, restaurants, casinos and boats, is a long drive away. The staff is pushy towards women and people try selling you things on the beach taking away from the relaxing atmosphere. This place was just so boring!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamamama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    372
    290
    164
    205
See reviews for
369
381
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We went with another couple (ages 48-53) from March 6-13. We stayed in a 2-bedroom first floor behind the Seagrape Restaurant. Condo was very nice and clean, towels were small and very thin, took 2 days to get a coffee maker (bring your own filters and coffee). The restaurant was over priced ($53 for breakfast for 4 w/small portions). We took advantage of the shuttle to the grocery store on Monday, prices are high - but cheaper than paying the $7 for a hotdog on the beach. Good luck getting beach towels, kept telling us another 1/2 hour, and it took about 3 hours. A lot of college spring breakers, which kept the beach hopping, otherwise it would have been dull. Drinks are pricey, we bought alcohol at the duty free in the airport, and would make our own drinks to take to beach/pool. Nothing to do there in the evening. We slept in the back bedroom, which was very noisy, we could hear the breakers coming back from the bars at 2:00a.m. We did take the "Booze Cruise" one night, left the port late so never saw the sunset. Walked the beach to Bikini Bottoms Bar for dinner Sunday night, not impressed - walk down a little further to the $2 Bar twice, any drink for $2, Sands beer 2/$5, they serve a great burger or 1/4 bbq chicken w/fries for $5 (west of resort) and the locals treat you great. For great Bahama Mamas walk the beach to the east to a little shack, the owner's name is Spider), also serve food. Spent one day in Port Lucaya, not impressed, it's a tourist trap for the cruise ships. Resort staff was very friendly and accomodating, you just have to remember that a Bahamian minute = an American 1/2 hour. This is not a top notch resort, but you are not paying top dollar either. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel,California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We arrived on 2/20 at night. The cab fare from the airport was $22 (there was a chart on cab fees posted). We got a room across the street on the 3rd floor. There is no elevator (OK for us, not OK if you have problems). The room was pleasant, large, back porch facing a nice waterway. Had to call for missing items; took about 1 1/2 hrs. Not good: mattress and pillows were BAD as were the livingroom cushins, water heater in bedroom closet was loud so we switched it off every night, tile floors were dirty ( maid would sweep, not wet mop), towels have seen better days, swimming pool was cold, fee for beach towels. It was cold so we didnt use the beach but it was very pretty. It was nice to have a shuttle to the Lucaya Market Place. We used the bus system a lot but never did figure it out ($1.25 per trip, $2 from Lucaya to hotel). There was no charge for using the laundry room but bring your own detergent (and coffee, by the way, for the room!). We had the option of listening to the 90 minute timeshare schpeil & elected to take it so we could get big discounts on several activities (took 3 hours). Were able to rent a car across the street at Island Rental for $50 for 24 hours. Do it, it was great and easy to drive on the left. We ate at the restaurant one time for dinner. The conch (first time) was good and the server was very nice. On Friday night, I called the front desk to find out if there was live music at the bar. They said no. Came down later to use WiFi, live band was just packing up!! I guess I would recommend it with several warnings. But as I always say, a bad day (because of the cold, wet, thunder/lighting storms) in the Bahamas is better than a good day at work :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We booked this trip through Great Times Vacation as part of a package. My advice first is not to book through Great Time Vacations. They tell you only part information. The overall atmosphere of the Bahamas is very relaxed. Check in was 4pm, we arrived early and the hotel kept our bags while we enjoyed the resort. We went back app. 4:30 no room was ready yet. We paid extra for an upgrade to an ocean front one bedroom condo, (I confirmed before we left the states), through the travel agency, only to be told by the resort that those rooms were only for time share owners, we were given a room that was under construction, no locks on the doors, no bedding on the bed, and the toilet wasn't set. So we walked all the way back to the main lobby, waited in line another 45 minutes, only to be told they had no room for us. Finally about 7pm we were given a room facing a cement wall, not what I assumed I had requested and paid for, but management wouldn't give us any of the ocean front rooms, that were not occupied and were not occupied all week by the way. At this resort they automatically add a 15% gratuity on everything, regardless of the service which is slow at best. This resort also does not have a shuttle service to and from the ports or airport. You have to get a taxi and it is $50.00 each way. We did not have towels until the following morning and actually had to get them from the maid while she was cleaning a different room. Beach towels were never available either. The other thing is that tourists pay a $15.00 per night per person tax. Surprise at checkout!! Overall it is a beautiful view from the beach. I don't blame the resort for its policy, just the travel agency for miscommunication and only giving a partial overview of costs. One last thing is the mandatory tour we had to take according to the resort, so we did and it was the worst ever. Our tour "guide" was hostile, beligerent and just down right rude when we weren't interested in buying a time share, we contacted management and were told "well we are in the business to sell ownership, he's just doing his job."

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdnaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!WORST EXPERIENCE FROM CHECKING IN, DIRTY ROOM - WE HAD MICE IN OUR ROOM ---HENCE THE CATS ON THE PROPERTY! Staff are rude, hot tub worked 2 out or 6 nights, pool was freezing cold even in wetsuits. We had to haul our own beach chairs to our spot. Staff tried to put us across the street when we rented an "owner's" unit, of which we could see only 2 occupied in the one building. We paid over $900 for an absolutely terrible experience. Never, ever, will we return to this property!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaboju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Yes they are slow to sign in. The rooms are comfortable but needs upgrade (fridge couch)
Everytime I ask for something It took a few hours but I did receive it.
The bar man very slow. Someone talk about loud music. I was there for 2 weeks and they had music only 1 night. wow! and it stop around 10:00,
If you go do yourself a favor rent a car and go. I went from east to west north and south and had fun.
Overall it is not a bad place ok not 5 star maybe a 3.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Fran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Some people will never be satisfied or happy, in whatever they do. Im just greatful we had the chance to get away and spend it here. It was beautiful and it gave us a great chance to reconnect without all the worries of the world. Just be happy some people cant afford to even do this, Stop being some damn pickie and start thanking god for what you are able to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvofmylyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Seas Resort

Property: Island Seas Resort
Address: 123 Silver Point Dr, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished one and two bedroom condominium resort with full living/dining areas and private beach is set between the shopping and dining centers of Port Lucaya Marketplace, 2 miles away, and Freeport's International Bazaar, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Seas Hotel Freeport
Island Seas Freeport
Island Seas Resort Freeport Bahamas
Island Seas Resort Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing